Customer Reviews for

Fired Up (Trouble in Texas Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    Another smash hit for Mary Connealy! I thought it was well done,

    Another smash hit for Mary Connealy! I thought it was well done, even though a few parts of it are kinda cliche. I mean the mail-order bride bad situation, the not being able to cook, widowed....But all in all a great book. I loved reading and waiting what thing would happen next to the Dare. He seemed to always be getting into some situation or another. And then what food would Glynna try to pass off as acceptable for this meal. Between the love brewing with Glynna and Dare, and the antics of the men and children in the town, this book is a fun read to curl up with a cup of caffeine of your choice and just enjoy.




    If you are looking for fun Historical Romances that have some cowboys or handsome men from the west in them, you are looking at the right author! Mary Connealy has some great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Incredible as always!

    Read book one first if you want background info on the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fired Up is a great sequel to Swept Away! Fired Up Trouble in Te

    Fired Up is a great sequel to Swept Away!
    Fired Up
    Trouble in Texas #2
    By Mary Connealy

    Fired Up takes up where Swept Away left us.  Luke and Ruthie are married.  Flint Greer is dead and his mail-order widow Glynna is preparing to open a diner which may be the worse thing to happen to Broken Wheel, Texas.  But her cooking skills are a boon to Dare's doctoring practice with all the bellyaches she causing 

    But someone is still determined to make Doctor Dare Riker a patient without a doctor.  And they're determined to make Dare's condition deadly and permanent.  

    But the Regulators are determined to keep their friend safe, which isn't easy when the good doctor falls hard for Glynna, especially since her son is dead set against any romance between his mom and any man.  

    Fans of Mary Connealy will love the second book in the Trouble in Texas series.  Dare, Glynna, and Paul have to work past the issues that are keeping them at odds with each other before it is too late and a killer manages to get his revenge.

    Historical Fiction wrapped in Romance should appeal to many readers and the touches of humor just add to the fun.  Escape for a few hours to 1860's Texas and enjoy a quick vacation from the everyday.

    And I think there is a setup for a third book when Tina, Jonas's younger sister, comes to town and she's determined to reform it.  I can't wait to find out what comes next - there's sure to be more Trouble in Texas!

    I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher Bethany House and BookFun/TBCN in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hott Synopsis: For quite some time all Dare can think about is q

    Hott Synopsis:
    For quite some time all Dare can think about is quitting doctoring and marrying Widow Greer. Except, people won’t stop showing up at his door requiring medical attention and the darling widow refuses his attentions – it could have something to do with the hateful looks her teenage son keeps throwing his way.
    Well, maybe he should find out why these nearly fatal accidents keep happening in his vicinity before he starts a family…

    Hott Review:
    I adored the characters in this book. As always, I loved the character connections to previous books but this can be read as a completely stand-alone novel.
    This particular episode had quite a lot of action and snarkiness but was still a great testimonial and lovely book.

    More…
    Author: Mary Connealy
    Source: Bethany House Publishers via Netgalley
    Grade: A
    Ages: 16+
    Steam: YA
    Series: Trouble in Texas #2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    Between house fires, a very angry young boy and one truly crazy

    Between house fires, a very angry young boy and one truly crazy cook with a penchant for sharp knives, Dare Riker is wondering how he will make it out of this alive. Glynna Greer is newly freed from a disastrous marriage and plans on providing for herself and her children by taking ownership of the local diner. The only problem is she can’t cook worth a lick. When the sparks start to fly will these two be able to stand the heat?

    Fired Up is the second book in Mary Connealy’s Trouble in Texas series and my favorite so far. The story picks up pretty much where the first one left off and my favorite characters are back for round two. Including Vince, the no nonsense lawyer, and Jonas, the priest who’s not always as heavenly as one might expect. A wonderful new character makes her debut as well and she promises to bring plenty of laughs and one raging headache for Vince. That character is Tina Cahill, Jonas ‘fat, bald, sister he hasn’t seen in years.

