Customer Reviews for

Fire & Flood

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Victoria Scott has done it again! She has started another great

Victoria Scott has done it again! She has started another great series starter with really good ideas, characters, and themes.

DESPERATION

What I love about Scott's work is that I can both have fun and find good themes/focuses as I'm reading. In The Collector, I saw a...
Victoria Scott has done it again! She has started another great series starter with really good ideas, characters, and themes.

DESPERATION

What I love about Scott's work is that I can both have fun and find good themes/focuses as I'm reading. In The Collector, I saw a big focus on beauty that I really loved, but in Fire & Flood, I saw desperation. The book demonstrated how desperation can strip away sympathy and consideration for those around us—both human and animal. A lot of people were desperate to win the Brimstone Bleed, to come out first and win that cure, that they did things that they probably would never have considered in the past. Whenever I can pinpoint a theme or focus like this while I'm reading a book, I just enjoy that book more.

TELLA & CO.

Tella was NORMAL. Completely and totally normal, which made the book all the more enjoyable. She wasn't extra special and she didn't have a "one of a kind" ability. She was portrayed to be more kind and sympathetic than others, but that still didn't make her seem abnormal (like a lot of heroines are).

As for the other characters, there were a variety of them. There were a lot of side characters, but they seemed easily distinguishable from one another. Also, quite a few of them surprised me—I didn't fully expect some of their actions.

Guy was mysterious. Very mysterious. I really, really liked him, and I'm definitely looking forward to more of him in the sequel.

CONCEPTS

Pandoras are awesome. That is all.

Actually, no. I do have a couple more things to add. I loved the Brimstone Bleed. It was something different. There was a good background to it—the author did a great job setting it up and giving it history as to why the race was being held. I loved the pieces that went with the race: the pandoras, the cure, the twists, the settings. I also loved the the events and surprises that occurred during the race.

One more thing: Max was awesomely adorable. You may want one of him after reading this book.

OVERALL

GREAT BOOK. The author did a really good job with this one. It was an entertaining read with cool and interesting concepts and ideas, as well as great characters and super awesome pandoras. I definitely recommend picking this one up!

Actual rating: 4.5 stars

Source: I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in return for an honest review.

posted by Reading-is-My-Treasure on March 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I would give this book minus one star if I could.  Also, I only

I would give this book minus one star if I could.  Also, I only got eleven pages in before I couldn't take it any more and wanted to murder this book!  




Uh, Cody (Tella's brother) is sick so he asked her (for some weird reason) to tease him.  But Tella goes way beyo...
I would give this book minus one star if I could.  Also, I only got eleven pages in before I couldn't take it any more and wanted to murder this book!  




Uh, Cody (Tella's brother) is sick so he asked her (for some weird reason) to tease him.  But Tella goes way beyond that and is vicious and mean to him.  




By the sixth page she's already putting herself down!?!  I can't even remember what she was blaming herself for, it was that stupid and obscure.   
I don't normally quote, but this pretty much sums up the book, 




"I close my hand around the lid and pull it off.  Inside is a tiny pillow.  I imagine all sorts of miniature animals using it in their miniature beds.  But that's dumb, because how would they ever find a pillow case to fit?"  




Yep, I'm pretty sure that sums it up (*massaging temples*).  Has she never seen a "tiny pillow" before?  They're only in every single jewelry box in the world!  




That was around page nine, so I thought, "It's still early in the book.  I'll keep reading, it can't get any worse."  (sign) I was so wrong.




She's holding a blinking, black device and says, "I like blinking lights."   What is she, three!  But I still had hope, however naive of me.




She then proceeds to say that her mom is on crack because she was tell Tella what school she needed to do the next day.  I'm not kidding.  That's where I lost all hope for the book, and stopped.

posted by UrbanGirlReview on July 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Victoria Scott has done it again! She has started another great

    Victoria Scott has done it again! She has started another great series starter with really good ideas, characters, and themes.

    DESPERATION

    What I love about Scott's work is that I can both have fun and find good themes/focuses as I'm reading. In The Collector, I saw a big focus on beauty that I really loved, but in Fire & Flood, I saw desperation. The book demonstrated how desperation can strip away sympathy and consideration for those around us—both human and animal. A lot of people were desperate to win the Brimstone Bleed, to come out first and win that cure, that they did things that they probably would never have considered in the past. Whenever I can pinpoint a theme or focus like this while I'm reading a book, I just enjoy that book more.

    TELLA & CO.

    Tella was NORMAL. Completely and totally normal, which made the book all the more enjoyable. She wasn't extra special and she didn't have a "one of a kind" ability. She was portrayed to be more kind and sympathetic than others, but that still didn't make her seem abnormal (like a lot of heroines are).

