Customer Reviews for

Fire Study

Average Rating 4.5
( 225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed for "Unicorns, I Love Them!"

Fire Study, the final installment of the Study trilogy, was better than Magic Study, but still not as good as Poison Study. First of all, I like that Valek was more of an important character here than in Magic Study. Valek is awesome. All the other characters are great ...
Fire Study, the final installment of the Study trilogy, was better than Magic Study, but still not as good as Poison Study. First of all, I like that Valek was more of an important character here than in Magic Study. Valek is awesome. All the other characters are great too, and not even the insignificant characters are flat or boring. And over the course of three books, you get to see the characters developing and maturing while still staying the same people. Character development is rare in YA books nowadays, so I'm happy whenever I find it. One of the things I liked the most about this last book is that we finally learn about the Commander's "mutation"! I finished Magic Study feeling very confused about him, and thought that the author would decide to keep the truth about the "mutation" a mystery. So I was very thankful that we were given an explanation! Also, while Snyder is no Kimberly Derting, she's great at writing suspense. I had to pull a caffeine-fueled all-nighter for this book because I HAD to know what would happen next! And my efforts were not in vain. The twist at the end was unpredictable and completely original! I found the concept of putting souls inside glass fascinating. My only criticism is that it would have been nice to learn more about the Fire Warper, half the book long I was confused to who he even was! But other than that, Fire Study was a great ending to a great series! I'll be looking forward to reading Opal's story (the Glass series).

posted by EmilyD on April 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Exciting Conclusion

This is the final book in the Study series. As much as I loved these books, this one was my least favorite. I still like Yelena and think that she is a great character, along with Valek, but this book just did not come together in the same way.

Snyder is still very g...
This is the final book in the Study series. As much as I loved these books, this one was my least favorite. I still like Yelena and think that she is a great character, along with Valek, but this book just did not come together in the same way.

Snyder is still very good at creating excitement, this book starts off quite exciting and she has a knack for cliffhanger ending chapters. However, I found this book to be a bit repetitive with many of the details. I also found Snyder spent a lot of time filling in background from the other books. Sometimes this was seamless, but sometimes it felt like a bit much.

This book brought together a lot of the best characters from both of the previous books. The action in this book was non-stop, as Yelena faced one horrible situation after another.

I am torn about this book - I really did like it. Despite some of the issues I had with the book, I raced right though it, it just wasn't as good as the other two. However, it is nice to see how everything ended and to enjoy the adventure of how Yelena learns to counter her most fearsome enemy yet, the Fire Warper. All in all, a good book and worth the read, especially if you have read the other two in the series.

posted by Coreena on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for "Unicorns, I Love Them!"

    Fire Study, the final installment of the Study trilogy, was better than Magic Study, but still not as good as Poison Study. First of all, I like that Valek was more of an important character here than in Magic Study. Valek is awesome. All the other characters are great too, and not even the insignificant characters are flat or boring. And over the course of three books, you get to see the characters developing and maturing while still staying the same people. Character development is rare in YA books nowadays, so I'm happy whenever I find it. One of the things I liked the most about this last book is that we finally learn about the Commander's "mutation"! I finished Magic Study feeling very confused about him, and thought that the author would decide to keep the truth about the "mutation" a mystery. So I was very thankful that we were given an explanation! Also, while Snyder is no Kimberly Derting, she's great at writing suspense. I had to pull a caffeine-fueled all-nighter for this book because I HAD to know what would happen next! And my efforts were not in vain. The twist at the end was unpredictable and completely original! I found the concept of putting souls inside glass fascinating. My only criticism is that it would have been nice to learn more about the Fire Warper, half the book long I was confused to who he even was! But other than that, Fire Study was a great ending to a great series! I'll be looking forward to reading Opal's story (the Glass series).

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    FIRE STUDY is a magical tale

    After being raised in the Territory of Ixia and having gained the trust of Commander Ambrose and the love of his second in command Valek, Yelena returns to her homeland Sitia to study magic. Belonging to both countries, Yelena wants to become the liaison so that neither place will war against the other. Her studies are once again interrupted when she goes to find Ferde the Soulstealer and Cahill the pretender to the Ixian throne.------------ It is believed they are hiding in the Avibian Plains where the Sanseed Clan (Yelena¿s cosins) live. A splinter group of the clan has turned to the forbidden blood magic and Storyweavers dub them Vermin whereas they call themselves the Daviian Clan. Their mysterious leader¿s goal is to rule Sitia no outsider has seen him. The Vermin take control of the Sitia government and prepare to conquer Ixia. Yelena and her Ixian lover Valek hope to prevent the carnage, but to succeed she must make a promise that will keep the pair of lovers separated forever.------------------ FIRE STUDY is a magical tale filled with intrigue, double crosses, and duplicity and stars a beleaguered heroine who swims in treacherous waters in order to stop a bloody war from occurring as both countries are dear to her. Valek loves Yelena beyond reason and will do almost anything to help her yet he is also a sexy alpha male who will not allow the woman who owns his heart walk all over him. Yelena loves him too and has started to get close with her family but first she must stop an evil person from destroying her birthplace before getting involved in personal matters.------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Honest review

    The first book in this series,Poisin Study, was absolutely amazing, it held my attention the whole book. The second was great also, but I wanot impressed with this book. Not only was it boring, but there was no big difference from the beginning and the end. At the beginning she knew she was a Soulfinder and at the end she knew she was a soulfinder. From the previous two book you would think Yelena would have caught on faster but...no...no she didnt. I usually finish reading a book within a day, well this took me 5 months. Not impressed Maria not impressed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Exciting Conclusion

    This is the final book in the Study series. As much as I loved these books, this one was my least favorite. I still like Yelena and think that she is a great character, along with Valek, but this book just did not come together in the same way.

