Customer Reviews for

Fire of the Raging Dragon

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don Brown does not dissappoint! It was a wonderful story that I

Don Brown does not dissappoint! It was a wonderful story that I have not seen done before. I always enjoy his storyline and the fact that I come away with more a greater knowledge of relevant World topics.

posted by mamanri on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Heavy on US history, Chinese government, the military, and curre

Heavy on US history, Chinese government, the military, and current American politics, Fire of the Raging Dragon was not an easy book for me. It's well written and well researched but lacks fluidity and definitely isn't composed in layman's terms. I have to be honest: a ...
Heavy on US history, Chinese government, the military, and current American politics, Fire of the Raging Dragon was not an easy book for me. It's well written and well researched but lacks fluidity and definitely isn't composed in layman's terms. I have to be honest: a lot of what I read just passed over my head. I didn't know what I was reading, which may be more a demonstration of my horrendous lack of knowledge on anything to do with the Navy, than a critique on the author's style.

I did not like the tone, probably why I couldn't get into this second installment of the Pacific Rim series. It's very emotionally detached and dry. All I remember of it is a jumble of sentences; I felt dyslexic for about 230 pages, then I finally succumbed and had to put it down. I was a bit intimidated, and thoroughly distressed, as this was the first book I've ever reviewed that I haven't been able to finish. I am disappointed in myself because usually I'm a very determined reader and usually have no problem finishing and heavily criticizing a book I didn't like, but I'm also patting myself on the back for even getting through three-fifths of it. This was not easy on me!

The riveting legal dilemma surrounding recent smoking-gun evidence on a previously only-rumored black market did impress me, though. The crimes against humanity and dismissal of human rights demonstrates the horrific lengths some people would do for money under the Communist rule. Further, the US's dependence on China leaves the country in stalemate; President Surber can either address a moral issue and get his daughter back, or cut diplomatic ties with China forever—leaving his country to ruin.

Faith in the Lord is a big topic in Don Brown's novel, but it's not overly preachy. Aside from the random shouts to God during attack or fighting scenes, the Christian aspect hardly bothered me. There's also a misplaced (and unrequited) romance between Stephanie and hotpants Commander Bobby Roddick. Not sure why this had to be included, seemed strange for a Christian "man's novel," but it's the only thing I could even remotely connect to.

Pros: Realistic, expert political setting // A sure hit for US Armed Forces and Chinese government enthusiasts

Cons: Hard to understand most of it // Dense // Unintelligible political and military slang, including coordinates and commands that sounded like code... and in fact were code // Stylistically unimpressive // Very very very slow-paced

Verdict: On top of the advanced legislative lingo, there are various related characters and subplots in Fire of the Raging Dragon, rather than one solid story; these are extremely confusing and hard to keep track of. Unless you're like the author and have served in the Navy or have some other design of substantial experience, you'll have trouble following it too. I can think of many people whom this book would have thrilled, but unfortunately I am not one of them. The only military stories I seem to be able to handle are the ones with the chiseled abs of emotionally damaged but rock-hard soldier heroes *swoon*.

2 out of 10 hearts (1 star): Not completely a lost cause, but could not finish; I did not enjoy this book.

Source: Complimentary copy provided by publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review (thank you!).

posted by TheStephanieLoves on April 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Don Brown does not dissappoint! It was a wonderful story that I

    Don Brown does not dissappoint! It was a wonderful story that I have not seen done before. I always enjoy his storyline and the fact that I come away with more a greater knowledge of relevant World topics.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly Recommended.

    If you want great writing and themes that will keep you turning the pages without R rated sexual scenes anything written by Brown is recommended. Raging Dragon will keep you reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Wow! I could NOT put this book down! It was full of action and s

    Wow! I could NOT put this book down! It was full of action and suspense. What a great story! I have read all of Don Brown's books and they are all fantastic!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Heavy on US history, Chinese government, the military, and curre

    Heavy on US history, Chinese government, the military, and current American politics, Fire of the Raging Dragon was not an easy book for me. It's well written and well researched but lacks fluidity and definitely isn't composed in layman's terms. I have to be honest: a lot of what I read just passed over my head. I didn't know what I was reading, which may be more a demonstration of my horrendous lack of knowledge on anything to do with the Navy, than a critique on the author's style.

    I did not like the tone, probably why I couldn't get into this second installment of the Pacific Rim series. It's very emotionally detached and dry. All I remember of it is a jumble of sentences; I felt dyslexic for about 230 pages, then I finally succumbed and had to put it down. I was a bit intimidated, and thoroughly distressed, as this was the first book I've ever reviewed that I haven't been able to finish. I am disappointed in myself because usually I'm a very determined reader and usually have no problem finishing and heavily criticizing a book I didn't like, but I'm also patting myself on the back for even getting through three-fifths of it. This was not easy on me!

