Customer Reviews for

Fire Lord's Lover

Average Rating 4
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I highly recommend reading this book!

I read one of Kathryne's other books 'Enchanting the Lady', enjoyed it and wanted to read more of her work. 'The Fire Lord's Lover' was the best combination of all the things I love in a book - victorian, sci fi, romance, strong female lead, stronger male lead. With the...
I read one of Kathryne's other books 'Enchanting the Lady', enjoyed it and wanted to read more of her work. 'The Fire Lord's Lover' was the best combination of all the things I love in a book - victorian, sci fi, romance, strong female lead, stronger male lead. With the strange mix of alien and victorian she still somehow made you believe the world she created. To me that is a mark of a great writer. And may I say - thank you for no foul language and a heroine with a belief in God! Yeh, that was a bonus! I really hope she decides to write a sequel to this book.

posted by Sassy777 on October 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was okay

This was an okay read. I liked the story itself and the world created within. It had a lot of potential. The characters were interesting as well...BUT....somehow I felt like it did not all come together. I felt like the romance was a bit rushed and so I did not really "...
This was an okay read. I liked the story itself and the world created within. It had a lot of potential. The characters were interesting as well...BUT....somehow I felt like it did not all come together. I felt like the romance was a bit rushed and so I did not really "feel" it. The two characters talked about their newly discovered love for each other, but...it came down to the classic "show don't tell." I felt like there was a lot of telling, but not a lot of showing. Only way to explain. So while I did not hate it...I did not love it. And with a few tweaks...I could have.

posted by cgirl98 on September 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Fun

    This is a fun read and the world created is one you will wish to explore more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book, and it was made even better by the fact that it was free!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Magically Delightful?

    It was good easy read, though I did not know it was a part of a series so that beware. Pretty good characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED BOOK!!! ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!

    I absolutely without a doubt loved this book. Suspenseful to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    So so

    This book had a good plot but was so slow in getting to the point and some points in the story were just boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    EXCELLENT

    I highly recommend this wonderful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended For Fantasy Readers

    The place is England in 1724. Mankind is subjugated to the rule of seven dissident elven lords, who broke free from their land and came through the gateway that separates the lands. Having magic and strength on their side, they quickly managed to take over the country and now rule it, each lord in his own territory.

    The strongest elven lord, Mor'ded, rules London with an iron hand. His power is that of fire. His main general, Dominic Raikes, is also his bastard son. Dominic is half-human but has learned to suppress any human feeling as Mor'ded just uses it to torture him, killing his pets and friends to teach him not to get attached to anything.

    Cassandra is a sheltered young woman who has been raised to become the bride of Dominic. She also has a secret; she has been trained as an assassin by the Resistance. The Resistance are those human who want to throw off elven rule and restore the human king. She is to marry Dominic, and use her relationship with him to get close enough to Mor'ded to kill him.

    When they meet, nothing goes as planned. Cassandra is shocked and humiliated by Dominic's unfeeling treatment of her and his flaunting of his mistresses. Dominic is determined not to feel anything for Cassandra, knowing that to do so will doom her. Yet, they both hate and fear Mor'ded and as time goes on, create an alliance to try to defeat him. Will they be successful before he discovers their feelings and destroys them both? Can Cassandra and Dominic manage not to fall in love?

    The Fire Lord's Lover is Book One of The Elven Lords. Kennedy has created an interesting world, with enough historical grounding that the reader feels familiar with the background. The love story has the reader curious and makes them want to read to see how it will work out. This book is recommended for fantasy readers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    First off, I should probably mention that I love this author. I was introduced to her books by pure accident when I received a free eBook from B&N. Now I can't read all her books fast enough and the next book isn't released until December, Beneath the Thirteen Moons! Anyways, I really enjoyed learning about this world and meeting the characters. I thought it was great that the assassin in this book was the heroine. I also loved her fiery nature that caused her both pain and happiness throughout this entire book. I thought it was a great story and spin on events occurring in England. I look forward to the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    Wonderful fantasy and romance!

    Loved this book. Kennedy is at her best with this fantasy romance that will leave you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you want fantasy and romance then this is it

    I really enjoyed this book, elves! Lol, do I need to say more. Well, ok I have to.

