Customer Reviews for

A Fire Upon The Deep

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

I just finished reading this epic novel again and found it to be just as mind-expanding and exciting as it was 10 years ago. Vinge not only tells a gripping story (more than one, actually), but builds a galactic civilization that is compelling and creates aliens that ar...
I just finished reading this epic novel again and found it to be just as mind-expanding and exciting as it was 10 years ago. Vinge not only tells a gripping story (more than one, actually), but builds a galactic civilization that is compelling and creates aliens that are impressive to imagine. I've read SF avidly for almost 30 years and this book is at the top.

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bland like Day Old Bread

Yes, I agree with some of the reviews that Vinge is creative with his races. However, the writing style is utterly boring, at times cliche, and devoid of proper details that make the workings of the galaxy and beyond coherent. Also, the characters never have anything in...
Yes, I agree with some of the reviews that Vinge is creative with his races. However, the writing style is utterly boring, at times cliche, and devoid of proper details that make the workings of the galaxy and beyond coherent. Also, the characters never have anything interesting, humourous or profound to say and the same goes for the narrative and plot.
Overall, this book was a plebian disappointment that does not live up to its intriguing title (the best written words in the whole book) to say the least, as I had expected better based on the reviews and the Hugo award. Although not juvenile in writing style, better science fiction with more depth of both character and philosophy exists on the hard drives of college students' computers writing for their creative writing classes.

posted by 12688505 on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Bland like Day Old Bread

    Yes, I agree with some of the reviews that Vinge is creative with his races. However, the writing style is utterly boring, at times cliche, and devoid of proper details that make the workings of the galaxy and beyond coherent. Also, the characters never have anything interesting, humourous or profound to say and the same goes for the narrative and plot.
    Overall, this book was a plebian disappointment that does not live up to its intriguing title (the best written words in the whole book) to say the least, as I had expected better based on the reviews and the Hugo award. Although not juvenile in writing style, better science fiction with more depth of both character and philosophy exists on the hard drives of college students' computers writing for their creative writing classes.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    A great "idea" book

    As a fan of hard scifi, I found the creativity and believability of the societies in this novel to be by far its strongest point. The alien races were original and distinctly non-human, and their cultures and psychologies were well developed and thoughtful. The concept of intelligence being a function of location was interesting and unique, while still believable, and the structure of the universal society in the Beyond was quite interestingly, well, unstructured. All in all, a very imaginative and interesting setting.

    On the other hand, the writing style was little more than childish. It was obvious to me that the author was (as can be confirmed), a scientist and not a writer by profession. The book was dotted with unexpected changes in point of view and tacky informalities (for example, "and/or"), descriptions lacked any sense of elegance, and I should hope never to read an interjected "Hmm..." again.

    Even after all this, I would still recommend this book to someone who likes hard scifi, interesting aliens, or "idea" books, because the ideas are that good. If you can overlook some mediocre word assembly, this is still very much worth reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    One of my favorites

    I just finished reading this epic novel again and found it to be just as mind-expanding and exciting as it was 10 years ago. Vinge not only tells a gripping story (more than one, actually), but builds a galactic civilization that is compelling and creates aliens that are impressive to imagine. I've read SF avidly for almost 30 years and this book is at the top.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    Exemplary Fiction

    I've had, all my life, an unquenched interest in science fiction. As a kid, I thought often of building spaceships and traveling to far-off planets. I discovered A FIRE UPON THE DEEP once in my school library. My life-long interests were precisely met by the contents of the book. A grand space opera, perhaps to define all others. The story presents a good number of original ideas--from collective minds to galactic 'zones of thought'--as well as a darn good replete with believable characters of great variety. I've yet to come across a better novel in the years of steady reading since.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Awesome!

    This book was amazing, the way in which he invisioned the universe so unique and unexpected. After reading this I have read all of his other titles and they, too, were fantastic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2001

    Can't I give it 6 Stars?

    Absolutely one of the best SF books out there. I couldn't put it down. The alien races were outstanding in there complexity and the story keeps you on the edge of your seat. I look forward to reading Mr. Vinge's other works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2001

    The Best

    I just finished this book and had to come on-line to say it was one of the all time best SF novels I've ever read. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2000

    Awesome!

    This is the book I would take to a deserted island. A very detailed and original world-view, good charactorizations, a plot that rocks, and some of the coolest non-human sentients that you'll never see on TV.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Book!

    I bought this book after reading a brief synopsis on the web site i09. I am a fan of science fiction but it is just one genre of books that I like to read. This book will take its place among my all time favorites. The story was compelling and made the book hard to put down. The ideas and concepts Vernor Vinge presents in this book are unique and will have you thinking long after finishing the book. I can't recommend this book highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    An excellent Sci-Fi novel

    An excellent Sci-Fi novel. Set in a universe where technology differs depending on where you are. The Universe is separated into the Transcend, The Beyond, and Slow Space. An old enemy called the blight is accidentally let loose, and a ragtag team is trying to stop it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Instant hard scifi classic

    Best science fiction i have read in a long time. Equal to gregory benford at his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    More than a Space Opera

    Loved this story...the alen characters had enough novelty to be interesting, and speculatively thought-provoking about the natures of possible concious beings, but I also became attatched to them on a 'human' level. These were embedded in a well-paced plot of suspense and adventure.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Riveting! WARNING: Extremely Nerdy

    Excellent writing, believable characters, and aliens that are more than one-dimensional humans with prosthetic pieces on their heads. Suspense, humor, action, politics, and philosophy all seamlessly interwoven into a narrative that is both personal and epic. Vernor Vinge really stretches the popular imagination with some of his ideas, while simultaneously poking fun at a culture that seeks ever more expansive realms of knowledge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Exceptionally original - worth the read!

    As a long time sci-fi reader, it is the exception to come across a truly original story idea, especially one that spans our galaxy as this one does. Well-developed characters, from human to alien, a story that captured my imagination from the first few pages, and well written to boot. A true pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Out-there Entertainment

    This was an enjoyable read, my first by Vernor Vinge. It took a while to grasp what was happening, and in many ways, I'm still not certain about some of the main concepts surrounding the antagonist. Nonetheless, I found myself drawn to read on and hard to put down. If you're looking for a wildly fantastic futuristic vision of the universe with some outrageously creative alien species delivered in a suspensful and highly original story, then this book is for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2000

    A well written sci-fi novel

    Keeps you on the edge of your seat as the rescue continues for kids caught in a crazy world governed by dog like people that can clone and combine themselves into collectives for survival and enhancement. Venge touches on civilizational achievements that may have been taken for granted before. It's a real cliff hanger that makes it hard not to look ahead to see what happens!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3