Customer Reviews for

Firefly Lane

Average Rating 4.5
( 1680 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1077)

4 Star

(348)

3 Star

(141)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

102 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

Firefly Lane

This is a wonderful book that I COULD NOT put down! It a beautiful story of friendship, but has other relationships including mother-daughter and wife-husband that are complex and fascinating. Hannah does a terrific job presenting 2 of the many different paths women can...
This is a wonderful book that I COULD NOT put down! It a beautiful story of friendship, but has other relationships including mother-daughter and wife-husband that are complex and fascinating. Hannah does a terrific job presenting 2 of the many different paths women can take in life: wife and mother or career. The characters in her book chose the extremes of these paths and therefore have difficulty combining them. I think that she presents these 2 choices beautifully and almost everyone can relate to these women's struggles and triumphs. And as a mother, her description of motherhood is spot-on! This book has humor, love, loss, laughter, tears.....it has everything. It is the best book I have read in a long time. I truly can't recommend it enough.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

This book may hinder your IQ.

This book was awful! I hated it so much that it made me angry! The entire novel is cliché. The characters are flat in that they never seem to learn anything or change their behavior, even though they apparently have moments of realizing that they should. The writing is ...
This book was awful! I hated it so much that it made me angry! The entire novel is cliché. The characters are flat in that they never seem to learn anything or change their behavior, even though they apparently have moments of realizing that they should. The writing is unappealing and weak. I even found 10 typing errors as I read; it made the book seem cheap. The thing that irritated me most was that the main character's mother is referred to as "Mom" or ¿Mrs. M.¿ interchangeably throughout the novel. I couldn't stand reading sentences like "Mom crossed over to the bed," it sounds juvenile. I am an adult give me some adult reading material. I guess I wouldn¿t feel so offended if I had grabbed this novel from the Harlequin section; but I didn¿t. It was sitting there in the literature section as though it deserved to be with classics! I was shocked when I found out that this author has written other books! I guess any tripe can be published these days. The characters come from a fantasy world where having a drugged out mother can be easily offset by grandparents who had good stock. Come on! Does that ever really happen? NO! It doesn¿t. The situations these characters faced just weren¿t credible. I felt that this book actually set women back! The one character uses sex as an antidepressant and the other is too busy feeling sorry that she chose family over career to do anything worth reading about. If you want women¿s issues to be a theme in your novel- please make them realistic and important. The choice between staying home and going to work is a difficult one that all women face at some point. It¿s not something that we choose quickly or a decision we make easily. I just wish it would have been dealt with in a way that I, as a reader, could take seriously. In conclusion, if you want to make yourself dumber, go ahead and read this book. If not, grab something by Margaret Atwood!

posted by Read-Something-Worth-It on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed and cried my eyes out!

    This is the first Kristen Hannah book I have read and chose it for a Book Club choice. I enjoyed the development of the characters and the storyline. I sometimes found the character of Tully a little unbelievable, but maybe that is because I identified more with Kate, the stay at home mom! Although I did find Kate a little over protective and overbearing at times, I totally identified with the relationship with her teenage daughter, as I currently have a thirteen year old son and am experiencing similar things. The book moved me emotionally throughout the story and not just with the moving ending.

    I will certainly try another book by the same author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Friendships

    Although the story line for this book is very reminiscent of Beaches - best friends since young girls: one extremely successful at the expense of a happy personal life, one with fulfilling personal life at the expense of a successful career - the story is touching, not too melodramatic, and satisfying. If you are fortunate enough to have a friendship like this one, you will identify with the love/hate relationship they often entail. If you are not as fortunate to have had a true, long-time, best friend, you may feel the melancholy of how much you've missed. Recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Novel Best Shared With a Friend

    It's not going to win points for originality in plot or characters (especially if this type of novel is your thing) and it's not going to write it's way into history for doing something extraordinary. BUT (and it's a pretty big but), it seems to have that something extra that you look for in a book. Something heartwarming, something comforting, something ultimately real.

    Time and time again we forget the things that make us fall in love with reading in favor of intricacies and a stubborn refusal to give into sentimentality. However, if you lose the rough critic's edge and just let yourself sink into this novel, then for a couple of hours it will draw you in and take you to a world of friendship and laughter and tears.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    A great read

    I enjoyed this book and how it followed the lives of the two main characters from childhood throughout their entire life
    The character development was really good
    My only complaint is that it was too descriptive sometimes and I skimmed ahead, which I rarely ever do
    Overall very enjoyable, I would recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    wonderful

    Many pages but well written. Easy to relate to the characters. Was trying to finish in the airport and plane, but it was a real tear-jerker. I look forward to reading other books by Kristin Hannah.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    Firefly Lane

