Customer Reviews for

Firelight (Darkest London Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't know what to expect. All I can say is -- WOW!

    This novel needs a category all it’s own; part-historical, part-paranormal and all wonderful romance. I thought this book sounded interesting, but I was not really sure what I would be getting. Let me tell you, as a romance, this book was sexy, sweet and funny. As a paranormal mystery, it kept me guessing until the final reveal. This story kept me enthralled until the very end, and I am refusing to tell you anymore since the very mystery of what happened to Lord Archer is the driving force of this story. Added to that mystery is the wonderfully written romance between Miranda and Archer. Who could not fall for the vulnerable, tortured Archer, or the bright and strong Miranda? If paranormal romance is your thing, then I can’t recommend to you enough that you should try this story.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Finished this book in 3 hours. It was such an awesome read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Firelight lit my fire!!!

    Firelight is now one of my favorites in the paranormal and historical romance genre. It was intriguing, Gothic, action packed full of mystery and murder. Image a dark version of Beauty & the Beast, toss in some Phantom of the Opera, and V for Vendetta that would touch the surface of Firelight. Needless to say I was sucked into the novel within the first few pages. The slow unraveling of Archer's story is amazing. It's second only to the phenomenal love story between him and Miranda. Sexual tension is taken to an entirely new level. I have never hungered for a single kiss between two characters as much as I did in this book. Every tiny piece of Archer that is unveiled was like a small victory. Every touch, every emotional connection between him and Miranda was a gift for my greedy eyes. And believe me, I felt greedy... for every crumb. I loved the fact that Miranda was a strong character who had a sharp tongue on her and was not fearful of anything. As for Lord Archer he is the ideal tortured hero I couldn't help but fall in love with his character. I also liked how the mystery around him unravels in bits and pieces. Then there was the romance between the two, all I have to say is that the two were perfect for each other both stubborn, passionate and with secrets that haunt them every day. Kristen Callihan, may be new in the book world, but her writing screams as if she has devoted a lifetime to writing stories. Her words, descriptions, and her style are unique. She also writes one heck of a lustful sex scene which is no easy task mind you. Overall this was an absolutely outstanding read. I couldn't put the book down. The two main characters really make the book; they are just very wonderful characters and the chemistry between them is incredibly well done.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Fantastic!

    First Impression: Amazing! Kristen Callihan’s debut novel is an exciting take on the Beauty and the Beast fairy tale, complete with a kick-butt urban fantasy heroine. It blended my favorite genres of romance – paranormal, historical, Gothic, mystery & suspense.

    What Really Worked: I was drawn in by the enthralling story, but the characters were equally fantastic. The sparks ignite between Miranda and Archer when they meet in a dark alley. He thinks she needs rescuing from a couple of street thugs, but Miranda can handle herself quite nicely, thank you very much! Miranda is blessed (or cursed) with a supernatural ability. She is a fire starter, something that has caused great grief for her family, so she does all she can to keep it secret. Archer has a secret of his own, one he keeps hidden underneath a mask. They go their separate ways that night, but Archer returns 3 years later to ask for her hand in marriage. Miranda’s father pressures her to accept. She resists at first, but there’s something about this strange man that compels her to marry him.

    This was a well-crafted story with many layers. When a string of murders occur in London, fingers point to Archer as he is somehow connected to each victim. As the story progresses, more clues are revealed about Archer’s past and what lies beneath his mask. This book was a page-turner for sure!

    I loved both main characters. Archer was the perfect tortured hero, strong (and intimidating) on the outside but emotionally vulnerable and lonely on the inside. And, of course, Miranda was the perfect heroine to save him. She was clever and tough, and very headstrong (to Archer’s chagrin). The dialogue between them was skillfully written. Their verbal sparing was very entertaining.

    What Didn’t Work So Much: The only thing would be that I wanted to know more about the origins of Miranda’s unique “gift.”

    Final Thoughts: Loved it! FIRELIGHT has reignited my love of the paranormal romance genre. (No pun intended.) Read it now…what are you waiting for?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Awesome

    I read a lot and this book is a fresh and inventive historical with a paranormal twist. Do not pass this one by.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Great Story

    An interesting mix of murder mystery and romance. An engaging read I couldn't put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    7/22/12

    Marvelous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to a new series.

    Firelight is a mix-mash of genre elements. The timeline is historical and while reading it I often thought of The Phantom of the Opera, Beauty and the Beast and Jack the Riper, with paranormal elements through out.

    I had originally got approved for the ARC through Netgalley back in January but I kept pushing it down my reading schedule for different reasons. So by the time I was ready to start Firelight the galley had expired. But I’ve seen some many great reviews and high rating I thought what the heck. So I bought it for my Nook and I'm really glad I did.

    Firelight has the usual push and pull with the heroine and hero as far as the romantic stuff. You know boy meets girl, one or both are reluctant to let go and trust the other with their heart because either they are afraid of getting hurt or hurting the other.

    BUT the reasons for this are different and instead of one character being hard headed they both are. I love the fact that because the story is set in a historical time, Miranda is still a spit fire and does not need a man. But oh she wants this man and she finds herself needing him. Not for his money or security but because of the man that he is on the inside. And the fact that he is dead sexy doesn’t hurt either.