    Dare and Glynna were my favorite characters in Swept Away and they did not disappoint this time around. Glynna has been through two terrible marriages and the effects are starting to show in her children through her son’s uncontrollable anger towards anything male and her daughter’s too timid silence. Glynna is a fantastic mother who is always trying to put her children first while struggling to still maintain the newfound control of her life. She quickly climbed her way to the spot of my favorite character with her humor and her fear of undercooking anything.

    Although this book can be read as a standalone I would suggest reading the series in order to get the full effect of the story.

    ***I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    Fired Up By: Mary Connealy I really enjoyed this book by Mary C

    Fired Up
    By: Mary Connealy

    I really enjoyed this book by Mary Connealy. It is hard to put down once you open it. Story is about Glynna Greer who came west as a mail order bride with two children. First husband was a abusive man and she did no better with the second one. Her husband is killed by the town Doctor Dare. Dare kinda has his eyes on her but her son Paul is very protective of his mom. He feels he can care for her she doesn’t need a man. Paul doesn’t like the attention the doctor is giving his mom. There are attempts to kill Dare. His house is being burned down with him in stabbed in the back. Will he live? Who is doing this? Get this book you won’t be disappointed. Great adventure and twists.
    Thanks to Fred St Laurent for this bookfun club and TBCN. Thanks to the publishers and the sponsors. Most of all thank you authors if not for you would not have anything to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    "Fired Up" is book two in the Trouble in Texas series.

    "Fired Up" is book two in the Trouble in Texas series. I enjoyed this book a great deal. It takes place in Texas in the 1860's. I must admit historical fiction is not my favorite genre, yet I read this book in just a couple of days. I actually laughed out loud a couple of times! My family now has confirmation that I am nuts.
    Mary Connealy did a wonderful job of writing a book with strong characters, action, mystery and humor.

    I did not read the first book in this series, but was able to follow along with no problem. The men in "Fired Up" supported and watched out for each other and the townspeople, often putting the safety of others before their own. While they were trying to figure out who was trying to kill the town doctor, who is not really a doctor, the friends work hard to keep him safe! Glenna, the female main character, is opening a diner, yet she can't cook! All her food is burnt because she worries about serving undercooked meats. Glenna is a mom, a single parent and a survivor of spousal abuse. She is in the process of healing and trying to pull her family together.


    Mary Connealy has written a great book that deals with many current issues. I received this book from book The Book Club Network for free in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    I read the first book in this series and was looking forward to

    I read the first book in this series and was looking forward to this book. I think if I was Glynna I would think twice too before I entered into another marriage. Glynna had to go through a lot and I am not sure how she did, I am not sure I would have been able to endure all she went through in her life. I enjoy reading Mary's books as they seem to pull you in from page one and keep you there all the way to the end. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fired Up Dare Riker has had to watch his back someone wants him

    Fired Up
    Dare Riker has had to watch his back someone wants him dead or maybe they want to see Glynna dead, possibly both of them.  But no matter who the target is the perpetrator must to be stopped.   Dare must protect Glynna Greer especially since she has captured his heart.  Convincing her son that Dare has their families best interest at heart will be tough  after the abusive father and step-father he was
    forced to endure.   




    Glynna is determined to protect her children and not make the same mistake in the choice of men to which her and her children are subjected to.  She feels a strong bond to Dare which she finds hard very to ignore.  He is like no other man she has ever met, he is an honorable man she is learning to trust and possibly love.




    The author did not fail to draw me into book two which I was not able to put down. I enjoyed her sense of humor and  at times I was brought to tears.  The subjection of emotional and  physical abuse the children and Glynna had gone through in book one and then fought to conquer their fear and mistrust in book two was heart wrenching.  I am ready to read book three.  Bring it on Mary Connealy!




    I highly recommend this book.




    I rated this book 5 out of 5.




