BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Fire Within (The Last Dragon Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(266)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Dragon lover's #1 book!!!

This is a great book! Apparently in the other reviews they thought it was the worst book ever and that it only talked about squirrels and not dragons well if you read this one first then Icefire then you will see how the squirrels and dragons are related and that in Ice...
This is a great book! Apparently in the other reviews they thought it was the worst book ever and that it only talked about squirrels and not dragons well if you read this one first then Icefire then you will see how the squirrels and dragons are related and that in Icefire there is alot more about dragons. I found this book very interesting for all readers and I can't wait for Firestar. Read this book and if you have, read Icefire even if you don't want to. Its great!

posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Fire within

Awesome great amazing book!!!!!!!!

posted by 18088461 on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 378 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Lacked a few things, but it was a good book.

    The main character, David, couldn't be anymore unintelligent and annoying with his sarcastic remarks. This book is mainly about dragons, but has too many squirrels in it that it just depresses the reader. The reason David isn't so smart is because he is 20 and doesn't know what might have caused Conker (a squirrel) to have his eye hurt. Me being a few years younger than this character, guessed right away the answer long before I got to the part! At the beginning of the book, the author didn't do a good job on describing the characters. I never knew David's eye color, only his hair color which is brown. The facial features were never brought up and later on in the book I discovered Lucy actually had red hair and green eyes. It may seem the squirrels are the main plot since they are mentioned so much throughout the book and almost every chapter says something about the squirrels, but that is only a subplot. But in a way the plot of squirrels helps you find out the ability of Gadzooks (David's clay dragon) and what the dragons are capable of. So adding squirrels to the story wasn't that bad and even showed Lucy's childish nature which I enjoyed, but too much was added that it completely fogged up the dragons. Then the story started to get interesting at page 103 and slowly came back to not interesting because of the squirrels. Then at page 166 the story really gets interesting as more dragons and the mystery behind them comes into view and a new character is introduced. From then on the main plot and story picks up and gets good. So if you plan on reading this book look forward to page 166. But wait! One more thing I didn't type in this review is that like The city of Ember (a different book) it isn't written very well. It does have a reason for this since it was for ages around 10 but the author could have been a bit more literate. All in all, this was a great book. It started out really bad, but got very interesting and I'm glad I read the whole book before giving up halfway due to too many squirrels as a few other reviewers had done. This book is NOT for people who are in their teens. 12 year olds would notice how poorly written this book is and might not like it. Dragon fans will most likely get very disappointed with the squirrels (but the story NEEDED the squirrles) if you are thinking wether or not to read it, just go to your library and try it out. Keep reading until you get to the end, THEN base your opinion on it.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Its great so far

    Its really good so far. My friend Hanna read this book so Id figure i would read it because most of the books she reads are really good. Hanna is now reading Icefire.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Great

    Loved reading it but finished it in two days

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Awesome book

    All peoplho love dragons and fantasy/fiction should read

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved it
    A+++++++++++++++++ for the athour
    Love the dragons and squirells

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Worth buying for your kid.

    Good book and I love his Dragon Chronicles book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    How many pages???????

    I only got the sample (and i loved it) but can someone pleaz tell me how many pages r in the book? Weather its a nook book or the actual book i just need to know how many pages it has in it. Start by sayin dear mady

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Anonymous is pranked read to be wowed

    It was a great book really lovely it was swell yes yes it was i loved it so much i finished it in 1 second im gyu and this was prank reivew if you just read this you just got pranked ha ha ha this reivew was approved with nickolodean thank you for getting praned to claim your prize call 555-555-5555 yep call it to get a free piece of paper if you callef it you got pranked again we rock you are l m f a o my favorite band prank reivew has been approved

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Amazing book

    The book might not be what your expecting but as the series goes on it gets a lot better dont judge the series by one book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    I luv it and i am only 10 the best book made

    This book makes me curious and is great 4 5th graders i enjoyed the book and is looking forward 2 read the next book in its series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Anonymus

    I loved this book. Very, very entertaining! I loved it so much I created my own Pennykettle dragon. Her name is Gail, she is a music dragon and she only listens to me. You should make up your own dragon, too!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Wow.

    That book made my completely speechless. But then again, I'm talking right now!;)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Okay book

    This book was ok but it talked to much about squirels the next book is awsome so read the first book or the next on dosn't make sense

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    OMG

    Good book wait no AWESOME BOOK out of a 1-10 i rate it a 999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999918999999000000000000000000099887$637282929203837493946393933937392726354749403838394749303738493820373938383930373939383028373946482936485836474836393909080076525527394948372293939389493939292929292838339292927393939393939393838392929292292929292929292929292929290229 x 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 x 8888949474759575950585484959595846283930384

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Good

    Great plot and amazing detail i could read it over and over again try this book and you'll be amazed great read for anyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Nacroblicx The Nacroblicx Nacroblicx

    Now I understand why some people are confused and disappointed by the first book (whats with the squirrels, I thought there would be more about dragons) but I have read all of the books and trust me it gets much better I promise. So instead of wimping out at the first chapter give the series a chance... unless your scared >:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Atop

    STOP USING THINGS LIKE NUMBERS AND THINGS THAT ARE MISSING VOWELS AND NOT CAPTALIZED NAMES AND LETERS AND ONLY YOU ARE NOT TEXTING YOU KNOW

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Ok

    This book is ok because it talks alot bout squirrls read it the nxt books r amazin

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Read for the rest.

    Although this book bored me I would have read it again because the next book in the series is really a work of art. So, if you like good books this one sets the stage for a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    An open door

    This book is creative, amazing and overall imaginative! It opens another door to the creative mind!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 378 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19