Customer Reviews for

Fire & Ice (book 1 Icefire trilogy)

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

have to say sci fi isnt my thing but this book sounded interest

have to say sci fi isnt my thing but this book sounded interesting so I got it. At first I wasnt sure I was gonna be able to stick with it but I quickly became enthralled in the story. There were some times I thought it was less exciting and then all the sudden somethi...
have to say sci fi isnt my thing but this book sounded interesting so I got it. At first I wasnt sure I was gonna be able to stick with it but I quickly became enthralled in the story. There were some times I thought it was less exciting and then all the sudden something would happen to drag my attention back in, the whole book was like this there was constantly something happening to keep me interested. Overall it was a good book and a good read.

posted by Anonymous on June 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Potential but...

The story is great and intriguing but it needs a better hook so i dont have to force myself to read it before becoming interested halfway through.

Also needs a better editor. Lots of strange but subtle grammar mistakes. Not fun for a grammar freak like moi.

Needs bet...
The story is great and intriguing but it needs a better hook so i dont have to force myself to read it before becoming interested halfway through.

Also needs a better editor. Lots of strange but subtle grammar mistakes. Not fun for a grammar freak like moi.

Needs better character development. The only character i could fully visualize was ruko and for obvious reasons.

Personally it was too dirty for me. Every time there is an anal sex scene i skip two pages and then have to work my way backward so as not to miss any story parts. Just...ew. not for under 18years old. Next time they need to inform people about mature content rating in the summary.

I love love LOVE the concept but the little things like this diminish my respect for the book and the author.

I have enough negative critiques to give this 2 stars but i love the story line enough for 3 stars.

---TigressAyura

posted by 18458213 on March 30, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Potential but...

    The story is great and intriguing but it needs a better hook so i dont have to force myself to read it before becoming interested halfway through.

    Also needs a better editor. Lots of strange but subtle grammar mistakes. Not fun for a grammar freak like moi.

    Needs better character development. The only character i could fully visualize was ruko and for obvious reasons.

    Personally it was too dirty for me. Every time there is an anal sex scene i skip two pages and then have to work my way backward so as not to miss any story parts. Just...ew. not for under 18years old. Next time they need to inform people about mature content rating in the summary.

    I love love LOVE the concept but the little things like this diminish my respect for the book and the author.

    I have enough negative critiques to give this 2 stars but i love the story line enough for 3 stars.

    ---TigressAyura

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    Imagine a world where the slightest imperfection will leave you

    Imagine a world where the slightest imperfection will leave you abandon on ice floes as infants and ridiculed for being different. Fire & Ice is this world. One named named Tandor, a Thillei, is trying to gather all Imperfect children in one place called Bordertown. He has worked these last fifteen years tirelessly rescuing these children from ice floes. He returns to Bordertown to discover that all of the Imperfect children he's rescued have been taken by The Eagle Knights to the City of Glass. He, his servitor Ruko, and Myra must journey to City of Glass to rescue the Imperfect children. Upon arriving in Outer City on the outskirts of City of Glass, Tandor seeks Loriane's help with Myra's pregnancy. Loriane is angry with Tandor yet loves him any way. Tandor is upset that Isador is now with The Eagle Knights. Loriane says like I could stop him from joining the Knights. Icefire is very strong in the Imperfects and Tandor desperately needs icefire if he's to rescue the Imperfect children. Isador and Carro are friends in the Knights yet both of them carry secrets the other doesn't know about. Carro is constantly bullied by Jono and several others. Queen Jevaithi is ruler in name only as well an imperfect. She wants freedom to move yet Supreme Rider Cornatan does everything in his power to keep Jevaithi from truly ruling her people. Jevaithi wants to attend the Newlight Festival which Supreme Rider Cornatan is opposed too. She gets her way in attending the festival and full of excitement. She wants to name Queen's Champion instead of The Knights or Rider Cornatan doing it for her. She names Isador as Queen's Champion which pleases everyone including her. Will Tandor succeed in rescuing Imperfects? Will Myra give birth safely? What about Loriane's feelings for Tandor? What is Supreme Rider Cornatan up to? What about Carro and Isador's friendship? What are Queen Jevaithi's thoughts and feelings? Your answers await you in Fire & Ice.

    For me, personally the book got off to incredibly slow start and continued to be slow through out the whole book. In some places the pacing seemed to be rushed and then went back to it's original slow pace. Overall the story is truly unique concept with plenty of room to grow in background and characters. I will look for this other works in the future.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    have to say sci fi isnt my thing but this book sounded interest

    have to say sci fi isnt my thing but this book sounded interesting so I got it. At first I wasnt sure I was gonna be able to stick with it but I quickly became enthralled in the story. There were some times I thought it was less exciting and then all the sudden something would happen to drag my attention back in, the whole book was like this there was constantly something happening to keep me interested. Overall it was a good book and a good read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    good read for airplane ride

    took a little for me to get into the book, but once I did--it ended! Will read the next 2 to see what happens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Interesting book

    It was a little hard to follow at first. When youger into it, it was hard to put down. Not a book for kids. Must be an adult. A liffle to much of that type of sex for me. But well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Don't get.

    This book had to be the most akward and confusing books Ive read in a while. I DO NOT recommend for children under 18!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Great book

    I love this author. I can't wait to read more of her books .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Awesome!

    Best book ever!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Great story

    On my way to buy 2nd and 3rd books in this series. Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    I liked the storyline and the characters but she needs a good ed

    I liked the storyline and the characters but she needs a good editor or at least a proofreader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Enjoyed but...

    I enjoyed the story line but I think the author needs to find a better editor. There were a lot of errors that made no sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Really liked

    I really liked how the people considered something they didn't understand as magic...also really liked the storyline...I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2