Customer Reviews for

Firefly Lane

Average Rating 4.5
( 1692 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1083)

4 Star

(350)

3 Star

(144)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(73)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

106 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

Firefly Lane

This is a wonderful book that I COULD NOT put down! It a beautiful story of friendship, but has other relationships including mother-daughter and wife-husband that are complex and fascinating. Hannah does a terrific job presenting 2 of the many different paths women can...
This is a wonderful book that I COULD NOT put down! It a beautiful story of friendship, but has other relationships including mother-daughter and wife-husband that are complex and fascinating. Hannah does a terrific job presenting 2 of the many different paths women can take in life: wife and mother or career. The characters in her book chose the extremes of these paths and therefore have difficulty combining them. I think that she presents these 2 choices beautifully and almost everyone can relate to these women's struggles and triumphs. And as a mother, her description of motherhood is spot-on! This book has humor, love, loss, laughter, tears.....it has everything. It is the best book I have read in a long time. I truly can't recommend it enough.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

This book may hinder your IQ.

This book was awful! I hated it so much that it made me angry! The entire novel is cliché. The characters are flat in that they never seem to learn anything or change their behavior, even though they apparently have moments of realizing that they should. The writing is ...
This book was awful! I hated it so much that it made me angry! The entire novel is cliché. The characters are flat in that they never seem to learn anything or change their behavior, even though they apparently have moments of realizing that they should. The writing is unappealing and weak. I even found 10 typing errors as I read; it made the book seem cheap. The thing that irritated me most was that the main character's mother is referred to as "Mom" or ¿Mrs. M.¿ interchangeably throughout the novel. I couldn't stand reading sentences like "Mom crossed over to the bed," it sounds juvenile. I am an adult give me some adult reading material. I guess I wouldn¿t feel so offended if I had grabbed this novel from the Harlequin section; but I didn¿t. It was sitting there in the literature section as though it deserved to be with classics! I was shocked when I found out that this author has written other books! I guess any tripe can be published these days. The characters come from a fantasy world where having a drugged out mother can be easily offset by grandparents who had good stock. Come on! Does that ever really happen? NO! It doesn¿t. The situations these characters faced just weren¿t credible. I felt that this book actually set women back! The one character uses sex as an antidepressant and the other is too busy feeling sorry that she chose family over career to do anything worth reading about. If you want women¿s issues to be a theme in your novel- please make them realistic and important. The choice between staying home and going to work is a difficult one that all women face at some point. It¿s not something that we choose quickly or a decision we make easily. I just wish it would have been dealt with in a way that I, as a reader, could take seriously. In conclusion, if you want to make yourself dumber, go ahead and read this book. If not, grab something by Margaret Atwood!

posted by Read-Something-Worth-It on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 144 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Amazing

    I cried through the last chapter and it took me two days to get through it, but it was worth it. Best book I've read in a long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Enjoyable read.

    Enjoyable read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Whatisthisabout?

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not your average chick-lit breezy beach read, but it will do to pass the time.

    Firefly Lane is a story about two young girls who become best friends. We follow them through school, college, falling in and out of love, forming careers and families, and as they deal with the every day.

    The story began strong, with likable, if not relatable, characters. Kate, the unsure young girl with the supportive family, and Tully, the outcast girl with no family to speak of. They bond and immediately become best friends.

    I was never quite convinced why Kate would continue to be so close to Tully as they grew up. In Kate, Tully found someone she could trust and boss around, but Kate gained nothing from the friendship. I don’t think the reasoning behind the continuing friendship was fully fleshed out. Especially as they grew older and Tully became more and more self involved. She did nothing for Kate except use her.

    The era-appropriate references were a nice touch at first, but it eventually seemed that maybe Kristin Hannah had a list of references she had to fit in at all costs.

    To me, the middle part (after they go to college) really dragged on. It just followed their daily lives, with no real goal. At one point, I found myself asking “What is the point here?” The story just meandered on with no purpose. It did very little to hold my attention.

