Customer Reviews for

Fire Ice: A Kurt Austin Adventure (NUMA Files Series)

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Clive Cussler a perennial favorite

NUMA series is always exciting. Fire Ice is no different. It takes our minds through conspiracy, international intrigue and even some humor. This book is an outstanding example of Clive Cussler's writing style and imagination. You can see everything in your mind. A wond...
NUMA series is always exciting. Fire Ice is no different. It takes our minds through conspiracy, international intrigue and even some humor. This book is an outstanding example of Clive Cussler's writing style and imagination. You can see everything in your mind. A wonderfully exciting book.

posted by Socrates20 on December 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bring Back Pitt!

Fire Ice is the third Cussler novel in the new Kurt Austin series. It is typical Cussler, with some mild help from Paul Kemprecos on the usually befuddled Cusslerian english. The usual wooden dialogue and unbelievable coincidences leading to the devolvement of seemin...
Fire Ice is the third Cussler novel in the new Kurt Austin series. It is typical Cussler, with some mild help from Paul Kemprecos on the usually befuddled Cusslerian english. The usual wooden dialogue and unbelievable coincidences leading to the devolvement of seemingly unrelated events into an historical, cohesive whole remains the standard by which we Cusslerians' accept our author for what his stories are: great fun. However, I must sound the warning note that there is nothing remarkable about Fire Ice. Worse, Cussler's new hero, Kurt Austin, and his trusty sidekick, Joe Zavala, are so much like Pitt and Giordino as to make it obnoxiously obvious to all that Cussler probably regrets the foolish decision to retire Dirk and Al in the first place! Austin started out with pale blue eyes in the first adventure, "Serpent". His eyes are now described as "coral green". Instead of a dark, Italian buddy, we now have a dark, Latino buddy who steals cigars like Giordino did. Nothing has changed, with this exception! With Dirk Pitt, Clive Cussler, probably through no fault of his own stilted writing, had developed a personality and several ongoing relationships. We knew about his relationship with Lauren, the meaning of his car collection and so much about him. Austin and Zavala are about as one-dimensional, as woooden, as your typical Cussler dialogue. Not that the dialogue EVER sounded like two real people speaking, but these guys are BAD. There was never a reason to drop Dirk Pitt. The nonsense about aging him and slowly referencing that fact in the last few books was a mistake. The beauty about fiction, particularly light reading fiction, is that you don't have to get into all that. Kurt Austin can sink for all I care. Bring back Dirk Pitt!

posted by Anonymous on September 24, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    The best in the series...

    As a huge Clive Cussler fan, I immediately began to check out this new Kurt Austin series with the first novel, 'Serpent'. It was alright, entertaining, but nothing really special - not really on par with Cussler's Pitt novels. As it turns out though, Paul Kemprecos does most of the actual writing - usually, Cussler writes the prologue and just gives Kemprecos' stuff a look-over. Anyways, the second one, 'Blue Gold' was also fun, but still lacking something. But Kemprecos hit it out of the park with 'Fire Ice', the third in the series. It was a little less action/adventure-oriented, but the characters were fleshed out much more, and the plot felt more complete and thought-out. It felt like an actual Cussler/Pitt novel! Since this one, they have also been good ('White Death', 'Lost City'), but this is still the pinnacle of the series for me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    A real page turner!

    For any fan of action adventure,this is a must read, especially for Cussler fans. The familiar characters that will, or already have begun to feel like old friends lead you through another adventure. Although it follows the familiar pattern of evil genius that must be stopped at all costs, the settings and scenes are always so descriptive and vivid that you feel like you're right there with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Xsczz

    Z App"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Great Read

    Another great Cussler book! This book was a great read, hard to put down... too bad it had to end. I'm looking forward to reading more of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Cussler sweeps John Grisham out the door

    Great Cussler book!!The guy has a talent 4 writing books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    completely recommened

    As always Cussler delivers, with non-stop action that keeps you not wanting to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    Like a friend is telling you a story.

    I received this book from my daughter on father's day. She knew I was a big Cussler fan. I wasn't disappointed with Fire Ice, despite my favoring Dirk Pitt over Kurt Austin. There's plenty of action, a good plot, and interesting characters. Some of Cussler's books are better than others but never are they bad. This one is one of the better ones, and it's like a friend is telling you a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    Cussler is on fire!

    Excellent book. This is the best Kurt Austin series book of them all. The plot is awesome and I couldn't find one page that I did not enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2002

    TRUE CUSSLER MAGIC!!!

    I know that there are Clive Cussler fans out there that don't enjoy the Kurt Austin novels as much as they do his Dirk Pitt adventures, and it's understandable - there was a lot of that Cussler magic in the Dirk Pitt novels that just seemed....absent, I guess, in SERPENT and BLUE GOLD - although still very good novels, they just didn't feel the same. FIRE ICE, however, is truly an incredible novel - either Clive himself has become more involved in the Austin novels, or Paul Kemprecos has really learned a thing or two. The novel introduces fascinating characters that harken back to the older, classic Dirk Pitt novels, along with a seemingly terrific plot (okay, I'll admit - I haven't finished it yet...). I cannot wait to finish this one, and I absolutely cannot wait for the upcoming SAHARA movie, to be released in summer 2003. This is a MUST-READ - for Cussler fans and adventure readers alike!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    A Pleasure To Read

    Though not published or completed yet, my uncles latest instalment in his series is truly captivating. Though I was unable to read the end of the book and I cant give details, I will say that its a true page turner and you will love the new characters. By Berryany of Bermuda

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    non-stop action

    Off the New England coast, a retired oceanographer turned fisherman recognizes the noise as a deadly tidal wave. He calls the police from the sea and averts a major catastrophe. <P>In the Aegean Sea, Captain Joe Logan takes visiting marine archeologist Dr. Pulaski underwater in a special sub. However, instead of scientific research Pulaski takes control of the sub waiting for a ¿pick-up¿. <P>A TV crew visits an abandoned Soviet sub base only to be attacked by Cossack warriors on horses. Only the intervention of National Underwater and Marine Agency scientist Kurt Austin saves their lives. <P>What these events have in common is Mikhail Razov and Boris the monk are behind each incident as they get ready for a Cossack holy war to take over Russia reminiscent of a modern day Czar with his Rasputin. They also expect to destroy the infidels starting with the United States. Only Austin and his old Soviet counterpart Victor Petrov stand in their way of succeeding. <P>As with all the NUMA tales, FIRE ICE is non-stop action that readers will dive into in one sitting. The exciting story line never slows down even for a paragraph as one event leads to another in Petrov¿s efforts to become the first Czar of Russia in nine decades. Austin remains the heroic genius that he was in previous books and the villains are an interesting duet. Clive Cussler and Paul Kemprecos furbishes a strong entry in one of the better action series. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2