Customer Reviews for

The Fire in Ember: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Emberstar

    He sat and waited patiently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Keeper

    This book Fire in Ember is a keeper. I could not put my nook down. I recomend the book to all teens and higher. The little kids would be too young. Amazing book worth the cost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    A breath taking book!

    It was one of my favorite books thay i have read in a long time,i wished it would never end! I couldnt put my nook down,i would put my nook under my seat when we went out to eat and read pretending to listen to the conversation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    "The Fire in Ember" is a keeper!

    Award-winning author DiAnn Mills takes readers back to northern Colorado for her latest release, "The Fire in Ember." A Western romantic adventure, the book combines faith, hope and love within an intense story of rustlers, relatives and secrets.John Timmons breaks up a lynching in his role as deputy. He and his family give shelter to the ragtag boy he rescued from the noose. They try to learn why this likeable fellow won't give them any information other than the name "Bert." One secret is quickly revealed: the young boy turns out to be a teen-aged girl. Cleaned up and appropriately dressed, Bert turns out to be pretty and a hard worker. Trust seems to build between Bert and the Timmons family members, but her secrets keep getting in the way. Will John discover that Bert is a criminal and arrest her? Will Bert's secrets drive her to run away and leave the only place she has ever known acceptance? Can John and his fellow law officers solve the rash of robberies and murders spreading over the area before more violence takes place?Set in 1888, the story takes place in Rock Falls, a town in the foothills of the Rockies. Readers first met John Timmons in "A Woman Called Sage," as a rash 18-year-old set on rescuing his youngest brother from kidnappers and avenging his father's murder. Now 23, John has functioned as the man of the family. Readers who have enjoyed "Sage" will recognize several characters, although readers who missed "Sage" will not be hindered in their enjoyment of "Ember."Mills prides herself on delivering an adventure in her books and she accomplishes that goal with "The Fire in Ember." She has crafted a book suitable for anyone who enjoys Westerns, mysteries, romances or inspirational fiction. While there is some violence, most of it takes place off-scene. The characters are multi-faceted and we watch them grow through the book.Don't miss "The Fire in Ember." Refresh yourself in the beauty of Colorado and the delightful fiction of an accomplished author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Another Winner!

    The Fire In Ember is a historical romance that transports the reader to the old west where life was filled with hard work, hot days and if one was lucky, the loving care of family to come home to at the end of the day. Bert wasn't one of those lucky ones and when John Timmons found her, she was dressed as a boy and about to be hung for horse stealing! He saves her and takes her home but he has no ideal what he's let himself in for! This novel is the second book in Ms. Mills Western Series and I enjoyed it as much as I did her first one, A Woman Called Sage. The Fire in Ember is rich with faith, romance and suspense! The plot kept me guessing and on my toes till the end of the book. I came away with a smile on my face from reading this wonderful romance. Many thanks to Kim at Nancy Berland Public Relations for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for a review on this blog. My review is based on my honest impressions of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another winner from Mills

    Trying to right a wrong by her ruthless brothers, Ember attempts to return their stolen horse. Her good deed repays her with accusation of horse thieving and she is about to be hanged. Deputy John Timmons disrupts the hanging, rescues who he's told is a young boy named Bert. John takes Bert home to his mother and four brothers, tells Bert he must work on their farm four months for her horse stealing. When the boys prepare for their weekly bath in the creek, Bert must confess that she's a seventeen-year-old girl, which causes John emotions he's never experienced. John's mother takes Bert under her protective wing, knowing there must be more to Bert than Bert is willing to share. When cattle rustlers invade the area, Bert is suspected to be involved because of the secrecy she holds within her. Bert, whose real name is Ember, and the Timmons family reel from twists and turns until the end of the book. Especially when two of the Timmons boys fall for her. Strong characters and plausible plot. Another winner from Mills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Don't Miss DiAnn Mills latest release!

    Award-winning author DiAnn Mills takes readers back to northern Colorado for her latest release, "The Fire in Ember." A Western romantic adventure, the book combines faith, hope and love within an intense story of rustlers, relatives and secrets.

    John Timmons breaks up a lynching in his role as deputy. He and his family give shelter to the ragtag boy he rescued from the noose. They try to learn why this likeable fellow won't give them any information other than the name "Bert."

    One secret is quickly revealed: the young boy turns out to be a teen-aged girl. Cleaned up and appropriately dressed, Bert turns out to be pretty and a hard worker. Trust seems to build between Bert and the Timmons family members, but her secrets keep getting in the way.

    Will John discover that Bert is a criminal and arrest her? Will Bert's secrets drive her to run away and leave the only place she has ever known acceptance? Can John and his fellow law officers solve the rash of robberies and murders spreading over the area before more violence takes place?

    Set in 1888, the story takes place in Rock Falls, a town in the foothills of the Rockies. Readers first met John Timmons in "A Woman Called Sage," as a rash 18-year-old set on rescuing his youngest brother from kidnappers and avenging his father's murder. Now 23, John has functioned as the man of the family. Readers who have enjoyed "Sage" will recognize several characters, although readers who missed "Sage" will not be hindered in their enjoyment of "Ember."

    Mills prides herself on delivering an adventure in her books and she accomplishes that goal with "The Fire in Ember." She has crafted a book suitable for anyone who enjoys Westerns, mysteries, romances or inspirational fiction. While there is some violence, most of it takes place off-scene. The characters are multi-faceted and we watch them grow through the book.

    Don't miss "The Fire in Ember." Refresh yourself in the beauty of Colorado and the delightful fiction of an accomplished author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great western romance

    In 1888 Colorado, Wide O ranch hands grab Bert. They argue with one of their party Ted Hawkins whether a boy, even a horse thief like him, should be hung. As blood flows in her mouth and one eye is shut from the beating, Bert thinks "A hanging is no place for a woman". She especially wonders about doing the right thing by returning a horse her brother Simon stole months ago from Victor Oberlander owner of Wide O. Upset Ted tells the others they are wrong before leaving

    The oldest of five brothers, 5T rancher John Timmons likes working the land. Ted tells John about the hanging. A deputy marshal as well as a rancher, John, with Ted at his side, prevents the hanging. John and Victor negotiate a deal in which the 5T rancher gets the kid and the Wide O owner gets $100 and breeding rights. Frustrated with an unwanted mouth to feed, John reads the eleven years old boy the riot act and how he will behave while paying off his debt to John. A needed bath after mucking leads to the gender truth and Bert is seventeen years old Ember who works at the house with the Timmons' matriarch Leah. Ember prefers to leave, but the family will not allow her to go. Meanwhile the second oldest sibling Evan can't take his eyes off her while John and Ember fall in love. However, besides his sibling problems, her sibling problems will soon arrive.

    This is a great western romance starring two wonderful protagonists and a strong supporting cast. Fast-paced from the opening hanging line and never slowing down as family troubles brew. Readers will appreciate the first Timmons tale and look forward for more action and romance starring John's younger brothers.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1