    As for the other characters, there were a variety of them. There were a lot of side characters, but they seemed easily distinguishable from one another. Also, quite a few of them surprised me—I didn't fully expect some of their actions.

    Guy was mysterious. Very mysterious. I really, really liked him, and I'm definitely looking forward to more of him in the sequel.

    CONCEPTS

    Pandoras are awesome. That is all.

    Actually, no. I do have a couple more things to add. I loved the Brimstone Bleed. It was something different. There was a good background to it—the author did a great job setting it up and giving it history as to why the race was being held. I loved the pieces that went with the race: the pandoras, the cure, the twists, the settings. I also loved the the events and surprises that occurred during the race.

    One more thing: Max was awesomely adorable. You may want one of him after reading this book.

    OVERALL

    GREAT BOOK. The author did a really good job with this one. It was an entertaining read with cool and interesting concepts and ideas, as well as great characters and super awesome pandoras. I definitely recommend picking this one up!

    Actual rating: 4.5 stars

    Source: I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in return for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    I would give this book minus one star if I could.  Also, I only

    I would give this book minus one star if I could.  Also, I only got eleven pages in before I couldn't take it any more and wanted to murder this book!  




    Uh, Cody (Tella's brother) is sick so he asked her (for some weird reason) to tease him.  But Tella goes way beyond that and is vicious and mean to him.  




    By the sixth page she's already putting herself down!?!  I can't even remember what she was blaming herself for, it was that stupid and obscure.   
    I don't normally quote, but this pretty much sums up the book, 




    "I close my hand around the lid and pull it off.  Inside is a tiny pillow.  I imagine all sorts of miniature animals using it in their miniature beds.  But that's dumb, because how would they ever find a pillow case to fit?"  




    Yep, I'm pretty sure that sums it up (*massaging temples*).  Has she never seen a "tiny pillow" before?  They're only in every single jewelry box in the world!  




    That was around page nine, so I thought, "It's still early in the book.  I'll keep reading, it can't get any worse."  (sign) I was so wrong.




    She's holding a blinking, black device and says, "I like blinking lights."   What is she, three!  But I still had hope, however naive of me.




    She then proceeds to say that her mom is on crack because she was tell Tella what school she needed to do the next day.  I'm not kidding.  That's where I lost all hope for the book, and stopped.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When Tellas brother got sick, she had to give up her life in the

    When Tellas brother got sick, she had to give up her life in the big city and move to the back of beyond. No telly, no internet and miles from no where. When she walks into her bed room and sees a little blue box on her bed with some sort of gadget inside she is ecstatic. Her first taste of technology in a long time. Just when she puts it into her ear her father storms in and grabs it from her. He is furious and she has no idea why. 




    When she sees her father out late one night she follows him. He starts a fire and throws the device into it. When he leaves she sneaks over to see the remains but is astonished to see the device unharmed. She gets it out of the embers and listens to it. It is an invitation to the Brimstone Bleed with the grand prize being a cure for any illness!! She knows she will do anything to cure her brother so has to go. What she doesn't realise is whats involved but will she find out too late? 




    Wow!! This is my first Victoria Scott book and it definitely wont be my last. I absolutely loved this. 




    Tella at the start came across as self centered but you can see how much she cares about her family. When she hears about the race, even though she had so many questions, she knows straight away she will have to take part. She thinks its a hoax at first but when she gets to the Pandora pick she knows its not. At the Pandora pick she is jostled and has her hair pulled and is sickened to see that there are no more eggs left. She is terrified that she failed right at the start but when she looks up she sees this man looking down at her, he glances to the side and following his gaze she sees an egg under the shelves. With her Pandora in hand she listens to her device for the next set of instructions.




    I loved the idea of the Pandoras. They are designed to help the competitors during the race and only show their powers when needed. Maddox, Tellas Pandora, was amazing!! He is a small fox with BIG powers. At first after Tella sees the other Pandoras, she wonders how her fox can compete against the likes of lions, elephants, eagles and even bears, but he shows her he can do that and more!! 




    Now onto Guy!! The mysterious stranger who helped Tella find her Pandora. Be still my heart!!! He was mysterious, strong, tough and woe anyone who got in his way. At the start he keeps his distance but after certain events, ends up helping Tella and the group she joined. Very slowly he comes out of his shell and I loved getting to know his character. He is very complex and the way the author slowly drew out his story was awesome. 