    Disclosure:  I received a free copy of this book from Baker Publishing/Bethany House Publishers via Litfuse Publicity Group Tour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    The best yet! I¿m not sure how, but Mary Connealy keeps raising

    The best yet! I’m not sure how, but Mary Connealy keeps raising the bar for herself (though, I don‘t know how she‘ll top this one)! In case you can’t tell from the 5 stars, I loved this book! The characters were great and I loved the dialogue between them - it was so funny that a couple times I was laughing so hard I was crying!
    Fired Up begins a month after Swept Away ends and continues the story of Dare Riker and Glynna Greer. As they deal with all the challenges that keep cropping up and attempt to solve the mystery of who is threatening Dare, you get to see their faith. As much as I enjoyed the humor and laughs, my favorite part was the faith aspect. It isn’t extremely prominent, but I still appreciated that the characters would stop to pray and consider how God would want them handle the situation.
    I’m really excited to read the next book and find out what’s going to happen to this group of friends next!
    I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical romance with a good dose of humor thrown in.
    I received this book through The Book Club Network for my honest review, which I have given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mary Connealy in her new book, "Fired Up" Book Two in

    Mary Connealy in her new book, "Fired Up" Book Two in the Trouble In Texas series published by Bethany House Publishers takes us into the life of Glynna Greer.




    From the back cover: When a doctor who attracts danger falls for a cook determined to make it on her own, there's going to be trouble in Texas!




    Glynna Greer came west as a mail-order bride and ended up in a bad situation. Now her husband, Flint, is dead, and she's determined to make a go of it on her own. In a town full of men, Glynna decides she can support her two children by opening a diner-never mind that cooking is not her greatest talent.




    Dare Riker is a doctor who saves lives, but someone seems determined to end his. It may have something to do with the traitors he dealt with during the Civil War, or it might be related to the recent incident with Flint Greer and the ranch. Whoever the culprit is, he or she seems really fired up, and Dare can't let his guard down for a moment-which is a challenge, since right now he's trying to win the heart of the recently widowed Glynna.




    Though his doctoring business is booming due to Glynna's questionable cooking, Dare seems to encounter unexpected dangers wherever he goes. There's the avalanche. And the fire. And then the shadowy figure with a knife. Can Dare survive it all long enough to convince Glynna to take another chance on love?




    Dare thinks he should not be a doctor anymore however there is always someone who needs his medical help. Glynna has given up on men but Dare always seems to be around. Can these two work out their differences and get together before someone actually kills Dare? "Fired Up" is a mystery as we have no idea of who the potential killer is and it is a study in do we use the talents that God has given us or do we waste them away? It is also a romance. Ms. Connealy is a very talented writer who gives us wonderful characters that we really come to care about. "Fired Up" is filled with excitement and humor and Wild West action.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    This is not a time travel book, but I took another enjoyable Tim

    This is not a time travel book, but I took another enjoyable Time Travel trip into 1868 Texas where it seems trouble is always brewing. This is the second novel in the Trouble in Texas series following the novel Swept Up, both by Mary Connealy. I did read the first one, but I do not think it necessary as the incidents in the first book are not only alluded to but briefly explained so that those that have read the first book are reminded of the happenings there while those that have not read it are brought up to speed in a seamless manner. The characters of the first book are very much present in this one, what with the men being a part of the Regulators. Cowboys and rustlers abound, but the story is also one of romantic comedy, which Mary does extremely well. She uses words to her advantage, and the imagery is so vivid you can almost smell the smoke, hear the clatter of the horses hooves, feel the sand in your eyes and see the fear in Janey's eyes. I enjoyed this one very much, as I do all of Mary's novels, and will be looking for the 'gang's' next adventures. 
    I received this book free from Amy at Litfuse Publicity Group and Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    This book was just so much fun! I enjoyed every page. Like it's

    This book was just so much fun! I enjoyed every page.

    Like it's predecessor, Swept Away, Fired Up is a wild, dangerous, and humorous ride in a small Texas town in the late 1860's.
    The book starts with an avalanche of rocks that nearly takes out most of the main characters and continues on with a fire, a measles epidemic, bellyaches from Glynna's cooking, a crazy woman with a knife, shootouts, an angry boy, and a whirlwind sister's arrival. All of it liberally sprinkled with romance and some of the funniest lines and expressions I have read in quite awhile.

