BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble (Jolie Wilkins Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Very Enjoyable

This book has a Janet Evanovich feel with a paranormal twist. I loved everything about it. Very few authors have the ability to make you chuckle out loud. So refreshing...read 'em....you'll love 'em.

posted by Nikki_Starr on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Upon receiving my Nook over a year ago, my initial thought was h

Upon receiving my Nook over a year ago, my initial thought was how much space I would free up by eliminating all of the paper bound books with an e-book version. As all good intentions go, it sounded like a legitimate plan but has never transpired. Instead, I find mys...
Upon receiving my Nook over a year ago, my initial thought was how much space I would free up by eliminating all of the paper bound books with an e-book version. As all good intentions go, it sounded like a legitimate plan but has never transpired. Instead, I find myself browsing Barnes & Noble frequently and my library’s digital catalog often for books to acquire and the pattern I am seeing with this plan is that many of these books are books I don’t already own in paper format and, more often than not, are written by new to me authors. Such is the case with the first book in the Jolie Wilkins series, Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble by H.P. Mallory. Of course, I couldn’t just limit myself to this book. When I saw the first book for another series by this author, I had to acquire that one too.

Honestly, folks, this whole Nook business isn’t helping me manage my reading in the slightest. Putting a Nook in my hands seems to have the same effect as putting crack in the hands of a drug addict. I’m going to use it and probably dig myself deeper into this pit of “Mount TBR.” I’m thinking an intervention with Dr. Phil is required next. While I am waiting for Dr. Phil to swoop down and give me my dose of reality, I may as well share my thoughts and impressions of Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble.

If I were being 100% honest here and I believe honesty is the best policy with any undertaking, anytime you have paranormal creatures with British accents, you have my undivided attention. Doesn’t matter what kind of paranormal creatures we are dealing with, either. Warlocks and Vampires with English accents…count me in. Kilt wearing Fairies with Scottish accents…I am so there. There’s even a pervert ghost who enjoys watching our heroine disrobe.

Our heroine, Jolie, doesn’t know she’s a witch when this story begins. She’s a psychic who has no idea what the extent of her powers really are. She is hired by a warlock to assist him in solving a mystery involving the death of his client and when she inadvertently resurrects the ghost, the rest of the underworld’s focus and attention is riveted on Jolie and not in a good way. Jolie is thrust into this paranormal existence and is uprooted to England to live with the warlock (such a hardship…I wish I had her problems) and begin learning to use her powers. Jolie’s abilities have brought down some very unwanted attention by some of the less scrupulous members of the paranormal community who want to use her powers for their personal gain.

Overall, I liked Jolie but I did find myself getting bored pretty quickly with how fickle she comes across. I get that the male members of the paranormal world aren’t your normal run of the mill men. They exude a lot of pheromones, for lack of a better description, and they have no trouble acquiring female company. Jolie is attracted sexually to practically all of them and the feelings of desire are reciprocated as well. Unfortunately, the one she really wants holds her at arm’s length. Sadly that relationship is not resolved by the end of this book, so readers will have to tune in to the rest of the series to find out if Jolie and Rand end up together.

Overall, a decent start to a series with a lot of loose ends that hopefully get tied up as the series moves along. The kilt wearing Fairies with Scottish accents have captured my interest so I will be checking out the next book to see what transpires next.

posted by Sherri_Hunter on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Upon receiving my Nook over a year ago, my initial thought was h

    Upon receiving my Nook over a year ago, my initial thought was how much space I would free up by eliminating all of the paper bound books with an e-book version. As all good intentions go, it sounded like a legitimate plan but has never transpired. Instead, I find myself browsing Barnes & Noble frequently and my library’s digital catalog often for books to acquire and the pattern I am seeing with this plan is that many of these books are books I don’t already own in paper format and, more often than not, are written by new to me authors. Such is the case with the first book in the Jolie Wilkins series, Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble by H.P. Mallory. Of course, I couldn’t just limit myself to this book. When I saw the first book for another series by this author, I had to acquire that one too.

    Honestly, folks, this whole Nook business isn’t helping me manage my reading in the slightest. Putting a Nook in my hands seems to have the same effect as putting crack in the hands of a drug addict. I’m going to use it and probably dig myself deeper into this pit of “Mount TBR.” I’m thinking an intervention with Dr. Phil is required next. While I am waiting for Dr. Phil to swoop down and give me my dose of reality, I may as well share my thoughts and impressions of Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble.

    If I were being 100% honest here and I believe honesty is the best policy with any undertaking, anytime you have paranormal creatures with British accents, you have my undivided attention. Doesn’t matter what kind of paranormal creatures we are dealing with, either. Warlocks and Vampires with English accents…count me in. Kilt wearing Fairies with Scottish accents…I am so there. There’s even a pervert ghost who enjoys watching our heroine disrobe.

    Our heroine, Jolie, doesn’t know she’s a witch when this story begins. She’s a psychic who has no idea what the extent of her powers really are. She is hired by a warlock to assist him in solving a mystery involving the death of his client and when she inadvertently resurrects the ghost, the rest of the underworld’s focus and attention is riveted on Jolie and not in a good way. Jolie is thrust into this paranormal existence and is uprooted to England to live with the warlock (such a hardship…I wish I had her problems) and begin learning to use her powers. Jolie’s abilities have brought down some very unwanted attention by some of the less scrupulous members of the paranormal community who want to use her powers for their personal gain.