    Snyder is still very good at creating excitement, this book starts off quite exciting and she has a knack for cliffhanger ending chapters. However, I found this book to be a bit repetitive with many of the details. I also found Snyder spent a lot of time filling in background from the other books. Sometimes this was seamless, but sometimes it felt like a bit much.

    This book brought together a lot of the best characters from both of the previous books. The action in this book was non-stop, as Yelena faced one horrible situation after another.

    I am torn about this book - I really did like it. Despite some of the issues I had with the book, I raced right though it, it just wasn't as good as the other two. However, it is nice to see how everything ended and to enjoy the adventure of how Yelena learns to counter her most fearsome enemy yet, the Fire Warper. All in all, a good book and worth the read, especially if you have read the other two in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good Read

    I picked up this book because it was recommended to me by my sister. I was pleasently surprised by it. Ms. Snyder really brought her characters to life. I cried, I laughed, I didn't want the book to end. I felt like I was with Yelena the entire way throught the book. This is a must read for anyone who likes a little romance, a lot of adventure, and a lot of mischief.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    dang good

    this book was siply lovely, my only greivences are that the ending is a little anticlimactic, and some times the plot was a bit confusing... but other than that this book is a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Maria V. Snyder is successful yet again.

    The much anticipated third book in her Study series, Fire Study does not disappoint. Fire Study picks up where Magic Study left off, returning to Yelena at the Citadel in Sitia, and the escape of Ferde, the Soulstealer. Yelena, awaiting a decision by the Sitian Council on her further training as a Soulfinder, receives a message from her Story Weaver that Ferde may have been spotted on a path dangerously close to Yelena's family. Fearing for the safety of their family, Yelena and her brother Leif leave the Citadel to pursue Ferde. They soon encounter powers much stronger and more horrifying than Ferde and his soulstealing. A rogue clan are using the Kirikawa ritual of blood magic -- taking the beating heart out of a person and drinking their hearts blood -- to gain magical power. Worse still, this rogue clan has been gaining power with the help of someone on the inside of the Citadel to take control of Sitia and to wage war on Ixia, led by the Fire Warper, who uses Yelena's fear of her powers and inability to use her magic to control fire, to hinder her. With the help of Valek, Jango, and Ari, Yelena and Leif work to find a way to stop the rogue clan from killing, taking over Sitia, and waging war on Ixia. As ever, Snyder's world and characters are wonderfully realized and vivid. She pulls the reader in and keeps her spellbound with suspense, twists, and of course the romance between Yelena and Valek. At times Snyder shies away from delving deeper into the more intensely emotional moments for Yelena, but her reasons for doing so are fully justified by the end. In the hands of any other author, some of the plot elements during the search for Ferde would seem trite and cliche but Snyder weaves them into her story, so that every move by every character is there for a reason and contributes to the story. And that is a gift of a true Story Weaver. I highly recommend Fire Study. But if you have not yet read any of the Study books, begin with Poison Study. I promise you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    A page turner!

    I really liked this book, it had a more serious feel to it, it also went deeper into the relationship between Yelena and Valek, I loved how everything turned out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    LOVE maria v. snyder

    I have yet to read a book by maria v. snyder that i didn't like. She has an excellent story line, character developement, and a great writing style. She's really becoming one of my favorite authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Recommend

    A perfect trilogy! Action, mystery, suspense, humor, saddness and romance. I loved the chatactersi, which were highly developed. The reader got to know each one. Hopefully, a movie will come out of it!
    I definately recommend this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Brilliant

    Absolutely adore the whole series. Definitely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Five stars

    Best book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    This book is my least favorite out of the three. Snyder's writin

    This book is my least favorite out of the three. Snyder's writing is still in it's begging stages, but the concept and story line are still good enough to pull me into Yelena's world. I still reccomend this book if your looking for a story you can get lost in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Pretty good

    Pretty good ending... but hate to see it end i will miss you yelena and valek.... ohh and i wont forget ari and janco

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Hi

    It is one of my faverite book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Excellent series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Awesome Dystopian Series

    Love this book! I've read the three books in the series about 5 times already. The first book, "Poison Study", hooks you from the very beginning by getting you to identify and pity the heroine, despite her past. "Magic Study" has the same quick-paced plot, laced with intense twists and turns, just like the first book. And "Fire Study" is just as intense, tying it all together. The reader really connects with the Heroine, Yelena, in a way that most novelists can't anymore: emotionally. I find myself looking for Snyder's characters in many of the books I read now, but nothing really compares. I never read anything "science-fiction/fantasy" until I picked up this series. It's opened me to a whole new world of things other than the H.G. Wells/Bradbury/Asimov types of sci-fi.

    If you like dystopian novels, realistic fantasy, a bit of science-fiction, or a mixture of all three, you're going to love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Intense

    From being a food taster, finding her long lost family, discovering her magical abilities and now a Soulfinder, Yelena has a lot to learn and an even powerful enemy to face than before. How will it end? Will Yelena save everyone in time? Familiar faces, friend and foe return and throughout the book Yelena questions who to trust and who is out to get her. Valek, Janco and especially Kiki are awesome characters. This was a fun, at times sad and adventure filled read to a really good trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A great book series-

    You will love this book series! This author is great and I am upset that this is the last book in the series, I want more. I love these books and you will too. This is the third book in the series, started with "Poison Study". In this third book, Yelena has to deal with a fire warper. It is dramatic and entertaining. These are not the typical kind of books I read but I m so glad a friend recommended them to me because I love them, one of the best series! You will not be disappointed in these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best New Trilogy

    I enjoyed the series but the first book was by far the best. Fire Study was slightly depressing with all the deaths and betrayals. It does not introduce very much new information about the overall storyline that anyone who had read the previous books could do without.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12