Customer Reviews for

Fire and Ice (Liam Campbell Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 277 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great Author got me hooked

The very first book I found by chance by this author. Got me hooked and now I"m looking for everything from this author. Puts you right in the story and keeps you turning the pages in suspence. Wish all books by this author would be formated for the nook book.

posted by Sutterbug on February 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Cursing a put off.

Language was a put off for me on this book. Not a fan of a book that constantly uses the Lord's name in vain. Also wonder if this author is atheist. Not a bad story but won't purchase another.

posted by KGSis on March 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Cursing a put off.

    Language was a put off for me on this book. Not a fan of a book that constantly uses the Lord's name in vain. Also wonder if this author is atheist. Not a bad story but won't purchase another.

    17 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Liam Campbell is an Alaskan state trooper, whose wife and son we

    Liam Campbell is an Alaskan state trooper, whose wife and son were hit by a drunk driver.  His son was killed and his wife is in a coma. He has been demoted at his previous posting, and is sent to the small community of Newenham where he is immediately faced with a murder at the airport. The murder weapon is a plane propeller. His old flame Wy Chousinard lives here and is a pilot who flies out of the airport. Liam hasn't seen her in a few years and seems to hope to pick up where they left off. 




    The story line could have been good but, for me, so many deaths so quickly didn't feel right.  There was also an awful lot of detail about Alaska's coastline and fishing which were interesting but went on much too long.




    The ending was so abrupt that I kept wanting to turn the pages to see if there was more.  That's really hard to do with an ereader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    LANGUAGE!

    If there was some way to block out the bad language this book would be rated 3 or 4 stars. I finally had to start previewing the page so I could manage to TRY and not say the Lords name in vain. You wouldnt believe how hard it was NOT to say it in your mind!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    Slow

    I did eventually make it through this book, but it started out so slow I had to force myself to continue reading. The end got better, but I'm not sure that I was enough to purchase this author in the future.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Cheaper than sleeping pills, but not worth 99 cents!

    After reading so many rave reviews I couldn't wait to dive into this book. What a disappointment! I even double-checked to make sure I was reading the correct "Fire and Ice" since there are other books with the same title. I have the correct book, but I can find nothing to rave about. I've slogged my way through to the halfway mark and enough is enough. It's in my Nook archive now. I'll pull it out again some night when I'm having trouble falling asleep. I'm giving it 2 stars instead of 1 because at 99 cents Fire and Ice is cheaper than sleeping pills and every bit as effective. What a yawner!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1