Customer Reviews for

Fired Up: Book One of the Dreamlight Trilogy (Arcane Society Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans of this brilliant author will enjoy this romantic suspense

    Jack Winters, descendant of alchemist Nicholas Winters, who in the 1660s created the Burning Lamp, which increases psychic powers in a person with paranormal skills and gives them a new one br at a horrible cost. Those with the dominant gene become insane unless they find the Burning Lamp and the female psychic who can work dreamlight produced by that object. Jack fears he is cursed because he can suddenly induce nightmares in people while he suffers blackouts and sleepwalks.

    Jack seeks out private investigator Chloe Harper, a high level psi who can work with dream energy. Through her aunt, she locates the Burning Lamp; the owner is happy to get rid of it as it makes him uneasy. The organization Nightshade, made up of paranormal criminals want the Burning Lamp too. While on the run from these thugs, Chloe uses the artifact on Jack who has fallen in love with her; she reciprocates. While praying use of the map turns him into a safe psi, Nightshade capture Chloe, who believe they possess the perfect way to force her to work for them.

    This Arcane Society tale is the first book of the Dreamlight trilogy, which occurs in the present; books two and three will be in the Victorian Era and the far future on Planet harmony respectively. The story line is fast-paced from the opening three centuries ago as the rivalry between Nicholas and Sebastian Jones heats up and never slows down as Nicholas and Chloe team up. Fans of this brilliant author will enjoy this romantic suspense as the lead couple is a wonderful pairing and the support cast either quirky or deadly quirky. Readers will enjoy this strong contemporary and look forward to the talent of the author to take her saga historically and futuristically.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Twists, Turns, and Flips!

    First, this novel isn't for a first time reader of either Jayne Ann Krentz novels or the Arcane Society series. Not only is this an "Arcane" title, it's part one of a three part series that will span past, present and future(yes, Harmony will represent). This is also not a novel for those who dislike sci-fi. I say that, because there's a lot of "suspend your disbelief" situations that mix average everyday society with things out of the ordinary. The heroine of the story is psychic; The hero is too...oh and he's a genetically ticking time bomb and only the heroine and a psychic family heirloom can save him from becoming a psychotic psychic killer(say that ten times fast).

    Add to this a evil secret psychic group(Nightshade) that can take so-so psychics and turn them into super psychics with the help of a drug...but if someone fails to perform, the drug gets cut off and the person goes insane and dies. Oh, yeah, there's another secret psychic group(The Arcane Society aka 'the good guys') who are trying to find and get rid of Nightshade, their lab, and the drug itself, which just happens to have been developed by the original founder of the Arcane over 100 years ago. Like I said, a lot of disbelief is being suspended! Did I mention the hot sex scenes and that Nightshade sprang from Arcane? Sorry if I forgot.

    This all makes for quite a fascinating and exciting read, and I can't wait for the next installment in the trilogy.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can the dark side be good?

    By turning to the dark side of our paranormal favorite, Krentz opens us up to people who don't want to be members of the Arcane Society. How can that be? How can the Society not be loved by everyone, but evil?
    This story envolves people who use their paranormal senses to do their jobs and fight for their lives. Some how, their lives start to mix with the Arcane Society. What trouble will that cause them?
    Ed: The worse thing about a Krentz, is that it comes to an end!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    love it

    I love the arcane society books, they are just enough mystery to keep you interest, (page turner) and enough romance to keep you believing.

    Jayne Ann Krentz and Amanda Quick really know how to write a good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love your Arcane Society Books

    Can't wait for the next one in this Trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    good book

    I love her books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Jayne Krentz, "Fired Up"

    I have been a fan of Ms Krentz for many years. No matter what name that she writes under... Amanda Quick, Jayne Castle, or Jayne Krentz. Some of my "Jayne collection" goes back to the 1980's. I like her various styles and her ability to write in different time periods. The Harmony series is my favorite, but enjoy all others just as much. Would you like this book? If you can accept a little science fiction with mystery, a great romance story, and strong characters, then yes. What is the book about? Old myths and a "curse" placed on a character in the story. I hesitate to give you a complete re-telling of the story, because this is one you should definately read. This site requests that I recommend another book to you. Actually, any of the Arcane/Ghost Hunter books would be a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another cant-put-down book!

    Really, the title says it all- I can't wait for the next one! You really have to read all the books with this storyline in sequence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    I'm waiting!

