Customer Reviews for

Firefly Lane: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 1675 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1071)

4 Star

(347)

3 Star

(142)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(73)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

101 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

Firefly Lane

This is a wonderful book that I COULD NOT put down! It a beautiful story of friendship, but has other relationships including mother-daughter and wife-husband that are complex and fascinating. Hannah does a terrific job presenting 2 of the many different paths women can...
This is a wonderful book that I COULD NOT put down! It a beautiful story of friendship, but has other relationships including mother-daughter and wife-husband that are complex and fascinating. Hannah does a terrific job presenting 2 of the many different paths women can take in life: wife and mother or career. The characters in her book chose the extremes of these paths and therefore have difficulty combining them. I think that she presents these 2 choices beautifully and almost everyone can relate to these women's struggles and triumphs. And as a mother, her description of motherhood is spot-on! This book has humor, love, loss, laughter, tears.....it has everything. It is the best book I have read in a long time. I truly can't recommend it enough.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

This book may hinder your IQ.

This book was awful! I hated it so much that it made me angry! The entire novel is cliché. The characters are flat in that they never seem to learn anything or change their behavior, even though they apparently have moments of realizing that they should. The writing is ...
This book was awful! I hated it so much that it made me angry! The entire novel is cliché. The characters are flat in that they never seem to learn anything or change their behavior, even though they apparently have moments of realizing that they should. The writing is unappealing and weak. I even found 10 typing errors as I read; it made the book seem cheap. The thing that irritated me most was that the main character's mother is referred to as "Mom" or ¿Mrs. M.¿ interchangeably throughout the novel. I couldn't stand reading sentences like "Mom crossed over to the bed," it sounds juvenile. I am an adult give me some adult reading material. I guess I wouldn¿t feel so offended if I had grabbed this novel from the Harlequin section; but I didn¿t. It was sitting there in the literature section as though it deserved to be with classics! I was shocked when I found out that this author has written other books! I guess any tripe can be published these days. The characters come from a fantasy world where having a drugged out mother can be easily offset by grandparents who had good stock. Come on! Does that ever really happen? NO! It doesn¿t. The situations these characters faced just weren¿t credible. I felt that this book actually set women back! The one character uses sex as an antidepressant and the other is too busy feeling sorry that she chose family over career to do anything worth reading about. If you want women¿s issues to be a theme in your novel- please make them realistic and important. The choice between staying home and going to work is a difficult one that all women face at some point. It¿s not something that we choose quickly or a decision we make easily. I just wish it would have been dealt with in a way that I, as a reader, could take seriously. In conclusion, if you want to make yourself dumber, go ahead and read this book. If not, grab something by Margaret Atwood!

posted by Read-Something-Worth-It on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1681 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 85
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!!

    I loved this book! I didn't want this book to end! Each character in this book truely evolves as time progresses. I wish all books were this wonderful!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Great Book!

    Wonderful story, with wonderful characters and an important message to women everywhere! This is a book I have told many about and am presently passing it around to all the women in my family and my female clients. Couldn't put it down! I grew up during the 60's period the characters grew up in and that made it even better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    A lot like Beaches

    Sappy and predictable but a good beach read if you want to escape and not use your brain. I wish the writer would have veered away from some of the cliches with the plot. These characters started off interesting and became less interesting as they stayed within the confines of their stereotypes: "Lonely successful woman married to her job" and "Smart woman who veers off the career track to raise her family." Keep the tissue box within arm's reach.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Weak copy of Beaches

    This book takes the basic plot of Iris Ranier Dart's Beaches and does it badly.

    The characters are weak and not likable. And the writing is bogged down with boring details and more exposition than anything. Complex problems and life events--like helping a spouse recover from a brain injury--are reduced to a few pages of tepid exposition.

    Just read Beaches and don't waste time with this mediocre attempt to copy it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    The best book about friendship!!!! impossible to read without te

    The best book about friendship!!!! impossible to read without tears

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Love it

    I cannot stop reading this book! looks like I will definitely be reading the rest of Kristin Hannah's books! :-)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Loved this novel!

