Customer Reviews for

Fireflies

Average Rating 4.5
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Back In Bland

    Apparently, Faith Hill got over her aspirations of being a pop singer. Also of being an actress. Now, she just wants to be a good, old country girl. The stripped production of Fireflies is a good move away from the over cooked Cry, however, it serves mostly as a reminder that Hill is so far removed from anything country that she confuses accoutic with country. This would not be so probelmatic where it not for the fact that her first single is all about how country she is--ironically in a soft rock song. Mississippi Girl only highlights one of the fundimental problems with Hill, her lack of connection with her material. Hill feels more like she is selling a song than connecting with it, and, unfortunately, if you have to sell a song like Mississippi Girl, people aren't buying. And, unfortunately, her vocals are a help and a hinderance as Hill relies more on style and power than on subtle nuances that would makes the songs sparkle and resonate. Hill's vanilla vocals work well on such songs as "Mississippi Girl" and "Paris." However, on a song like "Like We Never Loved" which requires more grit or "I Ain't Gonna Take It" which requires more muscle or even just "Dearly Beloved" which requires only a truely country vocal, Hill cannot drag herself out of her prettiest-preincess-in-the-pagent box to change it up. And, on a song like "If You Ask" her habit of mistaking volume with emotion completely detracts from the songs focus and meaning. Listening to Hill reminds one of some of the better also-rans on American Idol. Specifically, two favored critiques: "Potenital" and "It was good but so what." Faith Hill has POTENTIALLY the best technical voice in country music. However, both Allison Moorer and Shelby Lynne have nearly the same voices. The difference is that both of them move forward with every album and deliver with every album something that knocks your socks off. The most that can be said for Fireflies is that Faith Hill is back to where she was 10 years ago. She needs to be listening to what is going on in country music now and growing along with that. It is only when she becomes aware of her sorounding and learns from fellow artists that Hill will uncover the potential she showed on such albums as "It Matters To Me."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I really like this CD and the songs are wonderful and I like Faith Hill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    JDO RN music/book lover

    Yuck!! She has done way better than this! Sorry, save your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What is wrong people!!!

    This was an awful CD!! She has an ok voice but she doesnt use it right.. and what is up with the frizzy look1?!?!?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Ever!!!!

    I have several of Faith Hill's CDs but Fireflies is the best ever. She is absolutely magnificent. It's a different Faith Hill and better than ever although I didn't think she could be better. I listen to it every day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If you havent gotten this CD BUY IT

    This Cd rocked my world i have always liked faith hill but this cd blew me away it just has all different types of songs on the cd not just slow or fast it is a great mix of music everything is so diverse.....if you havent gotten it i would go say buy it-kabrillowski-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    This is in my opinion the best cd faith has put out! I love all the songs!! they are all heartfelt, the way she sings!!! this is a definite 5+++++++++ stars!!! Please listen and buy this cd!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FireFlies!

    This album is the bomb!! I love every song. Faith's voice rocks and soothes the soul.I-Squad:snakelady

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Always #1 in my book

    I love Faith's new album! This one makes me laugh, cry, smile & sing out loud. A must have. dnshockey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love her voice more than ever

    She sounds awesome! Good song choices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    fireflies

    This is one of faith hill's best cds. I love every song on here everyone should pick up this cd you will not be dissappointed. xbloodytearsx.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love this music

    I love FireFlies so much I listen to it when i go to sleep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I reviewed Fireflies!!

    Faith's new cd is amazing!!! it just lifts ur whole spirit into new life IM am part of i-squad!!!!!---collegegal210

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Reveiwed Fireflies!

    I got the CD at 12 Midnight on the night of Monday August 1st. I just couldnt wait longer then that. I listened to it hopping it would be better then what my favorite artist came out with a few years ago, Cry. Well I listend and I loved it. The songs are just great! I love Like We Never Loved At All, I Want You, Sushine And Summertime, We Got Nothing But Love To Prove, The Lucky One. I Just Loved them all! You should deffently get this CD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fireflies on Fire

    Another great one by Faith. Mississippi Girl takes us through Faith's past growing up and getting on stage but not forgeting where she came from. I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Well Worth the Wait!!!!!

    Long time in the making but well worth the wait!! With songs like Mississippi Girl, Fireflies, Sunshine and Summertime and Like We Never Loved at All...... Faith is back in business!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I reviewed Fireflies!

    Faiths new CD fireflies is amazing.I listen to it everyday becuase i can relate my life to most everyone of the songs on the cd. ambo_89

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love Faith's new CD!

    Fireflies was worth waiting for. This sounds more country than than her last did. There are some really great songs on it. One of my favorites is Like We Never Loved At All. It's a duet with Tim McGraw. I think it's her best work yet! flnovgirl from i-squad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Its great to have her back

    Fireflies is a great CD. I missed hearing her voice and was so excited to have her be back to her country roots. Every song is a joy to hear and I look forward to wearing out the cd! dlovebug11

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fireflies Another Faith Hit!!

    Faith Hill's Fireflies is full of hits. Sunshine and Summertime is a fun upbeat song and it sounds like Faith is having so much fun singing it. Like We Never Loved At All a duet with Tim McGraw, is one that will go in their book of great duets together. I recommend this CD to everyone, You'll Love It!!! Tamara (i-squad mcgraw_fan_mi)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7