Customer Reviews for

Fire Lord's Lover

Average Rating 4
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I highly recommend reading this book!

I read one of Kathryne's other books 'Enchanting the Lady', enjoyed it and wanted to read more of her work. 'The Fire Lord's Lover' was the best combination of all the things I love in a book - victorian, sci fi, romance, strong female lead, stronger male lead. With the...
I read one of Kathryne's other books 'Enchanting the Lady', enjoyed it and wanted to read more of her work. 'The Fire Lord's Lover' was the best combination of all the things I love in a book - victorian, sci fi, romance, strong female lead, stronger male lead. With the strange mix of alien and victorian she still somehow made you believe the world she created. To me that is a mark of a great writer. And may I say - thank you for no foul language and a heroine with a belief in God! Yeh, that was a bonus! I really hope she decides to write a sequel to this book.

posted by Sassy777 on October 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was okay

This was an okay read. I liked the story itself and the world created within. It had a lot of potential. The characters were interesting as well...BUT....somehow I felt like it did not all come together. I felt like the romance was a bit rushed and so I did not really "...
This was an okay read. I liked the story itself and the world created within. It had a lot of potential. The characters were interesting as well...BUT....somehow I felt like it did not all come together. I felt like the romance was a bit rushed and so I did not really "feel" it. The two characters talked about their newly discovered love for each other, but...it came down to the classic "show don't tell." I felt like there was a lot of telling, but not a lot of showing. Only way to explain. So while I did not hate it...I did not love it. And with a few tweaks...I could have.

posted by cgirl98 on September 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Interesting Take

    I found the idea of this book really fascinating: elves that, while expectantly elegant and ethereal, are by no means allied with good - nay, are the antagonists of the story. Brilliant. I love freakishly attractive baddies.

    The story takes place in an alternate reality, which isn't usually my cup of tea, but I thought the author did a nice job of blending world building with what is already familiar. It seemed entirely plausible and actually, I often kept thinking to myself "A few quirks of English history and past royal figures could be much better explained if this were actually reality," so I found it very clever.

    The romance was lovely and I very much liked both of the main characters. They were complex, interesting and appealing, both in their own right. I thought the heroine's "religiosity" was a bit too strong, but to some degree it made sense considering her background and it may just be personal prejudice that made it unpleasant for me.

    All in all, I think I will continue to read other installments in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I never knew silver-haired elves could be so sexy. Loved it! The

    I never knew silver-haired elves could be so sexy. Loved it! The heroine is charming. Her "dance magic" is unique and cleverly worked into the story. I didn't care for the ending, but it did fit into the overall plot. I'll be picking up the sequels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Thumbs Up for Fantasy Romance

    I really enjoyed the world, characters, and the relationships built in this novel. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    I got this book as a free book and I must say I would have defenitely paid for it! I hope I can read more about the rest of the elven Kingdoms and how Dominic will rule as the new Fire Lord. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Fun

    This is a fun read and the world created is one you will wish to explore more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Magically Delightful?

    It was good easy read, though I did not know it was a part of a series so that beware. Pretty good characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended For Fantasy Readers

    The place is England in 1724. Mankind is subjugated to the rule of seven dissident elven lords, who broke free from their land and came through the gateway that separates the lands. Having magic and strength on their side, they quickly managed to take over the country and now rule it, each lord in his own territory.

    The strongest elven lord, Mor'ded, rules London with an iron hand. His power is that of fire. His main general, Dominic Raikes, is also his bastard son. Dominic is half-human but has learned to suppress any human feeling as Mor'ded just uses it to torture him, killing his pets and friends to teach him not to get attached to anything.

    Cassandra is a sheltered young woman who has been raised to become the bride of Dominic. She also has a secret; she has been trained as an assassin by the Resistance. The Resistance are those human who want to throw off elven rule and restore the human king. She is to marry Dominic, and use her relationship with him to get close enough to Mor'ded to kill him.