    I'm waiting for the next in the Arcane series and the Dreamlight Trilogy! I always wait for Ms Krentz and her psuedos to pander to my romantic nature and my love of mystery without blood and gore. I truly enjoyed Fired Up, easy to like characters, enough of the Arcane involvement without drowning the new Trilogy, love, mystery and just a little spooky to whet my appetite for more. Ms Pyne, I can't wait to meet you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fired Up

    Another Arcane Society book. Jayne does it again. She given us another great read. I loved the characters and the story. I want to read the next in the series.

    I love the way she goes from comtemporary to historical with this series.

    Fired up is worth the read. I highly recommend this book.

    Pat

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    Fast Paced

    I loved this book! Good fast pace. Interesting characters. Can't wait until I get the audio version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Interesting but pay attention...

    Overall a great read. Will definitely read it again! Pay attention throughout the book though, as it is easy to miss key information!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    I'm wondering - book 1 of this trilogy was published 2009/2010.

    I'm wondering - book 1 of this trilogy was published 2009/2010.  When will book 2 and 3 be published?   I hate being left in the dark for
    years. Therefore, I'm giving this book a 1 star rating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Another great read from Jayne A Krentz

    Loved it. Can't wait to start book 2 of trilogy. Happy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Not much in the way of romance. Lots of explantion about backgr

    Not much in the way of romance. Lots of explantion about background of the lamp. The story seemed more of a set up for the series. Still had enough relationship between the leads to keep my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    Another great one in the series. I love what the unexpected friendship of a Jones and a Winters can lead to. And of course the luck of a man wandering into the office of just the right dreamlight reader. Jack and Chloe are some team. She's loyal, tough, smart and so protective of him it's sweet. Even when that person he needs protection from is himself. Jack is strong, honorable, and worried he's coming down with the infamous family curse. The duo face all kinds of odds to overcome it as well as some very intense plotting by who else, Nightshade. This means Jack and Fallon will have to team up. Wild ride by all. I also really loved the vulnerability in both men. For all their strengths, Jack is hard on himself and Fallon is desperately lonely. It's a wonderful combo of angst, friendship, danger, twists, murder, romance and psytalent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Trilogy Within a Series?

    Jayne Ann Krentz is getting pretty creative with her Arcane Series books and fortunately for her, "Fired Up" is a solid lead off novel for the Dreamlight Trilogy.
    "Fired Up" introduces us to Jack Winters, a direct descendent of Nicholas Winters, the twisted alchemist and arch-enemy of Sylvester Jones, who were the original founders of the Arcance Society. Both Jones and Winters were consumed by creating a way to enhance paranormal abilities. Jones, by creating a (very) flawed formula and Winters by creating the Burning Lamp, which can only be activated by those in his bloodline. Because Nicholas experimented with the lamp on himself, a strange twist in his DNA (known as the Winters' Curse) was passed down to Jack. Now Jack must find the lamp and (according to the legend) a female dreamlight talent to help him alter the curse and prevent him from losing his sanity and potentially his life. Jack hires Chloe Harper, a private investigator (and dreamlight talent) to help him locate the lamp and use her talent to alter the Winters' curse.
    I thought Krentz hit her marks with this installment. The historical intrigue of the Arcane Society, it's nemisiss Nightshade and two hot sensitives. It's all there. I love the fact that she is going back to the origins of both the Arcane Society as well as the founder's formula and now the new twist with the Burning Lamp. She even gives readers a whole new insight (hinted in Running Hot) into Fallon Jones and what might be in store for him as well as his inner-sanctum as the head of J&J. A good read for all Jayne Ann Krentz fans. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series!

    I really loved this first book of the Dreamlight trilogy. There's witty dialogue, well-rounded characters, steamy romance, and it's a well-written plot. Jack is a wonderfully dark character and Chloe is a much tougher woman than many of Jayne Ann Krentz's heroines. You might think this would make for a dark book, but there's still plenty of snappy banter and plenty of fun, sexy moments as the two work together to save Jack's mind and his life. Also, the book takes a different direction from the other Arcane Society books, away from the founder's formula, thus opening up a new direction for the series, while still exploring the paranormal world that readers of the Arcane Society enjoy. And, we see a lot more of Fallon Jones in this story. Fired Up wasn't what I expected, it was better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    Not the Best

    I read Fired Up with high hopes and really looking forward to reading it. I checked it out of the library and read it two days but really just to get through it and hoping it was going to get better as i went on. I am a huge fan of the Arcane Society Series but I have to say that Fired Up was my least favorite out of all of them. It definely didnt hold the same thrill and romanticism as the previous books. I am getting ready to read The Burning Lamp and I really hope its a better read than Fired Up. Fired Up was a little diappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    JAK does it again.

    I really enjoyed this book. It was well written and flowed, making for a easy read. There was just enough mystery and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10