Customer Reviews for

Fire Lord's Lover

Average Rating 4
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I highly recommend reading this book!

I read one of Kathryne's other books 'Enchanting the Lady', enjoyed it and wanted to read more of her work. 'The Fire Lord's Lover' was the best combination of all the things I love in a book - victorian, sci fi, romance, strong female lead, stronger male lead. With the...
I read one of Kathryne's other books 'Enchanting the Lady', enjoyed it and wanted to read more of her work. 'The Fire Lord's Lover' was the best combination of all the things I love in a book - victorian, sci fi, romance, strong female lead, stronger male lead. With the strange mix of alien and victorian she still somehow made you believe the world she created. To me that is a mark of a great writer. And may I say - thank you for no foul language and a heroine with a belief in God! Yeh, that was a bonus! I really hope she decides to write a sequel to this book.

posted by Sassy777 on October 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was okay

This was an okay read. I liked the story itself and the world created within. It had a lot of potential. The characters were interesting as well...BUT....somehow I felt like it did not all come together. I felt like the romance was a bit rushed and so I did not really "...
This was an okay read. I liked the story itself and the world created within. It had a lot of potential. The characters were interesting as well...BUT....somehow I felt like it did not all come together. I felt like the romance was a bit rushed and so I did not really "feel" it. The two characters talked about their newly discovered love for each other, but...it came down to the classic "show don't tell." I felt like there was a lot of telling, but not a lot of showing. Only way to explain. So while I did not hate it...I did not love it. And with a few tweaks...I could have.

posted by cgirl98 on September 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    I highly recommend reading this book!

    I read one of Kathryne's other books 'Enchanting the Lady', enjoyed it and wanted to read more of her work. 'The Fire Lord's Lover' was the best combination of all the things I love in a book - victorian, sci fi, romance, strong female lead, stronger male lead. With the strange mix of alien and victorian she still somehow made you believe the world she created. To me that is a mark of a great writer. And may I say - thank you for no foul language and a heroine with a belief in God! Yeh, that was a bonus! I really hope she decides to write a sequel to this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It was okay

    This was an okay read. I liked the story itself and the world created within. It had a lot of potential. The characters were interesting as well...BUT....somehow I felt like it did not all come together. I felt like the romance was a bit rushed and so I did not really "feel" it. The two characters talked about their newly discovered love for each other, but...it came down to the classic "show don't tell." I felt like there was a lot of telling, but not a lot of showing. Only way to explain. So while I did not hate it...I did not love it. And with a few tweaks...I could have.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Interesting Take

    I found the idea of this book really fascinating: elves that, while expectantly elegant and ethereal, are by no means allied with good - nay, are the antagonists of the story. Brilliant. I love freakishly attractive baddies.

    The story takes place in an alternate reality, which isn't usually my cup of tea, but I thought the author did a nice job of blending world building with what is already familiar. It seemed entirely plausible and actually, I often kept thinking to myself "A few quirks of English history and past royal figures could be much better explained if this were actually reality," so I found it very clever.

    The romance was lovely and I very much liked both of the main characters. They were complex, interesting and appealing, both in their own right. I thought the heroine's "religiosity" was a bit too strong, but to some degree it made sense considering her background and it may just be personal prejudice that made it unpleasant for me.

    All in all, I think I will continue to read other installments in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Loved this

    Great story, nice mix of fantasy and historical romance. Really great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I never knew silver-haired elves could be so sexy. Loved it! The

    I never knew silver-haired elves could be so sexy. Loved it! The heroine is charming. Her "dance magic" is unique and cleverly worked into the story. I didn't care for the ending, but it did fit into the overall plot. I'll be picking up the sequels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Nice romance fantasy

    Will continue to read the rest of the series. Enjoyable read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Quite Interesting.

    The storyline is fairly solid and the characters for the most part believable. The only thing I found to be a bummer was how the author didn't fully go into explaining the relations between the Lords and how the powers more or less coincide with each individual Elven Lord.

    A very nice idea although I feel the author should expand upon it more.

    Good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Kenny

    Next res.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Mark

    Hey. You here?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Lizzi

    You mean me kenny?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    I recommend this book.

    This book is exciting and has a good story line. I liked the unexpected ending. Written with a sense of humor, and drama. I will be reading the other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    A must read!

    ....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    I loved every page of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Thumbs Up for Fantasy Romance

    I really enjoyed the world, characters, and the relationships built in this novel. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    Really loved this book!

    I enjoyed the story, the writing and am looking forward to reading the rest of this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Interesting book.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Fun

    So different, and so fun. Loved the story, don't pass this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    MY FIRST ELF BOOK T.J. IN KY.

    AUG.3 2011 I CANT BELIEVE I JUST READ A WHOLE BOOK ABOUT ELVES AND HALF ELVES AND KIND OF HALF WAY LIKED IT . IT WAS VERY IMAGINATIVE. IT EVEN HAS A SMART MOUTH, TALKING DRAGON.A TALKING DRAGON WINS EVERY TIME! OKAY, I LIKED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I hope to see sequels. I just looked for more nook books in this series and to my dismay found none because this book is singular. This book would make a wonderful movie also. Made me think of STARZ CHANNEL Camelot the series with a combination of Avatar the movie...... Wonderful book absolutely wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12