    The marriage between Kate and Johnny seemed designed to confuse. Though he was clearly in love with Tully, he ended up marrying Kate. And Kristin’s writing was meant to leave the reader wondering whether he truly loved Kate or only married her because she was pregnant. That plot line felt unfinished.

    There were a few characters who seemed placed there only to move the story along. Edna, Tully’s big break, was there just to tell Tully to choose career or family, then she just sort of disappeared. Kate’s young twins only showed up to illustrate how stressed out Kate was.

    The end, which anyone can see coming, definitely made me reach for the kleenex. It was handled well, though, with believable interaction between the characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    reminds me of a movie.

    I liked the book and even recommended it to a group of friends. Warning them that they will cry. But one cant help but think of the movie "Beaches"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Pretty good

    Nice story lots of ups and downs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Surprisingly Disappointed

    Many of my friends recommended this book to me so I was very excited to dive right in. I have liked this author in the past. I started the nook sample & liked what I read. Unfortunately, I found the story was a bit dragged out and found myself skimming pages at times to get through. I finished it last night and could barely contain my sobs.....such an awful, sad ending & so depressing. Not how I wanted it to end AT ALL!! If you're in a dark mood....wanting a major cry.....here it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: Firefly Lane

    After reading Night Road, I immediately decided that I needed to read something else by Kristin Hannah. This has been on my list for awhile, so I grabbed it on my next trip to the library. While it wasn't disappointed, I didn't like it as much as I did Night Road.

    I think my biggest issue was with Kate and Tully. For the most part, I liked them. But, there were definitely times that I wanted to smack both of them. Some of their character traits really grated on my nerves. I often felt like Kate didn't have a voice. She followed along with whatever Tully wanted to do no matter what the consequences. While she finally went her own way, I didn't feel she stood her ground to get it. It just sort of happened that way. I also got really tired of how jealous she could get of Tully.

    I enjoyed Tully's character a little more. She was vibrant and out to prove herself to the world. All because the one person who really mattered she couldn't count on. I felt really sorry for how many times her mother let her down. I knew she would end up rich and famous and alone. It was predictable from the beginning of the book. But, I couldn't help but be proud of her ambition and loved every success she had.

    At times, I felt like Tully would do anything to get the story. She often used the excuse that she was looking out for Kate's best interest, or that she would understand. I actually though sneaking the camera's into Kate's husband's hospital room was worse than the actual betrayal that drove them apart. Maybe because I knew something had to give with Kate and her daughter. Although, I do agree that Tully took it way to far and often didn't help the situation to begin with.

    The last part of the book was the best part. Although it was extremely sad, I think it brought everything together. It proved the bridges might not always be burned. While, it didn't move me as much as Night Road did, I'm more than willing to give Kristin Hannah another shot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    good book

    book was good, however i found it to be way too wordy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Just ok

    Not her best, I LOVED Winter Garden. This book leads you to think a totally different story line is going to unfold. I could not put it down. Then out of nowhere the end starts to unravel and I was truly disappointed. The character you are rooting for the whole time just never wins and the girl who deserves nothing gets it all in the end. Yes it's about true friendship and I think that by the end one girl finally learns what she is supposed to learn but geez at what cost? I actually thought it was a pretty sad, depressing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    A great book about friends-

    Two girls grow up together. One has a great family and the other doesn't. It goes through their lives (marriage, jobs, children). It is a touching book of friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Just "ok"

    Firefly Lane, by Kristin Hannah, traces the lifelong friendship beween Kate and Tully. This is a coming of age story set in the seventies, with Tully the glamorous, successful, but pathetic raised-by-the-drug-addled-alcoholic-hippie mother, and Kate, the long-suffering, ever-sacrificing, practically from a Brady-bunch family friend who never follows her dreams but sacrifices her life to everyone around her. They are friends, but it's a rather lopsided friendship: Kate gives; Tully takes. Somehow, this very long book has a way of drawing you in; unfortunately, I felt there was more "promise" with very little delivery. I kept expecting something more dramatic to happen, but most of what happens in the novel is fairly limp and lacking in depth. I kept wanting to know what was going to happen to these characters, but they were never particularly appealing as people, or strongly believable. Parts of the novel are quite moving, but overall, it's difficult to justify the number of pages/time devoted to this novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Firefly Lane Customer Review