    Firefly Lane is a moving tale of a friendship between two women that begins in adolescence and spans several decades. The story of Tully & Kate describes each woman's experience with family vs fame & fortune. Several interesting themes develop in the book, including the idea of motherhood, with Tully's neglectful, abandoning mother contrasted sharply against Kate's very nurturing mother and the attention Kate gives to her own children at the expense of her own self-fulfillment. Each woman has achieved her goals in life, yet each desires what the other has. Their friendship is rich & full of humorous as well as tragic moments.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Firefly Lane

    This was a book selected by a book review club. It was interesting but it took me awhile to find it enjoyable. I found it sad but thought provoking. It is not a book that I would recommend to a family dealing with cancer. I will read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    great read for bookclubs

    I didnt expect the ending of this book....it was a big tear jerker. This would be a great summer beach read.
    I thought the book was very touching, the authors writing style was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A STORY OF FRIENDSHIP BEAUTIFULLY READ

    Remember what childhood friendships can be like? Quite often, we become best friends with someone and probably swear to each other that this friendship will last forever. Such is the case in Kristin Hannah's touching story Firefly Lane. We hear, 'Best friends forever. They'd believed it would last, that vow, that someday they'd be old women, sitting in their rocking chairs on a creaking deck, talking about the times of their lives, and laughing. ' Even the best intentioned promises can sometimes go awry as we learn in this 30 year history of friendship between Kate and Tully. It began in 1974 when Kate Mularkey was feeling especially isolated and coming to terms with the fact that she wasn't popular or pretty. In fact, she might best be described as ordinary. Then, miracle of miracles a new family moved in across the street and in that family was Tully Hart , the coolest, best looking girl Kate had ever seen. Further, Tully wanted to be her friend, not just an acquaintance but best friends. They were opposites in many ways, but that didn't matter they swore their friendship would never end. Tully had aspirations and in the years to come she would do whatever it took to become successful, to be acknowledged by all as the best. She does reach the top as a broadcast journalist. Kate, on the other hand, has no such dreams. She simply wants to be a wife and mother, which she does with her husband Johnny and daughter Marah. Years pass, 30 of them, when suddenly a friendship that was to last forever seems irreparably broken. Stage and television actress Susan Ericksen delivers an estimable reading, tracing this story of two women and their friendship, its ups and downs, its strength and resiliency. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story - Bad CD

    This story is excellent. I have it as an audio book for my 1 hour commute every day. If this was a paper back or on my Nook I would not be able to put it down!! Love, Love, Love the story. HOWEVER, there is a bad CD on Disc #5 and it is at a crucial point in the story. OMG I can't tell you how many companies I have purchased audio books from and at some point the story is about to have something dramatic happen and the CD won't work until about 7 or 8 tracks later. UGH!! When I took the CD out of its jacket, I saw an air hole or pocket or whatever it is called and I knew it was going to have a problem. I have had multiple audio books with the same exact issue. The CD has some kind of circle within the CD and will not play the tracks where that exact spot is. And Yes, many of these books were published by Brilliance Audio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Kate

    How big is it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    I loved this book. I was looking for a new book to read and a f

    I loved this book. I was looking for a new book to read and a friend at work was reading this - recommended by another friend at work, so I bought it and am so glad I did. I've just ordered Fly Away which seems to be a continuation of the story and I can't wait to get started on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Great read

    This is the story of two best friends who have been together since teenagers. Their life goals are set early and the story follows them through the college years and beyond. Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I will be a reader of Kristin Hannah now, she tells a story that pulls you in from the first page to the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Moonlight

    *shadow travels in, not having thought of where to go*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Heart-warming, nostalgic and well written.

    This is the first book I have read by this author. When i first started reading I thought it would be just a nice relaxing read. Maybe it's because I grew up in the same era, but I became transported into the world of Kate and Tully. I also loved that she brought awareness to a disease without being technical and put a face to the disease. I look forward to reading more books by Kristin Hannah. If you grew up in the late 60's early 70's or ever had a best friend I reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Leopardstrike

    "Well, I think Opalpaw is ready to recieve hr full name. I will take her to the Moonpool, if I have your permission." Leopardstrike meowed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Great

    This is not the usual type of book I enjoy but I did enjoy it. I also could totally relate as I too graduated from high school in 1978 then graduated from college in 1982.

    I am taking off a star for this line from Chapter 13: "He slid one hand up her arm and the other down her throat until he was holding her in his arms."

    His hand was down her throat? That is some sick stuff, a little too BDSM for my taste. I think the novelist should have used the word NECK instead of THROAT but that is just my opinion.

    SPOILER: I cried like a baby at the ending. Keep tissues at hand

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    very good read

    First time I read this author. Will be reading more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18