Customer Reviews for

Fire

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    More like Smoke!

    This book has a catchy title and cover, however, it has very little to do with wilderness fire fighting. Don't recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    "Fire" blazes in the beginning, smolders by end

    Some of Junger's exploits are compelling, while the others drone on and on with violent and repetive prose. Junger has certainly led a dangerous life, however the drama and excitement of each treacherous voyage does not translate well in this book. He should have copied his excellent technique in "The Perfect Storm" by fleshing out the first story about firefighters to fill the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Fight Fire With Fire

    Sebastian Junger has covered stories that other writers don't dare to cover. Fire is another excellent example of the dangerous work that he does so well. This book should be on any readers' shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2001

    Magazine articles in book form - nice re-caps

    Not up to the focus in 'The Perfect Storm'; but I knew that going into it. This pre-9/11 work certainly helps open our eyes to a need to better understand global affairs - perhaps a few years too late. Down with the Monroe Doctrine and up with 'Seb' and authors like him for helping us 'get out of the box'.....AT LAST. Looking forward to his insights as ABC's war correspondent - especially the 'behind-the-scene' stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2001

    Eclectic group of stories

    The most interesting stories were the first ones on fighting fires, the one on Sierra Leone, and the last one on Afghanistan, which provides some insight into the type of war being fought there. Junger is really an adventurous person who can bring the tension and urgency, when it exists, to the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2001

    Good Book!!!

    This book was great, I read about the Author and his topics in mindsurfing. I highly recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2001

    Dry documentary

    The book is a little interesting, but drones on documentary style of a few specific examples of extreme situations, but really leads nowhere. Usually a book is either entertaining, educational, or purely captivating in subject, and this book, in contrast to the excellent 'Perfect Storm', fails on those accounts. I unfortunately bought the tape which was also dry and dronely read. The stories came across to me as little more than an author facinated by the horrific but with little story line to follow. Perhaps a specific account of a single firefighter or a Kosovo survivor could have told the same story in a more interesting fashion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2001

    `Fire┬┐ is highly recommended by this reader.

    I first encountered Sebastian Junger in reading the `Perfect Storm.¿ As an award winning journalist he has honed his meticulous investigative prowess and prose. At this point in history, especially American history, Junger¿s writings on Afghanistan are timely. I also found his viewpoints on the genocide in Kosovo amazing. I also recommend Brad Steiger¿s `Alien Rapture¿ which is also timely as we are on the brink of WW III, using Top Secret black technology. I read his bio on mindsurfing.com and was quite impressed. Junger does a remarkable job, both unforgettable and comprehensible, of explaining diverse human phenomena in `Fire¿ and I will surely look forward to his future non-fiction books. `Fire¿ is highly recommended by this reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1