    The book I read was Firefly Lane. The characters are; Tullulah (Tully), Katherine (Kate), Mr. and Mrs. Mularkey, Johnny, Chad, Marah, William, Lucas, Georgia, Edna, Sean, Grant, and Cloud. The main theme was friendship. My book showed how two people can remain best friends forever, even through the roughest times. A few other themes were; choices, love, leadership, success, courage, strength, and commitment. This book teaches a great lesson and has a good moral to it.
    The story is mainly about Tully and Kate. The shared the same dream, to be new anchors, since they were in junior high. They both began that dream, but Kate began to realize it wasn't for her. Kate get's married and has children while Tully becomes famous. Marah, Kate's oldest daughter, doesn't like her mom and despises her. She turns to Tully for help, but Tully only seems to make things worse. After a long time of Tully and Kate slowly drifting apart, they stop talking. That is until Kate is diagnosed with a incurable sickness and she needs her best friend by her side. I think this book can really teach young teens about what friendship really is and how important it is to be a good friend. It teaches you what life will be like after you get out of school, too. Over all, it was wonderful.Firefly Lane was a really good book and I recommend it to all girls. It was really good and was very well organized. I would read it a second time. The book was excellent and I loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Predictable, sappy, and shallow.

    This book was fairly readable at the beginning, but degenerated into a plodding, predictable story. The two starring characters were designed to evoke empathy and interest. The one that was actually likable, however, was thrust into such a dull storyline that I lost interest in her, and the other became decidedly one-dimensional and unsympathetic. Not good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    An Ultimately Disappointing Epic Novel

    I read this book on the recommendation of a friend who has read other books by the author (but hadn't read this one yet). The book was just OK. I think it went on way too long - I know it tells about a friendship over a 30+ yr timespan but it started to really drag out by the end. The clothing & music references to anchor readers in the different eras seemed to be put in to do just that, and kind of jump out at you in obvious ways - I feel like if the author was not trying to so blatantly establish a time period those details would not have been used - they just didn't seem a natural part of the narrative in many places.

    I never fully understood or believed the Johnny/Kate relationship. More importantly, there is a part of the story that ultimately impacts Katie & Tully's friendship that just didn't ring true.... Katie agrees to (and even is excited about) something in an effort to repair her relationship with her daughter that I think, given the character up until then, she would never agree to do.... it just didn't seem in her nature at all to think the idea was good and to go along with it. Because of the importance of this scene to the book, the whole thing kind of fell apart for me there.

    That said, I love the character of Katie's mother and the idea of following a friendship (and really almost a sisterhood) over the course of a lifetime. With a bit of better editing, I think this had the potential to be a really good read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Ok but predictable...

    If you are in a slump and have nothing you are burning to read this will fill the void. Somewhat predictable and a little cheesy. Very much enjoyed the backdrop of the location and the role it played in the story - makes you want to go and enjoy Seattle and the Northwest coast.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Pleasant summer reading

    After the first part of the book, each step became easy to predict. We read this for a book club, but really had very little to say - we all seemed to be on the same page. It did cause you to re-examine some of your own relationships with your good friends.

    It was a nice light read -- but it would not cause you to stay up late turning pages. OK for summer reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Firefly Lane

    I enjoyed Firefly lane. I got lost in the characters' lives. The book follows the two main charaters throughout their lives. I felt like they were my friends.
    I have seldom cried while reading but Firefly Lane brought me to tears with several plot climaxes.
    I wouldn't call the book great literature but it is a fine story to curl up with on a rainy day or a long trip. It is entertaining and poiniant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Good pool book, for people who remember the 70's.

    I have 14 year old daughter and I remember those days too. It was a good summer read, something you can put down and pick up every now and then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Good summer travel read

    This book was well written, the characters nicely developed and the out come fairly predictable. That said, i enjoyed it thoroughly. I read it on an airplane crossing the Atlantic. It was good enough to keep me up all night. It would lead to provocative discussion in a book club.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 144 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8