    When they meet, nothing goes as planned. Cassandra is shocked and humiliated by Dominic's unfeeling treatment of her and his flaunting of his mistresses. Dominic is determined not to feel anything for Cassandra, knowing that to do so will doom her. Yet, they both hate and fear Mor'ded and as time goes on, create an alliance to try to defeat him. Will they be successful before he discovers their feelings and destroys them both? Can Cassandra and Dominic manage not to fall in love?

    The Fire Lord's Lover is Book One of The Elven Lords. Kennedy has created an interesting world, with enough historical grounding that the reader feels familiar with the background. The love story has the reader curious and makes them want to read to see how it will work out. This book is recommended for fantasy readers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you want fantasy and romance then this is it

    I really enjoyed this book, elves! Lol, do I need to say more. Well, ok I have to.

    First there is Dominic, cold and lacking a heart, or at least that he plays at. He is the bastard son to The Fire Lord that rules London. Long ago some Elven Lords grew bored and conquered England. The world turned a blind eye when riches came from their reign and magic. They are cruel creatures that do not care for humans, those could just as well be cattle. Dominic is used by his father as a general and he does everything to try to hide his heart. Until..

    ..he meets his bride Cassandra. She has been sent to kill The Fire Lord and his bastard son. But she soon finds herself questioning things, and perhaps falling for the col hearted General.

    First I have to say that i loved this word, it's this alternate world/history/timeline kind of story. What if there actually were elves before, but then the portals to that world closed? And some came back, and with some offspring here and there nobles now have magic too. Little, but still some. It's a world where England is divided into realms, there is a king, but he is just a prize that the Lords fight over. because they need their games, else they grow bored, and then they are as dangerous as they get. It was an England I would have loved to see, even if the country was ruled by dictators, beautiful dictators.

    Dominic, oh he was such an ass, but he had to be. He has learnt that feelings, and friendship is dangerous to those he loves. So he is as cold as his father. Ice-cold to his new bride that melt under his fingers. I knew he was doing it for all the right reasons, but still I ached for her. Cassandra melts by this handsome elf, she feels passion, and slowly something is building up, while I scream, trust each other! She is not some nice little bride either, no, she has a mind of her own, pretty dangerous, but she wants freedom from this wicked rule.

    Two people falling in love, one crazy Elven Lord who wants a new champion, some cool magic, jealousy, an England you have not seen before, and a world that has so much more to offer. What is there not to like, and oh yes, passion too.

    As for which genre this is, hm, well historical romance fans will love it, paranormal romance fans will too, and those with an eye out for fantasy romance. Quite a win win.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    Sexy Fantasy

    During the reign of King George I, seven elves from the world of Elfhame captured and ruled England through the use of peculiar magic and sacred scepters. They carved the island up between them, each dominating a region to use as his or her own domain. Years of dominance has caused the country to be filled with half breed children of various magical abilities and a populous who fears and resents the Elven lords. Out of the ashes of the old regime, a secret rebellion formed; a rebellion that has pinned their hope upon a young woman to be sold in marriage to the Elven Fire Lord's bastard son, Dominic.

    Lady Cassandra, of half Elven stock herself, attended the best private boarding schools the region had to offer. Along with learning to read and being trained to be a good Christian wife, she was taught the Elven art of death dancing for the sole purpose of assassinating the mad elf that wields black fire magic. What she wasn't taught is how to not fall in love with her seemingly emotionless half-breed husband.

    General Dominic Raikes, half-breed champion for his father, the Imperial Lord of Firehame, Mor'ded, learned to hide his emotions and the depth of his fire magic abilities. His father, a sadistic elf, ruled Dominic through the use of torture; not only of Dominic as a child but of those that he loved and cared for. To protect others, Dominic vowed to never show his emotions nor care for another being as long as he lived. What he didn't count on is that the one woman who could get under his cold exterior would be placed in his bed. What he also did not count on is that she might also be his, and England's, savior.

    The first book in the series entitled The Elven Lords, The Fire Lord's Lover by Kathryne Kennedy proves to be an enchanting, provocative story that blends all the best elements of the fantasy and romance genres. Kennedy weaves a bewitching world using historical figures and mythologies beloved by fantasy readers through the ages. The second book of this series, The Lady of the Storm, is currently in production.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5