Customer Reviews for

Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble

Average Rating 4.5
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Very Enjoyable

This book has a Janet Evanovich feel with a paranormal twist. I loved everything about it. Very few authors have the ability to make you chuckle out loud. So refreshing...read 'em....you'll love 'em.

posted by Nikki_Starr on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Upon receiving my Nook over a year ago, my initial thought was h

Upon receiving my Nook over a year ago, my initial thought was how much space I would free up by eliminating all of the paper bound books with an e-book version. As all good intentions go, it sounded like a legitimate plan but has never transpired. Instead, I find mys...
Upon receiving my Nook over a year ago, my initial thought was how much space I would free up by eliminating all of the paper bound books with an e-book version. As all good intentions go, it sounded like a legitimate plan but has never transpired. Instead, I find myself browsing Barnes & Noble frequently and my library’s digital catalog often for books to acquire and the pattern I am seeing with this plan is that many of these books are books I don’t already own in paper format and, more often than not, are written by new to me authors. Such is the case with the first book in the Jolie Wilkins series, Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble by H.P. Mallory. Of course, I couldn’t just limit myself to this book. When I saw the first book for another series by this author, I had to acquire that one too.

Honestly, folks, this whole Nook business isn’t helping me manage my reading in the slightest. Putting a Nook in my hands seems to have the same effect as putting crack in the hands of a drug addict. I’m going to use it and probably dig myself deeper into this pit of “Mount TBR.” I’m thinking an intervention with Dr. Phil is required next. While I am waiting for Dr. Phil to swoop down and give me my dose of reality, I may as well share my thoughts and impressions of Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble.

If I were being 100% honest here and I believe honesty is the best policy with any undertaking, anytime you have paranormal creatures with British accents, you have my undivided attention. Doesn’t matter what kind of paranormal creatures we are dealing with, either. Warlocks and Vampires with English accents…count me in. Kilt wearing Fairies with Scottish accents…I am so there. There’s even a pervert ghost who enjoys watching our heroine disrobe.

Our heroine, Jolie, doesn’t know she’s a witch when this story begins. She’s a psychic who has no idea what the extent of her powers really are. She is hired by a warlock to assist him in solving a mystery involving the death of his client and when she inadvertently resurrects the ghost, the rest of the underworld’s focus and attention is riveted on Jolie and not in a good way. Jolie is thrust into this paranormal existence and is uprooted to England to live with the warlock (such a hardship…I wish I had her problems) and begin learning to use her powers. Jolie’s abilities have brought down some very unwanted attention by some of the less scrupulous members of the paranormal community who want to use her powers for their personal gain.

Overall, I liked Jolie but I did find myself getting bored pretty quickly with how fickle she comes across. I get that the male members of the paranormal world aren’t your normal run of the mill men. They exude a lot of pheromones, for lack of a better description, and they have no trouble acquiring female company. Jolie is attracted sexually to practically all of them and the feelings of desire are reciprocated as well. Unfortunately, the one she really wants holds her at arm’s length. Sadly that relationship is not resolved by the end of this book, so readers will have to tune in to the rest of the series to find out if Jolie and Rand end up together.

Overall, a decent start to a series with a lot of loose ends that hopefully get tied up as the series moves along. The kilt wearing Fairies with Scottish accents have captured my interest so I will be checking out the next book to see what transpires next.

posted by Sherri_Hunter on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Upon receiving my Nook over a year ago, my initial thought was h

    Upon receiving my Nook over a year ago, my initial thought was how much space I would free up by eliminating all of the paper bound books with an e-book version. As all good intentions go, it sounded like a legitimate plan but has never transpired. Instead, I find myself browsing Barnes & Noble frequently and my library’s digital catalog often for books to acquire and the pattern I am seeing with this plan is that many of these books are books I don’t already own in paper format and, more often than not, are written by new to me authors. Such is the case with the first book in the Jolie Wilkins series, Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble by H.P. Mallory. Of course, I couldn’t just limit myself to this book. When I saw the first book for another series by this author, I had to acquire that one too.

    Honestly, folks, this whole Nook business isn’t helping me manage my reading in the slightest. Putting a Nook in my hands seems to have the same effect as putting crack in the hands of a drug addict. I’m going to use it and probably dig myself deeper into this pit of “Mount TBR.” I’m thinking an intervention with Dr. Phil is required next. While I am waiting for Dr. Phil to swoop down and give me my dose of reality, I may as well share my thoughts and impressions of Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble.

    If I were being 100% honest here and I believe honesty is the best policy with any undertaking, anytime you have paranormal creatures with British accents, you have my undivided attention. Doesn’t matter what kind of paranormal creatures we are dealing with, either. Warlocks and Vampires with English accents…count me in. Kilt wearing Fairies with Scottish accents…I am so there. There’s even a pervert ghost who enjoys watching our heroine disrobe.

    Our heroine, Jolie, doesn’t know she’s a witch when this story begins. She’s a psychic who has no idea what the extent of her powers really are. She is hired by a warlock to assist him in solving a mystery involving the death of his client and when she inadvertently resurrects the ghost, the rest of the underworld’s focus and attention is riveted on Jolie and not in a good way. Jolie is thrust into this paranormal existence and is uprooted to England to live with the warlock (such a hardship…I wish I had her problems) and begin learning to use her powers. Jolie’s abilities have brought down some very unwanted attention by some of the less scrupulous members of the paranormal community who want to use her powers for their personal gain.