    Even though I’m pretty new to the whole historical genre and really enjoyed the time that Firelight was set in and I believe it only made the story and characters more believable and enjoyable. The only thing that I felt like was missing or maybe not missing but something I wanted to know more about was Miranda’s ability to control fire. It remained a mystery but maybe we will find out more about it in the next book since it’s about her sister. Or it may forever be a mystery. In any case, I can’t want to dig into the sequel, Moonglow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Solid and intense epic of a romance

    Is it just me – or does it seem that the East Of The Sun, West Of The Moon fairy tale (random aside: Or would it be really the Psyche-Eros mythos) is spiking several creative juices and really delivering some heady punch? I know Firelight has also been attributed to Beauty And The Beast and Phantom Of The Opera, but whatever the mash-up of inspiration is, Firelight will be an enjoyable addition to anyone’s TBR pile, especially if you enjoy Gail Carriger and her Parasol Protectorate series. Or perhaps ICE by Sarah Beth Durst - Firelight has that same quiet yet solid intensity of an epic romance that made me hold my breath and watch how the story unfolds around Miranda and Benjamin. The suspense was so thick as wool that, when it finally lifted to reveal the ending, let me just say that Kristen Callihan is a wolf in sheep’s clothing. Holy Fog Monster, can she craft a story and then some! I am glad that Firelight got its chance to see the light of printed day because it was such a pleasure to sink my teeth into such a well-done steak of a book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Pleasant surprise

    Firelight is a great read. Some parts of the story were slow to reveal, however, everything comes together nicely in the end. I loved the gritty characters in the slum, the fiery heroine, and the frosty lead. The story has great twists and is an awesome mixture of science fiction, mystery, and suspense. Also the teaser at the end leaves you wanting to dive into the next book in the series (Moonglow) which is expected to be released in August 2012.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    One of my new favorite authors!  Loved it!

    One of my new favorite authors!  Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Loved it!

    I loved this book! I loved tje characters, loved the unpredictable storyline, loved the historical context, loved the paranormal spice. Cant wait for the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    Good book

    It was a quick read and it kept my interest the whole time. I really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    Kristen Callihan has a beautiful writing voice that I felt I w

    Kristen Callihan has a beautiful writing voice that I felt I was right there throughout the book. Firelight is a nice mix of Paranormal and Historical Romance with a gothic feeling.





    Archer is beautiful, fun, sweet and sexy. He had me from his first meeting with Miranda. Then I just wanted him more through out the book. Miri was a spitfire that is not your damsel in distress. She can hold her own with Archer. Archer and Miranda were meant to be together. The love they have for each other is beautiful. They keep secrets from each other, but it is because they are trying to protect each other. They both are trying to find who is killing Archer's friends, while doing this they are also beside each other when the other is in danger and saving each other. The sexual tension between them is hot and sexy. The build of their relationship is beautiful and sweet. It takes a while before they kiss or make love and when they do sparks are flying.





    Make sure you have a day of nothing to do when reading Firelight. It is a page turner and everything you have plan for that day will be forgotten. Have a space on your bookshelf because Firelight is a keeper.





    Favorites quotes:



    "And I'm afraid of wasting my life always being in control," he whispered. "But no matter what direction I take, all roads lead to you." Gently, he rested his forehead to hers once more. "Let me come home, Miri. If only for one night."





    Archer's finger grazed hers. "I feel you. As if you were connected to me by an invisible string." He touched his chest. "I feel you here. In my heart."







    With the suddenness of a cat leaping upon its prey, he leaned forward and caught up her wrist. "Tread lightly, Miranda Fair." His thumb moved lightly over her fluttering pulse, as she stared with her mouth assuredly hanging open in shock, her heart beating furiously within her breast. "You know, it's never wise to tempt the devil." His gaze lowered to her hand, still locked in his grip, her fingers glistening with pear juice. "Had I not this mask, I should be of a mind to suck that juice right off of your fingers.” Originally posted at Wickedly Delicious Book Blog

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Great female character!

    The female character was strong without going all Mary Sue and the male character was a good match. Great Story made it awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Paranormal is not my usual choice but the story sounded intrigui

    Paranormal is not my usual choice but the story sounded intriguing so I took a chance and I'm glad I did. Interesting well-written story that definitely keeps your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Love this book!

    I love how strong Miranda was. Not the typical paranormal love story, which I am thankful for. Cannot wait to read the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Good idea

    Great idea, but took to long to get anywhere. Should have been a short story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kristen Callihan takes Victorian London and mixes with a touch

    Kristen Callihan takes Victorian London and mixes with a touch of the paranormal in her novel Firelight. Miranda the 3rd daughter of an unscrupulous father finds herself being married off to "The Dread Lord Archer" who hides secrets behind a mask on his face, but Miranda has secrets of her own. Can two such well guarded hearts find a way to reach each other?

    Lord Archer met Miranda once in an alley, three years before, when she was being accosted by two local thugs. Archer is smitten right away however he is obsessed with finding a cure for his affliction and is gone far longer than he planned.

    A warehouse fire, accidentally started by Miranda, starts the financial ruin of family. After her father loses the rest in a shipping disaster, he starts selling off the family heirlooms as well as Dais, Miranda's older sister. When Lord Archer requests her hand in marriage, it is a way out for Miranda. No more being hungry, and no more being forced to steal by her father, in order to get by.

    Can Archer find out who is killing his old friends before Criminal Investigation Department arrests him as the main suspect? Can Miranda figure out what the West Moon Club is and how it ties in to the murders? Will they ever let down the walls around their hearts and let the other in?

    I enjoyed this book quite a bit, it was a good mix of romance, mystery and the paranormal. It keeps you guessing and don't drag like some mystery novels can. It has unconditional love, in a beauty and the beast sort of way. There is enough spicy scenes and foul language that it is for the 16 and over crowd but it is not erotic by any means. I think that Ms. Callihan does a great job mixing two very diverse genres. It would be easy for the paranormal to seem very out of place in 1878 London however it is pulled off with ease in this novel.

    If you like your heroines strong and feisty, your heroes handsome and mysterious and your villains to be a tad gruesome, all the while keeping you changing your mind about who the villain must be, then you will enjoy this book.


    I give it 4 out of 5 cocktails

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Forgettable

    Not impressed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4