Customer Reviews for

Fire Along the Sky (Wilderness Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Epic drama

    In 1812 half-breed widow Hannah returns to the home of her father Nathaniel and step-mother Elizabeth following the deaths of her husband and their child. Nathaniel, Elizabeth, and Hannah¿s Aunt Many-Doves can see she has lost the spirit to live. Still, Hannah is a gifted healer and she brings hope and health to the needy of Paradise. This provides her with some solace and the beginnings of her own healing from the tragedy that has left her feel alone even amongst loved ones............................... Although war seems imminent between America and England making oceanic passages dangerous and difficult, recently widowed Jennet, a distant cousin, arrives from Scotland. The recent deaths of their respective husbands does not provide a link between Hannah and Elizabeth as the latter refuses to discuss her tragedy while the former acknowledges relief following the end of her loveless marriage. Meanwhile Hannah¿s stepbrother eighteen-year-old Daniel joins the American militia, but becomes a prisoner of war. Only Hannah can set him free bit she must first liberate herself from her grief................................ FIRE ALONG THE SKY is a deep look at the impact that the War of 1812 had on Americans who were somewhat distant from the front, but effected by loved ones joining the fight. The story line is character driven especially by the courage of several of the women, but mostly Hannah who serves as the center that keeps the complex tale together. Fans of James Fennimore Cooper¿s Leatherstocking Tales will appreciate this powerful Americana novel....................................... Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Example Ad

    Headline: Join a great Clan now!<br>
    Are you lost, cast out, nowhere to turn, no one to go to for help? If so, join CatClan at "Cats" result one! We are a no-power-or-drama Clan that is growing, but needs new memers, like you! Join today at "Cats" result one!<br>
    <br>
    &#1918 Firesky's Ads

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I've read #1 thru #4 of the series so far. It is a great family saga and brings to life the early days of America with authentic detail. I'll be sorry once I finish the series. I will hopw for more very soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Intense

    Loved reading this book. Would have been more enjoyable if I had notread it out ofseries. Somehow i skipped a book and it made it very confusing...until about 2 chapters in I noticed my mistake. Duh...It would be helpful if B & N would put books on order and lable series books better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    did anyone down there say awesome read... all of the books take

    did anyone down there say awesome read... all of the books take you on a buckle your seat belt journey that you'll simply want to read again and again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Flamekit

    So sad...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Skywings story~ Chapter 2 part 1