    Overall, I liked Jolie but I did find myself getting bored pretty quickly with how fickle she comes across. I get that the male members of the paranormal world aren’t your normal run of the mill men. They exude a lot of pheromones, for lack of a better description, and they have no trouble acquiring female company. Jolie is attracted sexually to practically all of them and the feelings of desire are reciprocated as well. Unfortunately, the one she really wants holds her at arm’s length. Sadly that relationship is not resolved by the end of this book, so readers will have to tune in to the rest of the series to find out if Jolie and Rand end up together.

    Overall, a decent start to a series with a lot of loose ends that hopefully get tied up as the series moves along. The kilt wearing Fairies with Scottish accents have captured my interest so I will be checking out the next book to see what transpires next.

    16 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Very Enjoyable

    This book has a Janet Evanovich feel with a paranormal twist. I loved everything about it. Very few authors have the ability to make you chuckle out loud. So refreshing...read 'em....you'll love 'em.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was fun, and the witch story is not a repeat of simila

    This book was fun, and the witch story is not a repeat of similar books. It is a quick read but lots of fun. (I hate post that have spoilers)

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read!

    Jolie Wilkins leads a relatively normal life until a warlock walks into her shop and changes her whole life. I purchased this book because it was .99 cents. It was worth the dollar and more! I immediately loved the character Jolie. She is very much like a typically woman. She's smart, sassy, brave, but doesn't find herself to be very pretty. She describes herself as the girl next door type which makes her very easy to relate too. I had to get the rest of H.P. Mallory's books! They are all wonderful reads. Yes there are typos and errors, but it is an indie book. If you can move past the few typos, the story line and characters are so well thought out that the errors will be the last thing you will care about. I can't wait to see what becomes of Jolie, Rand, and Sinjin. Congrats to you H.P. Mallory for such a fantastic book!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Fun read

    I enjoyed this story. It kept my interest long enough to want to read the next installment. Can't wait to find out what happens next.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    I laughed, cried, and cheered! I couldn't stop reading and I couldn't wait for the next book!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    love this series

    love this series

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    1st book in the Jolie Wilkins series. This is by the same author

    1st book in the Jolie Wilkins series. This is by the same author who writes the Dulcie O'Neil series (love them). I am going to have to say that I didn't think it was as good as the other series. I felt like it dragged in some places. Overall I liked it enough to start on the second book and give it a try to let the characters grow on me some more. Now to find my own English Warlock with magic and sexy good looks to call my own ;)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    I have read all of H.P. Mallory's books and I love them! You ca

    I have read all of H.P. Mallory's books and I love them! You can't go wrong with any of her books! :)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Highly recommended.

    Very fast and in great condition. I loved the book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Love her books

    A must read for paranormal fans. Addictive

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Akasanti Batubenge 1 miill stars so flippin awesome

    Ohhhhh my gawdd why did it have to end luhved it

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    LOVE JOLIE!!!!!!!!! IM SO HOOKED. WELL WORTH THE READ.

    LOVE JOLIE!!!!!!!!! IM SO HOOKED. WELL WORTH THE READ.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Yay

    I just love this series

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Long and has no ending

    This is an unfinished book and just a come on to buy the next book. If you love romance than this might be for you but, was great disappointment to me. Thin obvoiius plot and no climax or ending. Do not waste your time.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    I want to live in the world that H.P. Mallory writes about. It m

    I want to live in the world that H.P. Mallory writes about. It makes me sad that I can't have mead with the King of the Fairies or mess around with a sexy vampire named Sinjin! Life is so unfair. You will get sucked into these books. She is a wonderfully talented writer. My only complaint is she can' t clone herself and write twice as fast! Buy the whole series and don't forget to get the Dulcie O'Neil series too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    I¿ve received copies of book 4 and book 5 of this series to rea

    I’ve received copies of book 4 and book 5 of this series to read for review. I thought it would be a good idea to at least read the first in the series before tackling my review copies. I’m glad I did. I found that I really like the characters that were introduced in Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble and I’m assuming that at least some of them will be in the fourth and fifth book. This book reminded me of the Sookie Stackhouse series. It was kind of the a bunch of Sookie Stackhouse books rolled into one…we had witches/warlocks, vampires, fairies, werewolves, and more all in the same book. But, you know what….I liked it. The characters that H.P. Mallory writes are fun and believable (well, as believable as vampires, fairies, witches and such can be believable).

    We enter the life of Jolie Wilkins just as she discovers that she is not only psychic but is also a witch AND she is meant to play an instrumental roll in an underworld war. Sides in the war are taken and are retaken, often shifting throughout the book, meaning that that character that you are just certain is on the good side might actually be on the bad side.

    It’s not Charles Dickens or Emily Bronte but, if you aren’t burnt out on the paranormal scene yet and can handle a few more sexy male faeries and vampires, then I would recommend Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble for a fun summer read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    Ok I finnished the Dulcie series, and decided to read the J.Wilk

    Ok I finnished the Dulcie series, and decided to read the J.Wilkins
    stories while I wait. Was very impressed with both series!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Great read!

    I found this series to be very witty and enjoyable. I found myself laughing outloud one minute, cringing the next, and sighing with fustration (BUT IN A GOOD WAY...if that makes sense.) Each book left you wanting more. My only complaint was each novel kept getting shorter and shorter...thus turning what should have been a trilogy into 5 books (obviously to make more $$, but since they weren't too expensive it wasn't that bad.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    :)

    I have not read it yet but i need some of u to tell me if it is good and if it is really supposed to be like it says to thank you and this is from annoynamas

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10