Customer Reviews for

Fire Bringer

Average Rating 5
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    The first time I read work from this author was with The Sight, and I absolutely fell in love with the story. Then, I heard from one of my friends about this book, and -- to be honest -- I was skeptical about reading a book about deer. However, after a chapter or two of semi-boring reading, I got pretty much addicted to the story. By the time I was done reading the book, I was convinced that this was one of my favorites.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    from watership down in england now to the land of scotland; firebringer is a great read for nature and anthromorphic lovers!

    Just like the story of Watership Down, Firebringer takes the reader into the world of animals and the society they live in. The story is of a young deer Rannoch, born on the very night his father is murdered. Throughout the ages, the Herla (deer) have foretold a legend where a deer with a birthmark shaped like an oak leaf will free the Herla from their oppresser-Rannoch is that deer. Follow him on his journey from the Low Lands to the High Hills to escape those that would destroy him, to the sea, the mountains and even to come face to face with the dreaded animal called man. This book; like watership down, explains of the deer having their own idea of God and their own language like Herla is the term for deer and Larn id nightfall. I highly recommend this book for anyone who like animals and nature or simply wannts a book about our world and that maybe we are not the only intelligent creatures on this planet. A great read that I couldn't put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Simply Brilliant!

    Fire Bringer is and always will be on my short list of 'favorites'. It's brilliant from start to finish. David creates a world that's simply stunning in its own right. This book was wonderful and the characters were ones I fell in love with and still hold close to my heart. It's the type of book that, if you rented it from the library, you'll want to buy simply to have it. David is a brilliant author and deserves the high acclaim that he gets. *claps*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    For fantasy/animal lovers

    I found this book pleasant to read. It is an easy read, I recommend it for teens and up. Very interesting, imaginative and descriptive. Kept me busy for a few nights. Good read for the price. If you like reading fantasy stories that mainly involve animals in a somewhat nature like setting then this is a book for you. It's basically about the lives of deer, in a fantasy way of course. It also has a few historical references, which tie everything together. Good, easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    An Amazing Book

    This book has captured my interest many times. I have re-read this book at least ten times and it continues to captivate my interest. It is a great book for anyone who enjoys action, suspense, and a prophecy. All in all its is one of my favorite books and I would recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    David Clement-Davies' writing is some of the best writing I have

    David Clement-Davies' writing is some of the best writing I have ever read; obviously if you don't like the whole "animals that talk! and do human-ish things!" bit, you're not going to like Fire Bringer.

    But if you like it - or, hell, if you think you can deal with it for the sake of a good book - read Fire Bringer.

    There's a reason this book sits on my favorites shelf. Let's just start with the world Davies has created; it's so brilliant, so intricate, so well thought out that I can't help but be in awe. Every type of animal that Rannoch comes across has it's own well thought out culture. Even the deer aren't all lumped into one category; each type of dear has it's own way it functions, it's own belief systems. Though they think like humans, they each keep to their original animal core.

    And the characters! Oh, the characters! Even the smallest characters in the story are developed to have a full personality and not just appear on the page. They're all brilliantly written. I even love the villains; Sgorr is one of the most evil little things I've ever come across, but I still love him because he's so brilliantly put together. And Rannoch! He may make me headdesk sometimes, but I love him. And Willow and Peppa and Bankfoot and - but I'm getting on a rant now.

    The plot, though, may be my favorite bit about this story. There are so many little things going on that you don't pick up on until you get to the end of the story. And the overall plot is enthralling and interesting and just-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    Fantastic read for a different point of view

    I read this in middle school, and rediscovered it 15 years later in graduate school. It's a great for anyone who loves a fantasy novel and doesn't mind reading from a non-human perspective. I'd recommend it for any age group to read, it's a wonderful story, easy read, and shouldn't be a struggle to enjoy for younger readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Epic


    Epicness

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Who wouldn't want to read this book

    Fire Bringer is an amazing story. It tells the story from a deers point of veiw. This is a very creative story. At times it can be sad but you can never put it down. David clement davis is a wonderful auther. I would also recommend The Sight by David clement davis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Really good

    AWESOME BUT I THINK CLEMENT-DAVIED BOOK THE SIGHT IS BETTER.THIS BOOK IS REALLY SAD BUT MOVING JUST LIKE THE SIGHT AND IT MAKES YOU WONDERWHAT LIFE IS REALLY ALL ABOUT AND WHY THE WORLD AND HUMANS AND EVERYTHING THAT IS HERE EXISTS.Best book ever written from a deer's point of view definitely read but also read the sight

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Great book

    One of the greatest books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Must Read!

    One of my favorites! Highly recommend no matter what your usual genre is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Seems good

    This book seems good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Rowdy

    Best book ever u must read!!!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Anonymous

    I can't believe i never read this book sooner! It was awesome!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Best

    It is the best since watership down which is the best book ecer written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    The only thing i hated about the book was when it was over...... is it weird if u read the same book like 100 times in one summer?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    A must read.

    This is one of my favorite books. Honestly i will never look a dear the same again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    Well....

    I honestly found this book very hard to get through. I though it was a little boring in some parts. In fact i never really finshed it. Maybe I'll try again sometime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10