Customer Reviews for

The Firebrand

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    AMAZING! Two thumbs ^ !!!

    This was a novel of exceptional quality that brought the myth to a whole new level. Kassandra is seen as the powerful woman she is rather than just a raving pricess prophecying doom to Troy.I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    A great read

    I couldn't put this book down! Marion Zimmer Bradley's Troy has really interesting characters and a captivating story. I particularly enjoyed it because, like Bradley's Avalon series, it is told from the perspective of a woman. Anyone who enjoys Greek Mythology or fantasy will definitely love this book.It's a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    I couldn't put it down!!

    I am never dissapointed with Marion Zimmer Bradley. I love the story of Troy and it is fasinating to read it from the perspective of the women. Her characters are strong, and well developed. Also, her story telling is magnificent and captivating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2004

    I loved this book!

    Four years ago, my college room mate lent me this book, because I love Greek Mythology. I absolutely loved it. Two years later, I was visiting this same room mate, and we decided to rent the mini-series Mists of Avalon. That Christmas, I saw the book (Mists of Avalon) in a bookstore and thought it would be a perfect gift for my mother. I read it when she was done, and decided I had to read MORE Zimmer Bradly. This past Xmas, I bought all of the Avalon books for my mother, and she's nearly done. She has a birthday coming up, so I'm back online, searching for more from this author, when I stumble on Firebrand... would you believe that I just NOW made the connection between the books?! They're all wonderful, and I'm definitely buying this one for my mother as well! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    Best version on the story of Troy!!!!

    I love this book! Words alone can not express how wonderful it is! I highly recommend it to any greek mythology lover!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Great Book

    Really enjoyed book could not put it down. Could have given the book 5 stars except for the last chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    A new take on the Trojan war

    A feminist retake on the Trojan myth that's fresh and well written and focuses on Cassandra, the tragic Trojan Princess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    One of my absolute favorite books ever - Marion Zimmer Bradley b

    One of my absolute favorite books ever - Marion Zimmer Bradley brings the players of the Trojan War to life brilliantly. Most importantly she writes from Kassandra's point of view, creating an entirely new perspective of Kassandra that I had never seen before. I've read this book multiple times, and it never gets old!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Big fan of Zimmer Bradley but disappointed

    I'm a huge fan of Marion Zimmer Bradley but I was sorely disapointed in this book. It seemed to skip around without a common thread. I liked the plot and the setting of ancient Troy , but the I just couldn't get into it; for the first time it was difficult for me to finish one of her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    I have a question

    Hi there, all you Marion zimmer Bradley fans! I have a question for you. I have read lots of books from the dragonriders of pern series, i love harry potter, and in general like fantasy. Do you think I would like these books? I have never read any of her books.If you could write an answering review, that would be great! thanks in advance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    An August Triumph

    I loved this book. I couldn't put it down and was so upset when it ended. I love mythology and she really brought the characters to life while at the same time, giving an alterntive aspect to the famous tale. Beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    Sami,15

    i was amazed that marion zimmer bradley gave a character so real and the fighting so real you felt you are on the wall alongside the women of troy. i have always been facinated with the trojan war and now even more so. i am truly awe inspired to write my own book. she made akhilles a truly despisable person and i was so happy when Kassandra shot him with the poisonious arrow. i wont give anymore away and let you decide for yourself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2001

    One of Bradley's best work!

    This book was all and more of what I expected of it. The characters were so alive and real I felt, at times, that I knew them personally or as if I was there myself. I even would become sad at parts when something bad happens to a character. This book was not at all better then The Mists of Avalon but no other book can be. It still was an excellent book about the prophetess Cassandra and about her curse, to be able to see disasters but to be thought mad by the people around her. If you are thinking about reading this book, you won't regret it, go out and get it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2