    This book had a little more mystery in it which I found very enjoyable. Someone is trying to kill Dare and the big question is: who could hate him that much? He's got a few possibilities but nothing concrete. So he winds up trying to balance preserving his own life, doctoring the townspeople, romancing an unwilling Glynna, trying to win over her children, and a crisis in believing he was meant to be a doctor.
    Sure, the doctor has a full plate, but so does Glynna. Between a very angry son and a silent daughter, trying to run a diner, an unbalanced cook, doctoring Dare, trying not to fall for the aforementioned doctor, and dodging rocks and a killer; she hardly has time to deal with her own problems from 2 bad marriages and trying to regain some faith, in men and God.

    One of the things I like about Mary Connealy's writing is how she introduces us to the characters in the next book, slowly setting up the story for them to take over as the hero and heroine. Not only that, but characters from the previous book make their appearances as well. In Swept Away we read Luke and Ruthie's story and were introduced to Dare and Glynna, Fired Up focuses on them but starts setting up Vince and, what I am expecting, Jonas's sister Tina for book 3.

    Four friends bound together by their experiences in Andersonville Prison will do whatever it takes to help each other, right the wrongs done by evil men, help those in trouble, and saving a damsel or two in distress.

    Don't miss the second book in the Trouble In Texas series, Fired Up is a must read!

    (I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    BEST. BOOK. EVER. I read and reviewed the first book in this

    BEST. BOOK. EVER.

    I read and reviewed the first book in this series (Swept Away) whenever it came out, and ever since then I have been counting down the days to get this one in my hands. So far each book has been about one of the "brothers", and there are a few of them left, so maybe (hopefully) there will be another installment in the "Trouble In Texas" series. Not to mention that Mary Connealy is one of my all time favorite authors. I always get SUPER excited when she has a new book coming out.

    I've been looking forward to Fired Up for months.



    Doctor Dare Riker is the town doctor, and a fine one at that. He thinks of himself as under qualified for his job, and apparently so does someone else, because someone is trying to kill the man. He survives a man-made avalanche, someone trying to burn his house/doctors office to the ground (with him in it!), a stab wound to the back, and more. Let me tell you, Dare is one tough cookie. And to top it all off, while he is trying to stay alive he is also trying to woo Glynna Greer, (and round up her rowdy son). Is all this more than one man can handle?



    Glynna Greer is a widow woman. She has been married two times, but both husbands have already died. Her second husband Clint Greer (the lousy skunk) died at the hand of Doctor Riker. Nobody wanted to kill anyone, but when you're defending those close to you, you got to do what you got to do. To Glynna, Dare is her knight in shining armor. She was tired of being beat up and thrown around, plus because of two lousy fathers her son Paul was going downhill fast. His heart was hard and bitter, and Glynna doesn't know if she will ever be able to penetrate the wall that he has built up around his heart. His distrust runs not only to the men he grew up with, but to all men. This boy has some serious problems to work through.



    Dare, Glynna and her kids, and all the "brothers" come together to solve the mystery of Riker's attacker, and what they find both shocks them and confirms their suspicions. This book is very well written, and it definitely shows some good ol' Texas charm. And it has one thing that all of Connealy's books contain: humor. Some of the things she writes are just downright funny! Especially the scenes where Glynna is in the kitchen. I would encourage anyone and everyone to read this book, I'm quite sure that you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    Tuesday, September 24, 2013 Fired Up by Mary Connealy, ©2013, Tr

    Tuesday, September 24, 2013
    Fired Up by Mary Connealy, ©2013, Trouble in Texas series, Book 2

    When a doctor who attracts danger falls for a cook determined to make it on her own, there's going to be trouble in Texas!

    November, 1868. Dr. Darius Riker met recently widowed Glynna Greer when he was going out to the ranch in Swept Away, Book 1. Unfortunately, it wasn't how he would have liked the meeting to begin when her husband was killed leaving her and her two children alone now. On the way to town to take her belongings, a rockslide comes down around them. Could it be retribution for the confrontation with the aid of the Texas Ranger over regaining the Stones' S Bar S ranch from Flint Greer and his men?