    First there is Dominic, cold and lacking a heart, or at least that he plays at. He is the bastard son to The Fire Lord that rules London. Long ago some Elven Lords grew bored and conquered England. The world turned a blind eye when riches came from their reign and magic. They are cruel creatures that do not care for humans, those could just as well be cattle. Dominic is used by his father as a general and he does everything to try to hide his heart. Until..

    ..he meets his bride Cassandra. She has been sent to kill The Fire Lord and his bastard son. But she soon finds herself questioning things, and perhaps falling for the col hearted General.

    First I have to say that i loved this word, it's this alternate world/history/timeline kind of story. What if there actually were elves before, but then the portals to that world closed? And some came back, and with some offspring here and there nobles now have magic too. Little, but still some. It's a world where England is divided into realms, there is a king, but he is just a prize that the Lords fight over. because they need their games, else they grow bored, and then they are as dangerous as they get. It was an England I would have loved to see, even if the country was ruled by dictators, beautiful dictators.

    Dominic, oh he was such an ass, but he had to be. He has learnt that feelings, and friendship is dangerous to those he loves. So he is as cold as his father. Ice-cold to his new bride that melt under his fingers. I knew he was doing it for all the right reasons, but still I ached for her. Cassandra melts by this handsome elf, she feels passion, and slowly something is building up, while I scream, trust each other! She is not some nice little bride either, no, she has a mind of her own, pretty dangerous, but she wants freedom from this wicked rule.

    Two people falling in love, one crazy Elven Lord who wants a new champion, some cool magic, jealousy, an England you have not seen before, and a world that has so much more to offer. What is there not to like, and oh yes, passion too.

    As for which genre this is, hm, well historical romance fans will love it, paranormal romance fans will too, and those with an eye out for fantasy romance. Quite a win win.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    Sexy Fantasy

    During the reign of King George I, seven elves from the world of Elfhame captured and ruled England through the use of peculiar magic and sacred scepters. They carved the island up between them, each dominating a region to use as his or her own domain. Years of dominance has caused the country to be filled with half breed children of various magical abilities and a populous who fears and resents the Elven lords. Out of the ashes of the old regime, a secret rebellion formed; a rebellion that has pinned their hope upon a young woman to be sold in marriage to the Elven Fire Lord's bastard son, Dominic.

    Lady Cassandra, of half Elven stock herself, attended the best private boarding schools the region had to offer. Along with learning to read and being trained to be a good Christian wife, she was taught the Elven art of death dancing for the sole purpose of assassinating the mad elf that wields black fire magic. What she wasn't taught is how to not fall in love with her seemingly emotionless half-breed husband.

    General Dominic Raikes, half-breed champion for his father, the Imperial Lord of Firehame, Mor'ded, learned to hide his emotions and the depth of his fire magic abilities. His father, a sadistic elf, ruled Dominic through the use of torture; not only of Dominic as a child but of those that he loved and cared for. To protect others, Dominic vowed to never show his emotions nor care for another being as long as he lived. What he didn't count on is that the one woman who could get under his cold exterior would be placed in his bed. What he also did not count on is that she might also be his, and England's, savior.

    The first book in the series entitled The Elven Lords, The Fire Lord's Lover by Kathryne Kennedy proves to be an enchanting, provocative story that blends all the best elements of the fantasy and romance genres. Kennedy weaves a bewitching world using historical figures and mythologies beloved by fantasy readers through the ages. The second book of this series, The Lady of the Storm, is currently in production.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    WONDERFUL FANTASY ABOUT ELVEN AND HUMAN IN ENGLAND!