    The riveting legal dilemma surrounding recent smoking-gun evidence on a previously only-rumored black market did impress me, though. The crimes against humanity and dismissal of human rights demonstrates the horrific lengths some people would do for money under the Communist rule. Further, the US's dependence on China leaves the country in stalemate; President Surber can either address a moral issue and get his daughter back, or cut diplomatic ties with China forever—leaving his country to ruin.

    Faith in the Lord is a big topic in Don Brown's novel, but it's not overly preachy. Aside from the random shouts to God during attack or fighting scenes, the Christian aspect hardly bothered me. There's also a misplaced (and unrequited) romance between Stephanie and hotpants Commander Bobby Roddick. Not sure why this had to be included, seemed strange for a Christian "man's novel," but it's the only thing I could even remotely connect to.

    Pros: Realistic, expert political setting // A sure hit for US Armed Forces and Chinese government enthusiasts

    Cons: Hard to understand most of it // Dense // Unintelligible political and military slang, including coordinates and commands that sounded like code... and in fact were code // Stylistically unimpressive // Very very very slow-paced

    Verdict: On top of the advanced legislative lingo, there are various related characters and subplots in Fire of the Raging Dragon, rather than one solid story; these are extremely confusing and hard to keep track of. Unless you're like the author and have served in the Navy or have some other design of substantial experience, you'll have trouble following it too. I can think of many people whom this book would have thrilled, but unfortunately I am not one of them. The only military stories I seem to be able to handle are the ones with the chiseled abs of emotionally damaged but rock-hard soldier heroes *swoon*.

    2 out of 10 hearts (1 star): Not completely a lost cause, but could not finish; I did not enjoy this book.

    Source: Complimentary copy provided by publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review (thank you!).

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    In order to further its national interests and nefarious designs

    In order to further its national interests and nefarious designs of world hegemony, the new power-hungry president of China, Tang Qhichet, also known as Raging Dragon, unleashes the might of its naval forces on the hapless Taiwanese forces on Itu Aba Island, which is located in the South China Sea. Beneath the floor of this sea, billions of gallons of natural gas wait to be mined. And China is hell-bent on mining this natural resource.

    Though the Chinese gained control of the Itu Aba Island, the Taiwanese forces capture a Chinese civilian freighter Shemnong which was used for carrying weapons to reinforce communist forces. The crew members are also critically wounded. The US responds to Shemnong’s urgent request for medical assistance and to investigate crimes against humanity aboard the ship.

    When the medical team boarded Shemnong, they made a shocking discovery, which even the strong stomach of steel that all doctors possess, the callous resistance to the grotesque, could not withstand. The ship’s manifest lists them as “medical supplies.”

    The U.S. President Douglas Surber orders for the ship to be captured and placed in the care of the United States. A fuming Chinese president Tang Qhichet retaliated by attacking USS Vicksburg. As the situation spirals out of control, president Surber send the U.S. Seventh Fleet into the area. USS Emory S. Land, the first to respond, is captured by the Chinese. And aboard the submarine is Ensign Stephanie Surber, who is also the First Daughter of the United States. The Chinese demand the release of Shemnong or they would kill everyone on board USS Emory S. Land.

    It is a difficult situation for the U.S. but the bridge must be crossed. The President must make a decision. Will he take a stand against evil? Or will he save the life of his daughter?

    One thing that comes to mind as one reads the book is the vast knowledge that the author, Don Brown, exhibits all throughout the story which is simply incredible. The novel explores the history of both sides in the conflict.

    Fire of the Raging Dragon by Don Brown is the second book in the Pacific Rim series. It is a political thriller like no other. Don who served five years in the U.S. Navy writes a fast-paced book making good use of his knowledge about the military and their operations, which is guaranteed to engage the reader to the very end. The book may well turn out to be a warning and a prophecy!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2015

    Enjoyable read

    This was a 316 page book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    Great read

    This is an exciting read and I couldn't put it down! I read it in on day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Plot spoilers

    I wish bn would do something to these plot spoilers who reveal the entire book then brag how they got their book for free. Guess what? Yiu just ruined it for the rest of us that may have wanted ti buy thebook. Why buy it now when you just told the entire plot line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Overlook the title and be disappointed in this

    It is not terry and the dragon lady or about the ring of volcanoes abd earthquakes mish mosh if a food would be cold stale egg roll buska

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1