Customer Reviews for

Firefly Beach

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great story. Read it originally when it was first published and reread it again a few years later enjoying it just as much as the first time. This book lead me to read many, many more by Ms Rice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Couldn't put it down.

    Terrific story, excellently written. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Adnil

    I just finished this amazing book wow! I loved it but now i have to get a tissue because the ending was a real tearjerker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    avid reader

    I liked this book a lot. I was a great book on the relationships of mothers, daughters and sisters. Good, fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    A younger reader, reviwer

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! I dont read that much, but I was asked by my parents to do so. I picked up this book and never could put it down. Now I also love it because I love love stories with mystery and so much more tied in. Its modern but with a twist. If you are on the line between getting it and not, get it, you wont regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    A new author to love.

    WOW! Great book! A friend loaned me this book and I was very grateful for that. This is the first Luanne Rice book I have read but it was very good and I will definitely read more of hers. The story was wonderful. The characters were well developed and you learn everything about them. They are 'real' people with 'real' issues. It seems good to read about something so real. I would definitely recommend this book. I am glad to find someone new to read, since I have read all my fav authors to date. It is one you won't want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    MY ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOK EVER!!!

    This was absolutely my favorite book of all time ~ Luanne Rice has a way of making you part of her stories once again. I really enjoy the fact that she refers to some of the characters from this book in some of her more recent ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Great Book

    Great book, I loved it, gave it to 3 friends who read it and loved it too. Buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2003

    great

    This book rocks like so many of her others do. I loved the characters and how she made them seem so real and alive! Make time for it this summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    I love this author

    I loved this book and I love this author. I have gone out and purchased all her books to read. Can't wait to get started on the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2002

    one of the bests

    i absoultly love this book, it is one of my favs. the love story was just so sweet and made you want to read more until you were finished with the book, i couldnt put it down, i felt like i knew all of the characters and thats what i liked about the book the most

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2002

    Another Great Love Story!

    Firefly Beach by Luanne Rice is one of her best books yet. I have read all but three of her books, and with each new book I read, I come to endear Rice as one of my favorite authors. Her books are incredibly sensitive, the characters are so real and believable, and she writes from her heart. Her writings seem to center on family issues that one can relate to at one time or another. Rice lets us know that love can heal, prevail and make things right. Caroline Renwick knows the secret of Joe Connor's father's untimely death when he was only six. Yet Caroline befriends him at a young age and their relationship grows deeper through their letters to each other. That is, until Joe discovers the truth of his father's death, and at seventeen and blames Caroline for not telling him the truth, and cuts her out of his life. Years later, Joe comes back into Caroline's life, back to Firefly beach to see for himself where the death occurred, and to find some more answers. Now a grown woman, Caroline, remains the main support for her mother and two sisters, as they all must confront those demons and deal with them, as well as the arrival of Joe Connor. With grace and style, Luanne Rice portrays a dysfunctional family whose yearnings to heal are marred by more challenges and confrontations. With Joe's help, Caroline is able to listen to her heart and to her longings and in the process helps her own family to find the strength to heal and to love again. This was another could not put down book, and Ms. Rice writes with the same sensitivity that I have come to admire in her previous books. A very endearing love story - I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    Boring and Depressing

    This book is full of violence and cheap romance. It is so boring I didn't even finish reading it (which is VERY rare with me). I don't recommend it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2001

    Summer Read? Summer will be over by the time you finish it!

    This novel was a little slow and boring at first but when the romance started it became a lot more interesting. My final opinion of the book was that while it held my attention enough to finsh it, it had a little too much drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2001

    Great summer read

    Firefly Beach is a great summer read for the beach. It kept my interest from the time I turned the first page. I recommended it to three of my friends already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2001

    A Great Summertime Escape!

    I found Firefly Beach a warm and exciting. If you love the ocean, art, family,suspense romance and of course fireflies, you will find it in this book. I think the relationship of the sisters was beautiful and true to life in many ways. L.White

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    a great heart warming summer read

    I found this one of Luanne Rice's best books yet. It was a real page turner. I enjoyed the bonding between 3 sisters. This story made me want a sister. You will really enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    powerful look at the aftermath of a tragedy

    In 1969 at FIREFLY BEACH, Connor arrives at the Renwick home carrying a gun. He accuses the famous artist Hugh Renwick of stealing his wife and plans to steal something that the man loves. However, Renwick is not at home and Connor is unable to kill any of the three Renwick sisters as he had planned. Instead he kills himself. Five-year old Caroline Renwick begins exchanging letters with Connor¿s six-year-old son Joe, but those letters end years later when he learns his dad committed suicide rather than dying from a heart attack. <P> Over three decades later, Joe returns to FIREFLY BEACH to meet the Renwicks and gain closure. Instead, he finds the Renwicks needing emotional help too. He helps one sister dry out, but opens his heart to the vulnerable, caring Caroline as love blossoms between them. However, that tragedy thirty plus years ago still nightmarishly lingers as a blockage to any permanent relationship between Caroline and Joe. <P> FIREFLY BEACH is a powerful look at how one tragic event impacts on innocent family members. Three decades after their father had an affair with his mother; all four now adult children and the girls¿ mother still are psychologically damaged. Luanne Rice escorts the audience inside the heads of her cast so the reader can feel the swirling often-dark emotions that threaten to engulf each character. Ms. Rice is among the top gurus in invoking a realistic healing power of love in her novels and this novel showcases the author at her holistic best. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2