    Overall, I liked Jolie but I did find myself getting bored pretty quickly with how fickle she comes across. I get that the male members of the paranormal world aren’t your normal run of the mill men. They exude a lot of pheromones, for lack of a better description, and they have no trouble acquiring female company. Jolie is attracted sexually to practically all of them and the feelings of desire are reciprocated as well. Unfortunately, the one she really wants holds her at arm’s length. Sadly that relationship is not resolved by the end of this book, so readers will have to tune in to the rest of the series to find out if Jolie and Rand end up together.

    Overall, a decent start to a series with a lot of loose ends that hopefully get tied up as the series moves along. The kilt wearing Fairies with Scottish accents have captured my interest so I will be checking out the next book to see what transpires next.

    18 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    1st book in the Jolie Wilkins series. This is by the same author

    1st book in the Jolie Wilkins series. This is by the same author who writes the Dulcie O'Neil series (love them). I am going to have to say that I didn't think it was as good as the other series. I felt like it dragged in some places. Overall I liked it enough to start on the second book and give it a try to let the characters grow on me some more. Now to find my own English Warlock with magic and sexy good looks to call my own ;)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    Anonymous

    It is an okay story. I just felt like it left you hanging in to many places. I will read the rest of the series just to find out what happens. Ihate to be left hanging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    OK but at least it was free

    It was fun but don't people have more to life than thinking about sex 24/7? That's all the characters seemed to be worried about, even a ghost!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Interesting and delighful

    I couldn't put it down. I have read it several times since. An author starts a book a reader finishes it and passes it on. Which I do excitedley. Can't wait for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Beautiful

    I was so pleased with how this story played out. So wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    It took me awhile to get through this book. The beginning was a

    It took me awhile to get through this book. The beginning was a slow start but then it picked up. I was able to get a good sense of the characters due to a great description of them. The paranormal aspect of each character was fun as each possessed a very different gift. The story had some dull moments for me personally. I would read the second book to find out what happens next but I prefer a quick moving story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    I think I went into this one expecting too much.  I had heard ov

    I think I went into this one expecting too much.  I had heard over and over again how great this series was going to be, and it was just a little more hyped that what I got out of it.  It is a good book and I did enjoy it, just not enough to rave about it.




    Jolie was humorous.  This is a very sarcastic and joking type of paranormal romance that seems to becoming more and more popular.  I love her attitude and her banter with the people all around her - and her best friend is quite the character as well.  She's the perfect play off of Jolie.  Rand was far too serious for me to really get into, but I can see that he needs to be that way to play his part of the story well.




    I'm not one that likes my leading characters to have "relations" with others in the book, so when this occurs it is a bit of a turn off for me.  There was plenty of supernatural creatures to go around, and quite a few interesting abilities that were fun to read about.  I'm still not sure if I will continue on the series or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Enjoyable read

    I couldn't get excited about starting to read this book for some reason, but after I started reading it I had trouble putting it down. I'll definitely have to check out the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    okay....

    Okay story. Not exceptional but good enough for a bit of mind-candy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    I liked

    I liked this book but got really annoyed that Jolie turned into a simpering, wimpering slut wannabe in this book. I don't feel compelled to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Quick free read

    Not bad for a short story. Wish it could've been longer. Hope the author will explore this world again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    I read the free Nook version and did not feel compelled to close

    I read the free Nook version and did not feel compelled to close it although I really did not care for the book. I had read another of Mallory's books and expected more in this book. Perhaps I'm too much into realism to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I read this book after I read H.P's Dulcie O'Neil series and eve

    I read this book after I read H.P's Dulcie O'Neil series and even though I finished this first book quickly, I struggled, Jolie is so different from Dulcie and even though I am more like Jolie, she whined sometimes and pissed me off. I'm on to the second book, so we will see. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    To anon May 3

    Yes, I know I'm not supposed to write this here, but I just had to say your review had me howling with laughter! When are you going to write a book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Take a chance.

    A great story but very slow developing. I felt like it was a long set up that could gave taken half the time. Book two is much better. Jules is a good leading lady but her bff Christina is so annoying. It is like she is there only because every witch needs a sidekick. I can only hope that Christina gets a chance to shine in the future. With all of that said I just started book 3 in the series. Give them a try and see for yourself if you want to give the rest of them a try. I for one have already bought the next series of books with a fairy leading lady.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    This sounds like a great book but I WISH people would research w

    This sounds like a great book but I WISH people would research wicca. I hate it when male witches are referred to as warlocks. A warlock is a TRAITOR. It is a very negative term. Despite our indoctrination by Bewitched back in the 1960s, warlock is not just a name for a male witch and this blurb reads like Rand is a "good guy."

    I'd like to read this book but I'm afraid every time I see that word I'll trip over it and start wondering when the sexy boss warlock will turn evil and live up to his designation as a traitor.

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2