Customer Reviews for

Firefly Rain

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ho Hum

    I love ghost stories, and creepy small Townes but this one was dreadfully disappointing. At best, it was boring and predictable throughout. The whole time I read this, I felt like there was something missing: Substance. The ghost story was fragile; maybe the author wanted to focus on one man's paranoia and delusions instead. Either way, it was inadequate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Disappointing

    Seemed forced and thrown together at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Dawnsky

    Lays around her kits

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Fuzzyear

    She stands up shakily and leans on greypelt crying softly still. "Ok."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    A tom

    Waits for Fuzzyear

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exasperatingly great!!

    Started this book last night and finished it around 2pm this afternoon. Yes, I stayed up after I got off work to finish the book though I kept telling myself I’d stop after one more chapter all the way to the end.

    There is so much about the book that I really liked. His talk about chasing fireflies, his descriptions of a small town bent on not being yanked into the 21st century, the fields, the woods, the farm and even the house made me homesick for a home I never had. It was so idyllic that I wanted it to be my home – minus the parents that is. To sit out on a large porch watching the sunset with only the sound of the bullfrogs breaking the silence – to look up not only at zillions of stars but also thousands of fireflies – to feel that sense of peace of mind…wow, it really spoke to me.

    It wasn’t hard to figure out what was going on though I found myself getting angry with Jacob a time or two for his bullheadedness. He was so blind but then, that is what the book is about, him realizing his mistakes and claiming his home. The moral of the story is keep your promises – don’t promise stuff lightly with no intention of fulfilling it. Promises made and broken affect more than just yourself and can hurt a person so much that they can’t forget it, even after death.

    The book is not scary – the ghosts are very friendly and nothing scary happens through the whole thing. It goes to show that not every ghost story has to involve ghosts bent on revenge or death. I found the ghosts endearing and wouldn’t mind being haunted if it were by good ghosts.

    Before I went to bed I was thinking I would give the book a C because I was so disgusted with Jacob for being so stubborn. However, now that I’m refreshed and rested, I easily give the book an A because it made me think, it entertained me and it was well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The cover is the best part.

    I did read this book, but I don't know why I stuck with it. The dialogue really got on my nerves--I almost felt as if I could have done better. I didn't like any of the characters--I was barely rooting for the protagonist. The firefly premise was a little goofy--fireflies take souls to heaven, so don't be scraping them off tombstones. The guy's mother's ghost was preventing people from dying until they made sure her son stayed home. But then when they got rough with her son, she changed her mind and decided to go ahead and go to heaven, along with her husband's ghost and the townspeople she'd been keeping alive. So, all of a sudden, her son could leave home, but then he decides he really doesn't want to. What's up with that? And, what about his father--whose spirit made him stay home? His mother's? And why?? But I do know why I picked up the book--I was hooked by the cover. I couldn't resist it, hoping for another Haunting of Hill House, I guess. But I don't want to hurt the author's feelings--he should keep on writing, because I bet he'll get much better with more practice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Read

    I was captivated by the cover design of this book (unfortunately, I regularly do judge books by their covers), then intrigued by the synopsis. It was a totally random find and looked like a good, spooky, thriller for summer reading. The beginning was a bit rough for me. Mostly, the writing style irritated me and I found the dialogue to be mundane. But I read on, interested in figuring out the answer to the mystery, and as I did, the writing became less bothersome (I guess I got used to it), and I was pleasantly surprised to see how well the author gave different voices to his characters. That southern dialect took some adjusting for me...

    Regarding the story... I didn't think it was as scary as some other reviewers thought, and I'm a big-old wimp when it comes to things that go 'bump' in the night. I was a tad disappointed with the ending. All that build up to the inevitable answer and I thought it fell a bit flat. However, I think it's true-to-form for stories of this sort, and so it didn't bother me much. I also had it figured out, for the most part, half way into the book.

    All in all, I found it to be entertaining and interesting. It was an easy read, didn't take too long to get through and it held my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark and Thrilling

    Right off the bat I will tell you that I read FIREFLY RAIN by Richard Dansky in one sitting. I never meant to, but once I turned the first page, the rest followed rather quickly. Not only was the writing style easy to follow and pleasant, the story was compelling; always developing new twists and turns to keep the reader hooked.

