Customer Reviews for

Finn: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    Clinch is an English Teacher's dream student. I have not read a book this enjoyable in years. His descriptions of the Mississippi and its environs are so descriptive. You can smell the fish. The characters are so easy to imagine in the minds eye. The reader has no idea where the story is going. Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Allison

    The cheerleader sat on a park bench, her tight suit chowing of her large breasts. She began texting, unaware of her surroundings...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    This is an incredible book!

    I loved this book, though it is often disturbing. Mr. Clinch does Mr. Twain justice, in recomposing a wonderful, classic tale. The characters are gritty, the landscape so real and the dialogue (or lack there of) is brilliant. This book is not for everyone, but I think the ravenous reader will really appreciate this work of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    Just the writing itself is delicious, refreshingly literary. On top of that, the layers Clinch has added to Huck Finn's story are amazing, and he keeps it plausible, albeit challenging perhaps because of what we have been conditioned to think. Huck remains himself and is explained-not directly, but through circumstances. Pap himself is very complex, I found myself rooting for him to keep it together at times. Excellent, believable characters, mood, description, reactions of characters to events, yet much of the power of this book lies it what is left unsaid. A book for real readers. Might have blown Mark Twain's socks off. Must, must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    Masterfully written debut novel reaches lofty heights

    In a time when we are surrounded by shallow thinking and weak ideas from the leaders of our country to the people that control the entertainment industry, whose big ideas come from cartoons and comic books, this skillfully written debut novel from Jon Clinch seems to have slipped through the static and will surely rise to the top. FINN is a masterfully written, in-depth study of the complexity of the human condition. Clinch ingeniously uses the clues from TwainÕs masterpiece to flesh out the dark, brutal tale of Pap Finn. Clinch stands on the shoulders of Mark Twain and reaches lofty heights. Twain would have been proud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Mark Twain Lives

    Mark Twain may be dead, but new author Jon Clinch brings him back to life in Finn. The main character is Pa Finn, Huck's father, and what a character he is. Clinch creates a dark,twisted and evil man who sheds light on the America of 1850. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    The Mysteries of the Mississippi

    Clinch takes us back to the Mississippi and the days of Huck Finn - and before. I feel myself there - with the thick Mississippi mud hanging heavy at my feet - experincing it all. Of all things - we learn about his family. Dark - Original - I found myself wanting more. Let's hope Clinch doesn't stop here. Very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    A great novel

    Jon Clinch's debut novel hits the mark. It is ambitious, enthralling, literate and exceptionally readable. I couldn't put it down. You don't need to have any knowledge of Twain's Huck Finn to enjoy this book. When I reread Huck Finn, however, what struck me was how much better Clinch's writing is than Twain's. This is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Fabulous

    There simply aren't enough superlatives to describe Jon Clinch's FINN. The story is marvelous. The characters are wonderfully depicted, and the prose is an absolute delight. I LOVED this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Finn is FINNTASTIC

    This is a must read. As a debut novel - I am so excited to see what Jon Clinch writes in the years to come! I was pulled into this American story from page one. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Magnificent

    Clinch's debut is not only beautifully written, it's mesmerizing, its concept as brilliant as the author's execution. A haunting masterpiece that will stay with you long after you've finished the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    Masterful-- a 6 Star Book!

    An incredible must-read book that will sweep you up off your feet and straight down the Mississippi River. You don't need to have read Huckleberry Finn recently to enjoy this book because it stands on its own-- I couldn't remember the Twain classic very well, and I didn't feel that I missed it at all. But I did want to pick up the Twain and reread it when I got to the end of Finn, because I just didn't want the experience to end. I was mesmerized by this book and couldn't stop thinking about it afterwards. The breadth of insight, compassion, and humanity that the author showed for his characters is rare indeed in contemporary fiction. An instant classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2