Customer Reviews for

Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble (Jolie Wilkins Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1753 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(919)

4 Star

(511)

3 Star

(205)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining, couldn't put it down

This book was great, a cross between Stephanie Plum and Twilight. I was completely caught up with the mixture of humor, sarcasm, action, romance and paranormal. Thanks H P Mallory!!

posted by toadswoman on December 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Upon receiving my Nook over a year ago, my initial thought was h

Upon receiving my Nook over a year ago, my initial thought was how much space I would free up by eliminating all of the paper bound books with an e-book version. As all good intentions go, it sounded like a legitimate plan but has never transpired. Instead, I find mys...
Upon receiving my Nook over a year ago, my initial thought was how much space I would free up by eliminating all of the paper bound books with an e-book version. As all good intentions go, it sounded like a legitimate plan but has never transpired. Instead, I find myself browsing Barnes & Noble frequently and my library’s digital catalog often for books to acquire and the pattern I am seeing with this plan is that many of these books are books I don’t already own in paper format and, more often than not, are written by new to me authors. Such is the case with the first book in the Jolie Wilkins series, Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble by H.P. Mallory. Of course, I couldn’t just limit myself to this book. When I saw the first book for another series by this author, I had to acquire that one too.

Honestly, folks, this whole Nook business isn’t helping me manage my reading in the slightest. Putting a Nook in my hands seems to have the same effect as putting crack in the hands of a drug addict. I’m going to use it and probably dig myself deeper into this pit of “Mount TBR.” I’m thinking an intervention with Dr. Phil is required next. While I am waiting for Dr. Phil to swoop down and give me my dose of reality, I may as well share my thoughts and impressions of Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble.

If I were being 100% honest here and I believe honesty is the best policy with any undertaking, anytime you have paranormal creatures with British accents, you have my undivided attention. Doesn’t matter what kind of paranormal creatures we are dealing with, either. Warlocks and Vampires with English accents…count me in. Kilt wearing Fairies with Scottish accents…I am so there. There’s even a pervert ghost who enjoys watching our heroine disrobe.

Our heroine, Jolie, doesn’t know she’s a witch when this story begins. She’s a psychic who has no idea what the extent of her powers really are. She is hired by a warlock to assist him in solving a mystery involving the death of his client and when she inadvertently resurrects the ghost, the rest of the underworld’s focus and attention is riveted on Jolie and not in a good way. Jolie is thrust into this paranormal existence and is uprooted to England to live with the warlock (such a hardship…I wish I had her problems) and begin learning to use her powers. Jolie’s abilities have brought down some very unwanted attention by some of the less scrupulous members of the paranormal community who want to use her powers for their personal gain.

Overall, I liked Jolie but I did find myself getting bored pretty quickly with how fickle she comes across. I get that the male members of the paranormal world aren’t your normal run of the mill men. They exude a lot of pheromones, for lack of a better description, and they have no trouble acquiring female company. Jolie is attracted sexually to practically all of them and the feelings of desire are reciprocated as well. Unfortunately, the one she really wants holds her at arm’s length. Sadly that relationship is not resolved by the end of this book, so readers will have to tune in to the rest of the series to find out if Jolie and Rand end up together.

Overall, a decent start to a series with a lot of loose ends that hopefully get tied up as the series moves along. The kilt wearing Fairies with Scottish accents have captured my interest so I will be checking out the next book to see what transpires next.

posted by Sherri_Hunter on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Long and has no ending

    This is an unfinished book and just a come on to buy the next book. If you love romance than this might be for you but, was great disappointment to me. Thin obvoiius plot and no climax or ending. Do not waste your time.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Doesn't even rate one star.

    Not only was this a dreadful romance novel mashed together with what one can only assume to be pretensions to True Blood overtones, it lacks editing and reads as a terrible self published novel. It's even missing a large chunk of pages in the download, which not even a trip to B and N could fix. At ninety nine cents, it was a rip-off.

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    We sure know what the main charactor thinks.

    There really needs to be a catagory for whiney internal dialog; should I should or should I shouldn't, wish I could, knew I wouldn't. That way I could avoid the entire genre.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    very light reading

    This book wasn't to my taste at all. Storyline was shallow and not well developed. Characters were fake and unintelligent. New meaning to the term light reading.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    trying too hard

    the book felt forced. the Characters were too shallow, conversations were too forced, and everyone must be in lust for everyone else. Unfortunatly the book doesn't really have an end - I guess that's in the next book? or maybe the one after that?

