Customer Reviews for

The Fire Within (The Last Dragon Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 372 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Dragon lover's #1 book!!!

This is a great book! Apparently in the other reviews they thought it was the worst book ever and that it only talked about squirrels and not dragons well if you read this one first then Icefire then you will see how the squirrels and dragons are related and that in Ice...
This is a great book! Apparently in the other reviews they thought it was the worst book ever and that it only talked about squirrels and not dragons well if you read this one first then Icefire then you will see how the squirrels and dragons are related and that in Icefire there is alot more about dragons. I found this book very interesting for all readers and I can't wait for Firestar. Read this book and if you have, read Icefire even if you don't want to. Its great!

posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Fire within

Awesome great amazing book!!!!!!!!

posted by 18088461 on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    Bad Book

    This book has nothing 2 do with dragons at all. It has to deal with squirrels mainly, and the dragons basicly do nothing.

    5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Atop

    STOP USING THINGS LIKE NUMBERS AND THINGS THAT ARE MISSING VOWELS AND NOT CAPTALIZED NAMES AND LETERS AND ONLY YOU ARE NOT TEXTING YOU KNOW

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2005

    what the heck?

    This book was the worst book I have ever read. The whole 'talking squirrel' thing was totally strange and gave me freakish dreams about evil squirrels. I would say this book was written for little kids or people who don't care what book they take off the shelf. My mom made a huge mistake in getting this book for me.(And plus, there are a whole lot better dragon themed books out there than this one!) Pottery dragons coming to life? No, thanks, Chris D'Lacey. I strongly advise you to get a little more serious than that.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Wow this book epically sucks.

    Read it when i was little and it was kk. Read the first ten chapters 4 years later and discovered just how badly this book sucks. nothing is explained and thw characters dont develop at ALL! And has anyone noticed just how rude David is? WORST TENANT EVER! Total WASTE of time! Sucks worse than barney!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    by GamerGirl

    The Fire Within is a lovely story about tree-huggers who happen to be the off spring of dragons. (Caution: Sarcasm in use.) I'm sure that if I were eight I'd find this fasinating.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    A bit to little about squrriels

    I loved the book but it was mainly about squrriels not dragons really?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Hoping

    I wish i had that book...and the whole series...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Hrrrrrrr

    Wish i had a physical copy of the entire series... so i could BURN IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    The Critic

    It is about a squirrle named Conker an ceramic dragons, a guy named david and his ceramic dragon. Bad bad book for older people. Good good book for 4th and 5th graders maybe even 3rd but not 8th graders.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Bo

    Booopooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Book = STUPID

    BORING WORST BOOK EVER

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Sombody tell me is this book worth buying

    I havent read it yet

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    I didnt like it

    I didnt like it it laked description and exitement it was bad ive read better way better rick riordans books are way better i suggest them now i type random letters

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    awful

    the book is supposed to be about dragons. Why then is the whole story about squirrels?? A bad beginning to a bad series.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2006

    YUCK!

    How could you say that this was the best dragon book ever? It stinks! I would know I have read at least 100 dragon books and am writing one myself. What is up with the stinking squirrels?? I thought it was about dragons not stinking squirrels!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    A reviewer

    this book stunk for than my grandma's toe jam, I mean awesome cover and all but horrible book. Who gives a care bout stinkin squirells. When dragons rock 4 life.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    Not about Dragons

    This book stunk big time. By the cover I expected it to be about dragons, but it was just about stupid clay dragons and squirles. This book, in my opinion, is not worth the time or money. Spend your money on a better book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    If only you could give a negatve amount of stars...

    This book was the absolute worst book ever. I read it when school got out last summer, to start the summer off with a good story with an intriguing cover. However, I felt myself cringing in disgust as I got further into the story. It is about clay dragons that are magically 'alive' and a girl obsessed with squirrels. She has a psycotic neighbor named Mr. Bacon, who is out to get the girl's precious squirrels. She and her mother are housing a college student, who, by the end of the books, quakes in anger when a squirrel bullies another. I chucked this book across the room when I finished it. Reading this book was the worst part of my summer. It is not worth reading unless you adore squirrels. The Fire Within? How about The Scarily Obsessed Girl and Her Squirrels Within?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    This was a terrible book

    My friends and I picked out this book to read as a group, because it sounded like a fantasy about magical dragons and mysteries, with a really great cover. But as we read into the book, we sadly realized that it was about squirrels. Just a stupid, one-eyed squirrel. The 'mystery' in this story was why the squirrels left and how the stupid one-eyed squirrel Conker lost kis eye. Only at the very end was there a mention of dragons, and it went like 'the dragons are dying, get the fire tear.' I feel that no one should ever have to read this book. It does not deserve its 4 star average. My friends and I believe that squirrels have no place in a fantasy book. I think this book was the absolute worst book ever. I reccomend that you try Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke if you want a good book that is actually about dragons, or The Wish List and the Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer if you want good fantasy.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    BLAH!

    I absolutly hated this book! I opened it up, thinking,'Wow! if the cover is this good, the book can't be that bad!' I WAS WRONG!!It had nothing to do with dragons at all. It talked more about a squirrel with 1 eye than dragons. If I were you, I wouldn't consider reading this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2