    With Glynna Greer and her two children moving to Broken Wheel, hopefully they will be out of danger. Friends of Luke and Ruthy Stone are helping with her move, the same ones who came to help him regain his Texas ranch stolen by Greer. The Regulators stick together.

    It is now shortly after Greer's death. His widow is going to reopen a diner in an abandoned house in town to provide for her family. She has turned out to be a doctor's helper as well, as she stitches up Dare Riker's shoulder injured during the rockslide along the narrow trail.

    Hearing Luke Stone had returned to his land, Red Wolf comes for help. His Kiowa people have contracted measles through contact trading with the whites. Their winter camp is near the buffalo grounds. Luke was friends with Red Wolf and others his age as boys. Many had left and others had died with pneumonia and encephalitis compounded with measles. While attending to the Indian children, Dr. Riker comes to relieve Glynna and her son Paul while they eat and get some sleep. They are applying poultices and giving willow bark tea, along with cooling fevered bodies. Glynna came as a mail-order bride with Paul and his younger sister, Janny. Paul makes it clear of his intent to protect his ma from male attention.

    Before even opening the diner, firewood, meat, potatoes and other supplies show up at her back door. Cowpokes eager for a home cooked meal may need to overlook burned biscuits and scorched beans. Likely, Dr. Riker is going to need to stock up on bicarbonate of soda as he tends to her less than successful cooking skills with the patients she will unknowingly send him.

    His foot hit the bottom step on his way up to the board sidewalk that led to the diner just as black smoke billowed out its front door, followed by a herd of cowboys running out, coughing, and covering their mouths.
    The diner had only been open a few minutes.
    Well away from the building, Tug Andrews, who owned the general store, yelled, "Let us know when the smoke clears, Mrs. Greer. We'll wait."
    --Fired Up, 89

    Come to Broken Wheel, Texas, and join the Regulators, Dare, Luke, Vince, and Jonah. A new cook comes to town, and the reverend's baby sister. Change is coming. Fun to be enjoyed.

    ***Thank you to Litfuse Publicity Group for sending me a copy of Mary Connealy's Fired Up for this blog tour. This review was written in my own words. No other compensation was received.***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Glynna has just lost her husband. It certainly isn't a huge los

    Glynna has just lost her husband. It certainly isn't a huge loss in her book. She's very thankful to be rid of the abusive, evil man. But now what is she supposed to do with two small children and a home that her husband stole from someone else? The Regulators are back again to rescue the downtrodden and oppressed.

    I was really looking forward to this book after reading the first book in the series. Thankfully the author did not disappoint. The romance, mystery, and fun were all in the second book too. Since I read the first book it's harder for me to judge, but I feel this book can be read as a stand alone. But the first book is great, so I highly recommend reading it first. The characters are so fun and realistic. The plot has lots of action and keeps you wondering what will come next. Another home run by Mary Connealy that keeps her on my favorite author list.

    I received this book free of charge from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    This book is hilarious! Embarrassingly so. I could help but laug

    This book is hilarious! Embarrassingly so. I could help but laugh, and not just a little inner chuckle. The first book in the Trouble In Texas series, Swept Away, was a sweet story and I enjoyed it but this book I couldn't put down. 




    We were introduced to both Dare Riker and Glynna Greer in the first book, but I loved how the author developed the character of Glynna. She really surprised me, but in a good way. She wasn't so delicate and a little stuffy like I had expected. 




    I always like it when there's a little mystery in the story and this one surrounds Dare and whoever is trying to kill him. His close friends step up to protect him and help solve the mystery, although I was pretty certain very early on who it was and it turned out I was right. 




    This is a good book to get lost in for a while, forget your worries and escape into an adventure. I think it would appeal to a wide range of readers and I definitely recommend it!