    Me and Lilykit have grown twice our original sizes in the moon weve been walking. Me, Lilykit, and Redtail were desperatley looking for a clan that would take us in. Redtail started teaching us how to hunt and fight, just in case anything happened to her. I found out i was pretty good at hunting, and my mother said my spotted coat blended in perfecly with the surrounding light gray trees (find out what the cats look like in the last result) however, Lilykit couldnt get the hunterrs crouch quite right, which was alright, because she had another talent. She stayed behind and collected herbs in case one of us got injured or sick, while me and our mother hunted, so we stayed fed. In our spare time, Lilykit would teach me some basic herbs and their uses. One day, when me and Redtail returned from hunting around sundown, carrying two voles and a squirrel, we discovered Lilykit wasnt there. "She will be back soon" Redtail meowed. We ate the voles and left the squirel for Lilykit for when she returned. We curled up in our makeshift 'den' and fell asleep. The next morning, i woke and saw that Lilykit still wasnt there, and then i became worried. I woke my mom, and she became worried also. "We gotta find her" i said and sniffed the air. I picked up her scent trail and began running, Redtail close behind. We ran for about ten minutes, and i slowed when the scent mixed with the metallic scent of blood, and panic set in. We were standing in a small clearing with tansy growing EVERYWHERE along with lots of tall grasses. Her scent dissappeard here, so shes around here somewhere. I began searching thriugh the grass, and my mom did the same. I froze when i put my paw in something warm, and sticky. It was blood. I searched around the area frantically, and i jumped back when i found her. Her small, frail body was laying still, and cold, with several gashes in her neck. "M-mommy... c-come here please" i whispered, barely audible, i dont know how she heard me, but she was by my side in seconds. She lost it when she saw her "WHYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!" she wailed, and tears streamed down her cheeks, as tey did on mine also, we buried our nises in her fur, and sat vigil for her all night. The next morning, i got up while redtail was still sleeping and decided a nice piece of freshkill would cheer her up. I caught her a mouse and padded back to the clearing, where i saw her sitting, looking around rapidly. "Mom?" I mewed as i approached her "AHH! SKYKIT! WHERE WERE U?! I THOUGHT SOMETHING GOT U TOO! HOW COULD U BE SO STUPID TO LEAVE ME AT A TIME LIKE THIS?!" She hissed "mom... i just went hunting for u" i said, and at realization of what she just said, she collapsed on the ground, sobbing hysterically "im sorry! Im losing it! Im just an ungreatful jerk who doesnt deserve anything u give me... u eat it Skykit" "no mom, u eat it please." "No!!! U!!!" She wailed. I decided not to argue with her anymore, and i ate it sadly. After i finished she got up, casting one mournful glance at lilykits body, she padded into the woods, signaling with her tail to follow, and i did. Life continued like that for two days and my refuse to eat or drink, and she was beginning to get really frail. I glnced back at her "mom... u okay?" She looked at me and smiled reassuringly "im fine" she meowed hoarsley and i nodded. We continued walking. (Continued tomorrow!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Great series!

    I love all the books in the series but why doesn't she write about the time in between? I would sure as hell buy em!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Great series

    One of, if not the best series I've ever read.(The next two books in the series are just as good). Kept my interest from the first page, didn't want to put it down. Hope Miss Donati writes more stories like these in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    I loved it. A Must Read.

    I have now read all six books in the series & feel like I have lost a family. Extremely entertaining...I am looking forward to reading more from Sara Donati.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than #3

    Donati got back on track with book #4 of the "Wilderness" series. I still don't like that it skips 10 years between books, there are stories in those missing years that we only get snipits of. Which is a shame, Donati has a wonderful way of telling a story. But overall, I liked this book. There was new romances, lost loves, intrigue, betrayel and everything in between. If you started reading the "Wilderness" series, I highly recommend that you read this book and finish the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Loved the series

    Read the whole series. Could not put the books down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2004

    Fantastic Read!

    Fire ALong The Sky is wonderful! It was worth the wait. It brought all the characters I love together to reveal relationships, one with the other, while at the same time telling their own individual stories, especially the once long lost son, Luke. I just could not put this book down as it was as captivating as the previous books in the series ('Into the Wilderness' and its' marvelous cliffhanger). I am so looking foward to the next book in this series to read about Luke, Jennet and Hannah. Hurry Ms. Donati, I can't wait!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2004

    Fire along the sky

    Are you a lover of historical romance?Look no further,read the extemely moving novel 'Fire along the sky'.Sara Donati makes the period come alive. It is truly a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2004

    Wonderfully rich and full of action, family and love

    If you buy one hard cover fiction book this year, let it be this one. You will not be disappointed! This book has it all; love, hate, good, evil, triumph and spirit. It is riviting and will pull you in completely. It helps to start with Into The Wilderness (first book in this series), then read Dawn On A Distant Shore, then Lake In The Clouds followed by Fire Along The Sky but it is not necessary. I will assure you that you will want to read these others after going through Fire Along The Sky. Absolutely spell binding book. Great characters that you will fall in love with. They seem so very real. Completely believable plot and story lines. It will make you laught and cry. This is a must read for fiction lovers of all kinds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    Highly recommended! (as expected!)

    Fire Along the Sky was everything I had expected and anticipated. I was drawn into the story just as I was with the preceeding novels. I'm already anticipating the next installment in what I consider to be a truely unique and captivating story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4