    The romance was not a main point but I did love seeing it develop between certain characters. I was rooting for them from the start. There is a whole slew of secondary characters in Fire & Flood and I loved every one of them. Each added their own bit to the book and overall made the book better. The plot was faced paced and intense. I finished the book within 2 days and with 4 kids thats saying something! Any time I had a spare minute I found myself picking it up and diving back into the story. 




    So yes, overall I loved Fire & Flood. It was an intense, breathtaking, thrilling, rollercoaster of a book. It captivated me from the start and I flew through it. With twists and turns at every corner, you are left wondering and waiting to see what could possibly happen next. From the rain forest to the desert, its a story of not only survival but strength. Who can survive the harsh landscapes and win? I can not wait for book 2 and highly recommend this!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Good start

    I liked this book. Very cool concept. It very much reminds me of the show Survivor, not the books Hunger Games. These group of people, people of all ages too, compete in the Brimstone Bleed. The end goal is to help someone in their family that is sick and they get help from Pandoras to aid them. These Pandoras are pretty wicked cool animals that help them on their journey. Personally I wish I had one right now. Especially little Madox.

    There was a lot of characters in the book but it mainly focuses on Tella. To me she was somewhat useless, but that didn't make like the book any less. She had a big heart and the things she thought brought some comic relief. Near the end, she had to learn how to do things on her own.

    Guy, the heartthrob of the story took upon himself to look after her. I can't wait to see where their relationship goes because he's kinda standoff-ish.

    I like that it also divulges us some insight of why they have the races. Glad I'm not waiting until the next book to find out. So far I think it's a great start to a series.

    *I received this book from NetGalley*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this! Guy made me swoon all the way through. he was so c

    I loved this! Guy made me swoon all the way through. he was so caring and sweet, in his own mysterious way. Tella was so kind, and loving to the Pandora's even tho they weren't here own. i look forward to see whats going to happen next with her Guy, and sweet ole Maddox.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    I did find the book a little iffy at first but it found real gro

    I did find the book a little iffy at first but it found real ground fairly quickly. VERY glad I gave it a chance because I ended up loving it! Anxious for the next one! Will be checking to see what other books this author has available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    During the entire first part of the story, I had no idea what wa

    During the entire first part of the story, I had no idea what was going on. There was little action going on at first but things sure got interesting real fast. Although I had this voice screaming in my head saying it was so much like The Hunger Games, I think I liked this better because the hybrid animals made the plot seem much more interesting. 




    Any book with similarities to The Hunger Games was of course a turn-off, but I was not the biggest Hunger Games fan, preferring Divergent instead so I don't know if a comparison would seem fair. 




    Tella, the protagonist, wants to save her brother, who had a mysterious illness. And the only way is to get the Cure, by participating in the Brimstone Bleed. Sounds familar to you? I mean, the Brimstone Bleed definitely is not the fanciest of names (in my opinion), but I want to know what it is all about. The plot isn't set in the future, and it felt like it's happening in the present, so we get to see Tella whine and complain like any girl her age would. Let's all be real here for a second, because if it were me, I would not want to sleep on a bed of leaves, having ants crawling all over me, knowing that I might not make it out alive, or being a prisoner to a psychotic Titus. I would rather be at home just like Tella wished she was. 




    I also gotta admit that Guy isn't the most interesting of male characters I have read about, and his name is not one of my favorites. But being the guy who saves Tella from all that crazy she has encountered surely makes him a better character. And with his knowledge of what the Brimstone Bleed was, I guess he would be there to help save the day. 




    I had expected a little more action, maybe with weapons involved, but the Pandoras were cool. I probably just had my expectations higher and would love to see more development in the second book. Even with all that said, I actually am looking forward to reading Salt & Stone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    WOW

    I wish I could rate this so much higher, because it deserves so many more. This book was amazing, inspiring and quite frankly edge of your seat kinda of book. I am disappointed that the sequel will not be out until NEXT YEAR ugh... anyways, love this book. Already read it MULTIPLE times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Great!

    This book was fun to read. A little hard to get into but now i cant wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    This book grabbed me from the first page.  Couldn't put it down.

    This book grabbed me from the first page.  Couldn't put it down.  Had me thinking what would I do for someone I loved.
     Also thinking about drug companies, do we really know what they are doing??????? What is the government doing to
    keep tabs on these companies.  What is going on in the basements of these big companies, the men with all the money
    at their fingertips.  Victoria Scott has a way with words that grabs a reader from the first sentence to the last word.
    A must read if you like a little romance a little para-normal mixed with a little futuristic thrown in for good measure.

    Victoria Scott   The Collector was off the Wall awesome  and now this new series   I can't wait for the next book.