    This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    There¿s trouble in Texas alright! From several sources-- an ava

    There’s trouble in Texas alright! From several sources-- an avalanche, fire, dangers, mystery, poor cooking, and muddled thoughts of love. This is another great read from one of my favorite authors—Mary Connealy. What a delight to read Dare and Glynna’s story. I love the characters in this book—most of whom I met in the series’ first book: Swept Away. I am eager (“fired up”!) to read more about Luke and Dare’s other friends and even more trouble in Texas.
    I received this book free from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book by Mary, loved this book.  Glynna Greer

    Another great book by Mary, loved this book.





     Glynna Greer is opening up her diner and the Regulators are helping her move her things to town after saving her from a long painful life with her husband Flint Greer. The diner business is doing good even though her cooking makes everyone sick. Dare Riker, the doctor in the group of Regulators, is doing a good business though, thanks to her cooking. The men go to the diner just to look at the beautiful Glynna and won't give up eating her food.




     As they are moving her things to town Glynna and Dare are just about killed by an avalanche, next Dare's house catches fire and he just about dies in that fire. Dare doesn't know but the rest of the Regulators decide someone is trying to kill him so they start standing watch on his house at night. They have at least two suspects, Glynna's son Paul and Lana Bullard, her husband was Flint's right hand man but had disappeared after her husband was killed. Lana holds Dare responsible for murdering her son and her husband and Paul doesn't want his mother to ever have anything to do with any man again after the way his father treated them and then Flint treated them even worse. Or it could be someone that is holding a grudge from when he was in the Andersonville prison during the Civil War.




     I can understand why Paul feels the way he does and he's old enough to feel like he's responsible for his family now so he will do anything to keep his mother, his sister and himself safe from ANY man. Lana has her reasons, but does she really? People and their grudges, some just can't seem to get rid of them. It is so much better if you can forgive, and that's for yourself, not the one you're forgiving.




     I love Mary's books and she didn't fail me with this one. Just another one I can add to my favorite list! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Glynna Greer is fired up! She is bound and determined after two

    Glynna Greer is fired up! She is bound and determined after two failed marriages to men whom she thought would care for her and her two children, Paul and Janny, she has sworn off men once and for all. Thankfully her would-be rescuers this time were Regulators. Men who had sworn never to turn their back on a woman in need for that matter and after being married to Flint Greer who found enjoyment in using his hand to abuse her, she is glad that he is now dead. Now if she can only find a way to make a living for her children running the town's only diner, she might have a shot at a future.

    But for Glynna the damage to her children from her previous marriage to Flint is already apparent in both of them. For Janny, she remains withdrawn and silent. She used to be the most talkative young girl but has since pulled her grief inside and that is where she remains. For Paul, trying now to be the only man in the family is a burden bigger than he is ready for. If he doesn't stand up for his mother and sister, men like Flint will always think that women are property and not the kind to be cared for and loved. So for Paul, he carries that anger around, ready to strike at the man who dares come near his ma.

    For Dr. Dare Riker, it seems like all he does is attract trouble. If only he can find a way to pull himself away from the compelling gaze of Glynna's eyes and enable her to find a new life away from the man who threatened more than just her. Will Glynna be able to find a way to keep all men out of her life living in a town that is predominantly men? One thing is for sure, his business as the town's doctor is experiencing a boost to his practice now that Glynna has opened the diner. A talent for cooking isn't the one thing she can do well and one that is practically a necessity if you are running a diner. Yet Glynna seems oblivious to the poor food she is turning out when her diner remains full every day, thanks to the men who come not for the food, but for a glimpse at the beautiful owner instead.

    I received Fired Up by Mary Connealy compliments of Bethany House Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation for a favorable review but have to say that Mary Connealy is one of my all time favorite Christian Western Romance authors. I believe I've read almost every single novel she has written and it's like Christmas when I find out she has a new novel out. It's a time for me to escape back to the old west for a story of danger among the cowboys coupled with a strong and determined female who will undoubtedly fall in love before she knows what is coming. This is the second novel in the Trouble in Texas Series and I can't wait for the next one. Who knows which character Mary will pick up to continue the journey with. I highly recommend this series if you love a great western adventure with a heroic romantic twist and for that reason this one rates a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2