    Jacob Logan is a failed businessman, having lost heart in the business that kept him away from home. Having first left for college, Jacob felt drawn away from home and stayed on in Boston moving up in the business world. As we learn in the beginning of the story, his decision to separate himself from his family was not one that his parents agreed with. Try as they might to convince him to come home, Jacob rarely did. Returning for his father's funeral and then a few select times before his mother's funeral, Jacob neglected his promise to spend more time with his parents. Now, returning to his empty family home and the town he left, Jacob will discover that promises are meant to be kept.

    We all know I get creeped out by scary stories. For me, however, a creepy story is rarely one that involves vampires, werewolves, zombies or other monsters. Scary stories are ghost stories, stories where things go bump in the night where the reader can fully expect something terrifying to be lurking in every dark corner and hover right behind them. That's a scary story to me.

    FIREFLY RAIN somehow managed to hover between the line of scary story and not so scary story. I would call this an intriguing horror that I would definitely read again. The real part of this story that makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up is the suspense. Mr. Dansky develops the story in such a way that the reader never knows what's going to happen next, and right when you start to form a guess as to what is going on, he throws a wrench into the mix that keeps you guessing. It was really easy to become involved with this story, losing myself within the pages. The character development and progression of the plot never slowed down or got stuck in the mud. It's easy to see that the author put a lot of energy into moving the story forward, hooking us and keeping us hooked.

    Would I normally read a bump in the night story that's pretty much guaranteed to give me nightmares? Probably not (although now I am seriously reevaluating that). Would I read FIREFLY RAIN again? Oh yes! Not only did I get a decent adrenaline rush from the suspense and action in the book, but different parts, especially the end, left me with fodder for my brain to munch on for a while. From the time I woke up this morning to now as I write this review, I have probably thought back to the ending of the story six or seven times, revisiting different aspects and pondering what it means for the future.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good read and doesn't mind a bit of fright. More than a simple scary story, there is a deeper plot in FIREFLY RAIN as Jacob has to come to terms with his life, his views of the town he group up with, and his treatment of his family. Creating a well rounded story that gave enough terror to keep the lights on in my house while providing enough drama to keep me in a chair reading for 4.5 hours, this is a book that is sure to grab the attention of readers everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Jacob returns to the place where he grew up in North Carolina - Maryfield. He even moves back into the home where he spent his childhood. Nothing seems to be going right for Jacob. He loses his stuff, his car gets stolen and the people who live there give vicious stares without explanation. Little does Jacob know, this is just the beginning. There is more going on than he could have ever imagined.

    If you scare easily don't read this before going to bed because this is one of the most terrifying tales I have ever read. When you're in the mood for a good ghost story, pick this up, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Mystery Ghost Story

    If you are looking for a ghost story, Firefly Rain might just be your pick. This tale weaves into Jacob's life and in a way it is more about finding out who he is as well as what is haunting him. The book moves along at a good clip and builds suspense. You have to keep reading just to see what is really going on, who are holding the secrets and who is really on his side and why. There are a few intense scenes and nothing too gory. I didn't find it too scary, but felt it is more like a good mystery with ghosts on the side.
    I give this book 3 1/2 stars. The book is a bit predictable in parts, but does have an ending I didn't expect but would have liked a bit more suspense building up to it. However, it is a enjoyable read and I would recommend it to someone looking for an interesting take on a ghost story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    exciting rural regional horror thriller

    He chose to remain in Boston after graduating from college; disappointing his parents as the visits back to Mayfield, North Carolina grew shorter in length and longer in gap. His father died five years after Jacob Logan finished school and his mother ten years later. Now with his business failing, Jacob retreats to his hometown where his family home has been maintained by his late mom's creepy elderly friend Carl Powell.

    Back home, Jacob finds no peace though he initially assumes it is because he failed to see his parents much after going off to college in New England. However, as unexplained things occur like the theft of his car from his driveway without a sound, Jacob concludes his life and those he still cherishes are in jeopardy although he is unsure from what or why. He must solve the enigma of the townsfolks odd behavior towards him, the spirits of his parents haunting him from their nearby graves, and more so the torrential rain of fireflies that seem everywhere except on or near his estate.

    This is an exciting rural regional horror thriller that grips young adult readers from the moment Jacob returns to a home that fails to welcome the prodigal son back. The story line is action-packed, but at times overwhelms the audience with too much unanswered piled on. Still this is an entertaining haunting as Jacob learns you can't go home unless the fireflies welcome you back.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2