    Unbelievably emotional and heartwrenching. Makes you.. laugh cry and want more in the end. Loved this book. Could not put it down. Will definately stay with me. You become part of this story and come to know the characters like they r real people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Rainstorm

    Gah! To much drama!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Not worth the money

    You could see how the book was going to end from the very beginning. Kate was a doormat and Tully was a heartless and brainless twit. The language was cliche and the settings didnt make sense most of the time. This was a slow and boring read with no real closure. I'm terribly disappointed that I spent money on this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Great Read!

    This book truly connected to me personally. There were many parts of the book that reminded me of my upbringing and relationships with various friends.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    Predictable, formulaic

    After reading the back cover, I decided to purchase this book. I found the idea of a friendship that withstands the tests and demands of time captivating. However, this book disappoints. The character development is shallow unless you consider a detailed description of every wardrobe, hairstyle and makeup change, character development. Obviously the author does.
    I found the story too long, drawn out and sappy. I am not a fan of romance novels and sadly, this novel falls squarely in the middle of the genre.

    While I did enjoy "taking a walk down memory lane" to the 70's and 80's, I cannot say this novel was worth the read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    A book of my era

    So many of the character's memories are my memories. Great story, good history of a friendship that isn't always balanced. Didn't want to put it down and stayed up late several nights to enjoy well past my bedtime. Keeping this one to read again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read!

    I couldn't put the book down! I loved it. Just when you think one of the characters is going to finally act upon something, they won't... or will they? The friendship between the two girls is amazing and really depicts all types of life events as far as how two very different personalities deal with things. And yet remain as close as ever! I was thrown for a major loop towards the end, I didn't see that coming, and I did produce some tears.
    I love Kristin Hannah's writing style and want to read all her books now, may be my new favorite author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    HUMAN INSIGHT! BRAVO!

    HUMAN INSIGHT books are my favs! Human emotion to the core...and count your blessings book...Terrific!! Another one I read recently that I can't help to mention everywhere is, EXPLOSION IN PARIS , by LINDA MASEMORE PIRRUNG...I'm an avid reader who has a book in my hands most of the time.....I absolutely loved EXPLOSION IN PARIS! It moved me in all directions! It should be on every woman's book club list!! Check out the reviews! They hooked ME!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A tale of friendship

    This touching tale of friendship survives over decades. Makes one appreciate the friends in your life. At times I wondered how two such different women could build a friendship that survived life changing events. This was the first Kristen Hannah book, I have read, but it will not be the last. An enjoyable read--with a tear jerker ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Firefly Lane - great read!

    This book was a great read and I loved that it was about the "area" that I grew up in. I was able to enjoy and understand the local references and the relationship was one I understood. I passed the book onto my Mother-in-Law and my Mother and both enjoyed it and read through it very quickly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Firefly Lane

    I enjoyed this book from cover to cover. I would only wish that I could have a friendship like Kate and Tully had. They went from kids to grownups and still remained friends. They could tell each other any thing and still have the bond of life long friends. I would recommend this book to everyone who enjoys stories about true friendship.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    Quick and Engaging

    I found Firefly Lane to be a compelling, quick read. It's as much about mothers and daughters as it is about friendship, but the way it addresses friendship was the more compelling element of the story for me this time through. I can see this easily flip-flopping in future reads. It's not especially profound, but I think the characters will continue to intrigue me so as to inspire those future reads. That's saying a lot becuase I am not one to re-read books.

    It is definitely a novel of my times. Specific and intentional effort is made to highlight pop culture markers throughout the story. Many 30- and 40-something readers will identify wholely with these markers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I enjoyed this book so much..I laughed and cried, sometimes both at the same time...it is a treasure and I plan to pass it on to others. The one thing that I am disappointed with is the similarity to Maeve Binchy "Firefly Summer" both books have firefly in the title, but I thought nothing until I opened it and found that the two characters Kate and John and Katie and Johnnie and their last name was the same was a little bit of copycat stuff...other than that, it is 5 star...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Excellent reading

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The author enveloped you in the story immediately. I took it with me everywhere to read any opportunity available. The plot, the characters, everything - fantastic. Highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1681 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 85