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Predictable

    Nothing original, very predicatable, glad I only paid 99 cents

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Simply poor writing

    I won't go into a synopsis since so many other reviewers already have. This is simply my personal opinion. The author tries too hard to be witty and relevant and the editing is atrocious. After reading the first couple of chapters, I found myself back on the internet making sure this was a real book with an actual publisher rather than some self-published nonsense book that never had to pass through the approval process. It reads like a mishmash of other popular books from the genre. The characters are two dimensional and never make logical decisions. For as much that happens in the book, the plot never seems to advance. The ending isn't even an ending just an excuse to sell a second book. The author can't even get her facts straight. **Spoiler** The vampire says that he became one 400 years ago when he took a trip to Asia for fun, fell in love, and was bitten. That timeline would place his adventure in the early 1600's. No matter how wealthy his family supposedly was, it is ridiculous to think that he just juanted off to the Far East from England in 1611. **End**
    Rather than waste your money just go find a good Sookie Stackhouse fanfiction for free. You may get a better story.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    :)

    I have not read it yet but i need some of u to tell me if it is good and if it is really supposed to be like it says to thank you and this is from annoynamas

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Not my cup of tea

    just not my cup of tea

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Review

    Simply awful. Boring and uneventful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    Horrible

    I down loaded several books in this series at the same time. The first was terrible, filled with all kinds of profanity, s and m sex, sex, violence, spells, witches, faires, warlocks, gross creatures and monsters. Thete was an abundance of adult themes, yet the writting was like middle school comic books. This book is the same. I hated it. I read about 25 pages. Chick lit, paranormal, not worth my time.i think the author and publisher have cast a spell for all the positive reviews. Thete is no many could rate this series so high. Or perhaps it is blackmail. Not worth reading.

    AD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A train wreck of shallowness, misogyny and flimsy plotlines.

    Honestly, I don't even know where to start when it comes to this book. So much to say and none of it positive. What I thought might be an entertaining blend of Beautiful Creatures meets True Blood ended up being a train wreck of shallowness, misogyny and flimsy plots. Mallory is an ineffectual storyteller in that she doesn't show us anything, instead, we're smacked in the face with every little fact/detail, so frequently that it's somewhat insulting. She lacks the subtlety and consistency that is characteristic of more seasoned writers. And for the magic in the story to be believable there has to be a set of rules in that world and in this case, there are none. Everything happens too conveniently. There are no limitations and I just wasn't buying it. Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble doesn't deliver anything new in the genre. It's one of those books where you've seen it all before. My other big problem with this book was the characters. Every one of them is unlikeable because they're either stupid, vapid or utterly useless. Jolie, our MC, is the a-typical ordinary girl with extraordinary power who cares more about a man's looks than his actual personality. And the men, nearly every one of them is controlling, arrogant or evil. The best example of this is our main man, Rand, who stoops to using the temptation of sex in a vain attempt to control our MC. If I'm being frank, the only thing this book succeeded in doing was making me want to throw it at the wall. I bought this audiobook hoping for something craptastic --- light and fun --- instead, I got something that was TERRIBAD. So yeah. This series is not for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    I want to buy it

    Why can't I purchase this book I have purchase the second book, but wvery time I press buy now they can't find it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    READ URGENT

    THIS BOOK SUCKS PLAY MINECRAFT AND I LIKE BUBBLES
    :P TOBUSCUS

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    The witch is back by HP MALLOY

    The subject is good. The author keeps going over the previous books in the series till you loose interest. I dont know if i will try another book from this author....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Hi

    Is this a good book 4 a 10 yr old?? Plz tellmee!!!

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Poorly written, predictable Mary Sue novel

    I couldn't finish it. Here's a heroine who doesn't think she's pretty, but she has Special Powers she didn't know about, and suddenly a hunky warlock and a hunky werewolf are both pursuing her. The hunky warlock wants her So Badly he has Trouble Controlling Himself though their relationship would be Inappropriate. And by the way, she's suddenly dumped into a paranormal-laden world that nobody bothers to explain to her so she can bumble her way into situations requiring rescue. I was very disappointed that I bought two in this series for my Nook as I'll never even open the second one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    Didn't enjoy it at all

    I got this book because I normally enjoy a good paranormal romance and it was on sale. To say that I did not like the main character was an understatement. A book that would normally take me at most two days to finish, remains in my Nook library unfinished. Reading it and suffering through the Jolie's annoying personality was like pulling teeth. I didn't laugh, I didn't connect to any of the main characters and I didn't care how it ended. I just couldn't take anymore...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3