    If you like a good read with all the emotion's   love, hate, fear, desperation for both human and animal then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Willow

    ePe bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Silver to willow

    I wont be on for this week so ttyl

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    Fire & Flood is all that the blurb promised and so much more

    Fire & Flood is all that the blurb promised and so much more. When she decides to compete in the Brimstone Bleed, Tella Holloway is completely taken out of her comfort zone and dumped into situations exactly opposite to what she is used to. During the race she meets the gorgeous Guy, the much nastier Titus, and several other characters who have a major impact on that part of her life. 

    This highly imaginative story captivated me from the beginning. Although this book is comfortably paced, I found it engaging with never a dull moment. 

    I absolutely loved Tella as a main character. She is self-confident and positive with a "hey, I can do this" kind of attitude. Although she would rather be giving herself facials and doing her hair, she copes remarkably well with the grimy circumstances of living in a rainforest and then in the desert. She survives traumas of being chased by chimps, bitten by a leech, and being attacked by ants. But, when fellow contestants are hurt or die, it almost destroys her. 

    Guy, the other main character, has a gift for leadership, a great deal of knowledge about survival in the wild, and maybe even a couple of ulterior motives. Other characters like Harper, the warrior, and gentle, humorous Jaxon, add to an unforgettable cast of characters. 

    My personal favorite, however, was little Madox. Unfortunately, saying more about that cute little fellow will give more spoilers than I want to. 

    In this book you will meet a fire-breathing lion, a cheetah whose eyes can provide light, a few animals with wonderful fighting and hunting skills, and the coolest shape-shifter you've ever heard of. The balance of good and evil is kept by a boy with a mean, split personality, a monster child, and several crazy pharmacists.

    Always moving forward, full of suspense and self-sacrifice, I found Fire & Flood to be a thrilling and heartwarming read. (Ellen Fritz)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    I can't even!

    This was such a delightfully refreshing read. Tella is a very funny and interesting narrator and the excitement literally never lets up. Five ginormous stars. Highly recomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    I really enjoyed this novel! From the beginning, I was HOOKED. I

    I really enjoyed this novel! From the beginning, I was HOOKED. It's such a fast-paced novel that it didn't take me long to finish it. 

    Fire & Flood is told in 1st person narrative, which is actually what I preferred for this type of novel (like THG, too). I really enjoyed Tella's voice. She's actually a very superficial person, especially in the beginning. She cares more about appearances and Boston than how sick her brother is. Or so it seems. But she surprised me so much throughout this novel; her strength, her determination, her love for her brother, Cody. By the end, I really liked her character. She was such a fantastic heroine. One who is realistic without it being forced, funny in tense situations, and determined to save her brother. 

    I really liked the secondary characters, as well! Because Tella leaves so early for the race, we don't have very many scenes with her and her family. But throughout the novel, she gets homesick many times, and I feel like I know them well enough. I just wish she'd asked her mom questions before leaving (I'd been suspicious that her mom had competed in the Brimstone Bleed before). The misfit group of characters that help Tella were all wonderfully fleshed out. They each had their own personalities and strengths and weaknesses. There was also this wonderful mystery surrounding them all: why were they there and who were they trying to save? And you can't, of course, forget that you might not be able to trust them! Also, I have to mention how awesome the Pandoras are! Ooh, I'd love to have a foxy Pandora like Madox. :)

    There is a little bit of romance in this novel, but it doesn't overshadow the plot. It's a slow and sweet development that fits in perfectly with this race. It's also a little heartbreaking, for how can you potentially fall in love with someone in a race like this? I really liked Guy's character, and he's still a complete mystery to me. I can't wait to see more relationship development between them. 

    Okay, so I was hooked from the beginning. And because I was so engrossed in the story, I didn't pay much attention to the how the plot was laid out. I loved how detailed the different ecosystems were, and I could see them clearly in my mind. And the plot was very fast-paced, with many action scenes throughout. But I would have, if any other book, been really annoyed if the mystery wasn't being revealed fast enough. The mystery was not revealed until the very end, almost as if the author was like: Now you guys have to read the sequel to find out more! It was almost placed there just to make you excited about the sequel. Not that I wasn't already, but still. You get little bits and pieces of the mystery behind the Brimstone Bleed throughout the novel, like carrots being dangled in front of horses to make them walk. You get a clue, want to find out more, so you keep reading. I just wanted more background than what we got. But it makes me excited to continue. :)

    Fire & Flood was like a mix of The Hunger Games (but was still totally different), The Amazing Race, and Survivor. As Tella navigates the jungle and the desert, you're pulled along on her journey to saving her brother's life. It was very good, with well-rounded characters, a juicy mystery, and an intense and terrifying race to win the Cure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    An emotional joyride the whole way through to the very end!! I

    An emotional joyride the whole way through to the very end!!

