Customer Reviews for

Fire and Ice (Joanna Brady Series #14 / J. P. Beaumont Series #19)

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

another success for Jance

This was a good read. I cared about the story and the characters, and appreciate the care to detail that Jance gives both.

posted by 4cille on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bad

I did not like this book it was stupid but i hope you like it

posted by 11083945 on March 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    another success for Jance

    This was a good read. I cared about the story and the characters, and appreciate the care to detail that Jance gives both.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Skillful Writing

    J.A. Jance books have always had engaging characters and plots. Her latest books show more complex plots skillfully handled. Readers know each of her characters well and we look forward to another visit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Good Beau & Brady Mystery!!!

    Fire And Ice: A Beaumont And Brady Novel by J.A. Jance

    This is the second Beau and Brady novel and it went well, but I thought the two would get together sooner than they did in this book. Beau is on a case in the Seattle area that surrounds a missing woman from Bisbee, that has been found murdered in a dense forested area by Cle Elum. The one real break in the case, was that the murderer was afraid of pulling teeth, as the other 5 women were found without any teeth. Because this dead woman was from Bisbee, Joanna is brought in on the case, also because she was related to one of Joanna's homicide detectives. Since Joanna is working on a suscpicious hit and run accident in an out-of-the way ATV Recreation spot, she and her department are thinking the two cases are connected. Then, Joanna gets involved in a hotly contested abuse case at an Alzheimers Home that causes a patient to go missing and a mysterious death to occur. Joanna is certain a couple bodies will be needed to be exhumed to solve this case. I enjoy the humor and quirkiness of the townsfolk in Bisbee that I've come to think of as family, but Joanna's new ME I can sure do without as does the rest of the Sheriff's Department. This is the first book I've read, I believe, where the conversation switches from third person to first person, which can tend to get confusing, but on a whole, I would recommend reading Jance's highly entertaining suspense novels, esp Joanna's and Ali's.

    Forever Friends Rating 4 Stars by Teri
    Until Next Time, See You Around The Book Nook.

    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    Pub. Date: July 2009
    ISBN-13: 9780061239229
    352pp
    Series: Joanna Brady Series, #14
    Available in eBook$9.99

    More Formats Online Price
    Paperback - Large Print - Large Print $20.79
    Compact Disc - Unabridged, 9 CDs/10.5 Hours $31.99

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Easy reading for a lazy afternoon

    Once you start reading the Joanna Brady and J P Beaumont series you are hooked. If you start at the beginning of the series, you see the characters lives and careers progress. Very enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2014

    Great addition to the series!

    I'm loving this whole series as the characters evolve in their lives and mostly that it's not like each book happens exactly after the other.. makes the stress of their lives seem more plausible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Interesting novel.

    Here, Joanna Brady and J.P. Beaumontn-two main characters in two of Jances' two series - interact to solve crimes that end up in a final conflict and resolution. Not my favorite Joanna Brady novel, but worth the read. Only one more in the series until I finish reading all of the Joanna Brady series. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    J.A. Jance books have always had engaging characters and plots.

    J.A. Jance books have always had engaging characters and plots. Her latest books show more complex plots skillfully handled. Readers know each of her characters well and we look forward to another visit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    JP & Joanna Back Again

    Great storyline with multiple story lines that intersect albeit briefly in the world or JP and Brady. Nice links to prior story that featured this terrific law enforcement duo out of Seattle and Brisbee, AZ. Lot's on interesting crimes and interwoven pattern and get character development of the many people whom these crimes effect. In the end everything is nicely pulled together and JP and Joanna save the day and move on to their separate lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Very good but confusing

    I have read all of the Joanna Brady Series and I can't wait for the next one, but Fire and Ice, although it was a great read, the story line was a little confusing as it jumped back and forth between J.P. and Joanna. I would still recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    Jance does it again

    I have all of Jance's books and enjoy them immensely. Fire & Ice is a combined novel of two favorite characters. The connection works but I'd rather have read two separate novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2