Customer Reviews for

Fire at Midnight

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant Debut Novel**********

Ms Wilkinson skillfully blends history, intrigue, romance, suspense, and a happy ending for the hero, the dashingly handsome Sebastien, and our plucky, beautiful, brave and loyal heroine, Rachael. One of the most interesting reads to date, this novel includes a brief ...
Ms Wilkinson skillfully blends history, intrigue, romance, suspense, and a happy ending for the hero, the dashingly handsome Sebastien, and our plucky, beautiful, brave and loyal heroine, Rachael. One of the most interesting reads to date, this novel includes a brief history in the back of the book of the Eddystone Light, a famous lighthouse that was built and rebuilt by the architecht, Henry Winstanley, who was not only the buildings designer, but also in inventor of some repute. All the characters are totally believable, from Rachael's friend, Tarry and his father, to Sebastien's loyal friend, the Dane. Add the frighteningly souless, lapdog of evil, Emerald, and Victor, Rachael's uncle, intent to replace the heirs, and you have the perfect recipe for everything to keep you turning the pages. This was a delightful read, and I can't wait for the next book,Stolen Promise to come out in March 2010. Good luck to this excellent new voice.

posted by AGM on March 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not my cuppa tea.

I know that others have enjoyed this title, which is how I came to read it. However, I was unable to fully engage in the story. It never became real, the characters lacked quircky elements of humanity, and Rachel, the heroine, wasn't compelling to me.

posted by SheChehade on July 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    Brilliant Debut Novel**********

    Ms Wilkinson skillfully blends history, intrigue, romance, suspense, and a happy ending for the hero, the dashingly handsome Sebastien, and our plucky, beautiful, brave and loyal heroine, Rachael. One of the most interesting reads to date, this novel includes a brief history in the back of the book of the Eddystone Light, a famous lighthouse that was built and rebuilt by the architecht, Henry Winstanley, who was not only the buildings designer, but also in inventor of some repute. All the characters are totally believable, from Rachael's friend, Tarry and his father, to Sebastien's loyal friend, the Dane. Add the frighteningly souless, lapdog of evil, Emerald, and Victor, Rachael's uncle, intent to replace the heirs, and you have the perfect recipe for everything to keep you turning the pages. This was a delightful read, and I can't wait for the next book,Stolen Promise to come out in March 2010. Good luck to this excellent new voice.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    will enjoy this fine early eighteenth century historical thanks to deep characterizations that hopefully include sequels.

    In 1703, her odious Uncle Victor Brightmore with the help of Dr. Elliot Macgulay places his eighteen year old niece Rachael Penrose in Bedlam Insane Asylum to keep her out of the way of his stealing her younger brother¿s inheritance. To insure his plan goes without a hitch Victor has abducted his nephew James and has spread rumors that Rachel told the authorities about smugglers like Frenchman Sebastien Falconer. Victor leads a more vicious smuggling crew than that of Sebastian.<BR/><BR/>Whereas Sebastien searches for Rachel, John Wyatt, a pal of her friend Tarry Morgan, breaks her out of asylum. However nine days and drugs have taken their toll so when he realizes they are followed, he places her in another carriage so that he can divert Victor¿s<BR/>thugs from her. Sebastien takes the woman to his isolated home only to learn his ailing guest is Rachel. She escapes to London where Tarry sent James after rescuing him. There she meets Sebastien¿s English customs officer estranged twin Jacques while Victor has John killed and the house belonging to Tarry¿s father burned to the ground. Soon all will converge in danger and love.<BR/><BR/>FIRE AT MIDNIGHT is an exciting Georgian romantic suspense starring a strong lead couple and a solid support cast. Though he has no redeeming quality in some ways the ultra villain Victor steals the show as his plots and actions are diabolical and deadly even when he is off the page. The rest of the secondary characters are also developed enough to either enhance the story line or the understanding of the two stars; especially Tarry who wants to be a hero to his beloved friend and to his larger than life father, but though he tries he lacks the skills. Fans will enjoy this fine early eighteenth century historical thanks to deep characterizations that hopefully include sequels.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    Thoroughly entertaining

    Some of the things I love in a good story are interesting characters, a good love story, adventure, and interesting settings. Lisa Wilkinson's Fire at Midnight delivers all of the above in abundance with a gift for descriptive prose that pulls you right into the story and sweeps you along from the cells of Bedlam to the storm of the century without ever slighting characterization. The main protagonists were likeable and believable for their time period, and at least one of the secondary characters deserves a story of his own. I was left wondering what adventures what befall them next. Fire at Midnight was a real page turner that gripped me from the beginning, kept me engrossed until the end, and left me wanting more, thus earning a 5 stars from me and a place on my keeper shelf.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Truely Captivating

    What a wonderful novel, it is just amazing that it was free! It is a must read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    John Burnit

    Excellent book, well worth reading

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Wonderful!!! Would've paid for the book. Thank you further free

    Wonderful!!! Would've paid for the book. Thank you further free read. Highly recommended! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Amazing Read

    Lisa Marie Wilkinson blends amazing romance with hair raising adventure. This story keeps you interested and curious till the last page. A definite must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    great book

    loved the history behind it. great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommed

    Read it last weekend couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    TRAINING HOLLOW

    Ashclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Loved it

    The love hate relationship between the characters were great. I don't think she went overboard on the details of the relationshp between the sheets. Some books give me TMI.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Beautiful

    Loved this book. Would be nice to see it continue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Great book

    I really enjoyed it,would like to read more from this auther

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    highly recommended

    I thought this book was very touching. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Good reading

    Story had complicated intertwining of characters...had to pay attention, and difficult to put it down. Definitely enjoyable, and including historical facts to make more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Cool

    I like it alot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2