    I received this book for a blog review from the publisher.

    Okay so first things first! I loved the storyline, wow! It kept me glued and anytime I had light to read by and time I was reading quite obsessively! This was such a great book and I am so looking forward to the next one! (Perhaps even a little impatiently.)

    The plot, epic! The characters, love them, all of them! And the Pandoras, OMG! That is a cool concept and disturbing at the same time! The villain in this book was really villainy lol he did his part well.

    Everything is described and put out there so amazingly well that you are transported into The Brimstone Bleed and along for the entire ride!

    It is an emotional joyride the whole way through to the very end! I was so scared for Tella the outspoken and courageous leading lady who was just scared and unsure enough to be real. I absolutely loved the brooding Guy yeah, TEAM GUY!

    The range of personalities is great in both the people and the Pandoras.

    All in all this is a great Teen Thriller and I was shocked more than once and terrified more than once as well. I laughed alot and got crazy stares from my family but I cried at one point as well.

    The Pandoras were amazing and a really important part of the mix. Every character coaxed an emotion from you and caused you to develop a relationship with them whether that be love, hate or friendship. I absolutely loved the twists and turns it was very unpredictable!

    I would go quote crazy because it has great lines but I won't do that at least not yet!

    Yeah I totally NEED book 2 like yesterday!!

    Fire & Flood exceeded my expectations times a hundred and I am convinced that I need to read whatever Victoria is putting out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Good book

    The only bad thing I have to say about this book is the bad language which is bad the F word came up a lot and that is why I can not give it 5 stars the book would have been better without it. But other than that it was a awesome book love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Good book. It does have some themes you get from Hunger Games, m

    Good book. It does have some themes you get from Hunger Games, main girl trying to win this contest for her family. I didnt think of the tv reality show Survivor until I saw some of the reviews here but when I think about it, it makes sense except in this book, people do die but not too much (not in hunger games/battle royale style) and they get to decide to leave the contest. There is also a  touch of the rebeling theme at the end, which makes the story a bit more interesting to find out  more in next book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Enjoyable

    Entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Well, there's no other way than to just tell it like it is. Hone

    Well, there's no other way than to just tell it like it is. Honestly, I was a little leery of this novel because I did not enjoy the Dante Walker series. I know, shoot me now, but I just couldn't connect to any of the characters. But HELLO Fire & Flood! I'm not sure what sub-genre this young adult book falls into, because it's really not dystopian, but that's the closest way to describe it, I think.

    I'm not going to give any big spoilers, so describing exactly why this race takes place will be impossible, because there's much more to it than a race for a cure. One hundred and seventy-two contestants begin the race, which will take them through four ecosystems, and the person who wins the entire race wins a cure for someone in their family who is chronically ill. For Tella, it's her brother.

    I admired Tella. She walks into her room and finds a tiny, electronic ear piece laying on her bed. When she pops it in her ear, instructions flood her brain and she thinks her brother is trying to pull a prank, so she confronts him and her parents, who go a tad bit insane when they see the device. Her dad tries to burn it, but Tella manages to save it, and finishes listening to the instructions, which she follows to save her brother.

    Anyway, Tella makes it to the starting line with everything she's allowed, and nothing she brought. Victoria inserted so many interesting and unique concepts into the story, it kept me guessing what would happen next. I loved the Pandoras. Foxes, lions, rams, and so many other critters that had the powers of superheroes. Some could burrow in the sand and shoot spurs out into various parts of intruders bodies, others could breathe fire though they weren't dragons, and another could imitate all others. The single thing the pandoras had in common, is they existed to protect their competitor. Tella realized this from the beginning and showed her companion compassion and friendship. She won other pandoras loyalties by showing them the same kindness.

    As the competitors make their way across a rain forest, then a desert, the obstacles and challenges became greater and riskier. Friends and enemies are picked off with increasing speed and ease. However, after each ecosystem, the winner scores anything from money to secure their loved ones the best medical care, to a small dose of the "cure" to extend the life of their family member a few years longer. They are also given the option of going home or continuing on for the ultimate reward. Dropping out of the Brimstone Bleed becomes a forethought in many people's minds, but their loyalty to their family keeps them going.

    One of Tella's cohorts, and possibly a potential boyfriend, knows more about the Brimstone Bleed than the others. Guy is willing to share bits of the truth with Tella, and perhaps there is so much more to the story than a race for a cure. I am excited to read Salt and Stone. Why so long, Victoria? Why?

    I recommend Fire & Flood to those who enjoy dystopian type books. This is a YA book but does contain some violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3