    THE FIRE LORD'S LOVER by Kathryne Kennedy is a wonderful romantic fantasy set in 1724 England. It is Book one in the Elven Lords series. It is well written with depth and detail. The characters are engaging, strong, and will pull you into the story. It has dragons, elvens, romance, mystery, intrigue, struggles, sensuality and magic. The hero, Dominic, is half elf and half human. He is strong and the bastard son of the Elven Lord. The heroine, Cassandra, is trained as an assasin, she also half human and has some elven blood. She and Dominic are to be married. She quickly falls in love with Dominic, he is also falling for Cassandra. He tries to hide his feelings, because he knows his father, the Elven Lord, will use her against him, to destroy him. Together, they learn the truth of the evil the Elven Lord. They face struggles and suffer while trying to out wit the evil Elven Lord and save the human race. All while trying to find their happy ever after. This is an engaging story with love and sacrifrice between two worlds. I would recommend this book especially if you enjoy fantasy with a twist of reality. This book was received for review and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Sourcebooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    Amazing Story!

    Originally Posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com

    Ever wonder what it would be like if elves ruled England and the King was nothing but a chess piece for the elves to wage war over for fun? Such is the unique and amazing new Regency world from the talented Ms. Kennedy. She's taken historical romance and turned it on its ear.

    Lady Cassandra is a breath of fresh air. I adored her and the way her character was written. Yes she's been raised in a convent but she's not a skittish miss, nor a female of weak constitution who swoons with any type of diversity or shock to her sensibilities. She's courageous, inquisitive, pragmatic and has such a sense of rightness about her, I found her perfect. She's passive aggressive but not in a bad way. Instead of taking the route of a screaming harpy, she gently and consistently does things her own way; like water over a rock, soon it smoothes over and becomes polished. That's what she does to the hero, Dominic. She consistently chooses actions that are the very antithesis of what he's used to. He doesn't stand a chance.

    Dominic's character is one of pain. Even though Lady Cassandra doesn't understand why he does what he does when he does, readers will. And it's torture to read. So often we read stories of how children, starved for love from a parent, will do things, anything, to earn a crumb of their attention or a kind word. All they want is validation that they matter to those that intrinsically should love them because they are their blood. Dominic's father is a blood thirsty, power monger who wouldn't give Tinkerbell the time of day except to pull her wings off. Does the apple fall far from the tree? Yes. So far in fact, Dominic is more a prickly pear. He's got all those spines to protect him but inside, he's as sweet as can be. I couldn't help but want him to be happy but the road to his happiness is fraught with peril.

    The peril comes from pleasing and surviving his own father's whims and the political games he must navigate. He has dubious help from a dragon who will impart a word here and there which frustrated both Dominic and me. In the end, the dragon did provide valuable clues which were quite interesting.

    Secondary characters were few but those that were there provided maximum impact. They assisted in plot advancement and understanding of the main characters without detracting from either. It kept the story very relatable.

    When Lady Cassandra and Dominic do get together in the married way, it was beautiful, passionate and romantic. There are bumps along the way but each garnered valuable insight into each other which proved crucial at the big climax.

    The Fire Lord's Lover is a stellar example of making historical romance fresh, exciting and special. I had a blast reading this book from cover to cover and it is absolutely going on my keeper shelf. The story is rich and vibrant, fast paced and engrossing. The romance that blossomed between Dominic and Cassandra is worthy of another re-read. I can't wait to read more by this author. She's amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a superb Georgian romantic fantasy

    In 1724, elven lords from Elfthane rule England with a cruel iron fist. Half-breed son of elven Fire Lord evil Mor'ded, Dominic Raikes conceals the full extent of his magical skills and more important his heart from his sire because he knows his father would view him as a threat for either and kill him.

    Meanwhile the human Rebellion, who want to overturn the Elven malevolent reign of terror, raise seemingly innocent Lady Cassandra Bridges to appear prim and proper to disguise her other training as an assassin. She and Dominic wed in a marriage of convenience. However, to their shock, the newlyweds fall in love with one another. Unintended consequence is his human side of empathy and love supersedes his ruthless elven half, which leads to his worst nightmare that his dad becomes aware of what has occurred.

    This is a superb Georgian romantic fantasy that effortlessly merges facts of early eighteenth century London with a mythical spin. With several great twists the story line is loaded with otherworldly action anchored by the realism of 1724 England as the Rebellion and the elves control the destiny of the newlyweds. Ironically even with others trying to pull their strings, the exciting plot is owned by the lead couple as she is a top rate assassin and he a half-breed coming into his power due to the love of the mortal he married; while Mor'ded tests his son.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12