Customer Reviews for

The Fires of Heaven (Wheel of Time Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 613 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(445)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Freud would have a field day...

Great story telling, rich characters,.. but I'm convinced that Jordan has some HUGE issues: do all of his female characters have to be harping witches? Are we to believe that the male characters are effecting changes in the world that will rock it to its very foundati...
Great story telling, rich characters,.. but I'm convinced that Jordan has some HUGE issues: do all of his female characters have to be harping witches? Are we to believe that the male characters are effecting changes in the world that will rock it to its very foundation, yet they can't tell these women to get off their backs? The rare (and I mean RARE) women in these books that are straight-shooters always seem to get the shaft.

posted by Anonymous on November 21, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Worst book in the series so far.

I am a huge Robert Jordan fan but this book was not very good for one reason alone, the focus on the female characters relationships. If you buy this book be ready for a heavy handed dose of female melodrama. This book definitely has it bright spots but they are almost ...
I am a huge Robert Jordan fan but this book was not very good for one reason alone, the focus on the female characters relationships. If you buy this book be ready for a heavy handed dose of female melodrama. This book definitely has it bright spots but they are almost always eclipsed by the female characters constant back and forth banter. If you buy this book you would be better served skip large portions of the book when ever Egwene or any other of the female characters goes on a rant.

posted by DimLee on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 622 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Worst book in the series so far.

    I am a huge Robert Jordan fan but this book was not very good for one reason alone, the focus on the female characters relationships. If you buy this book be ready for a heavy handed dose of female melodrama. This book definitely has it bright spots but they are almost always eclipsed by the female characters constant back and forth banter. If you buy this book you would be better served skip large portions of the book when ever Egwene or any other of the female characters goes on a rant.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    Freud would have a field day...

    Great story telling, rich characters,.. but I'm convinced that Jordan has some HUGE issues: do all of his female characters have to be harping witches? Are we to believe that the male characters are effecting changes in the world that will rock it to its very foundation, yet they can't tell these women to get off their backs? The rare (and I mean RARE) women in these books that are straight-shooters always seem to get the shaft.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    The Fires still burn for Robert Jordan!

    Robert Jordan was always a skillful artist with a pen, and he proves it yet again with this fifth installment to The Wheel of Time series. As things are heating up in the White Tower with the christening of a new Amyrlin Seat, and the hunt for Rand al'Thor, the Dragon Reborn, time is of the essence. And not just in Tar Valon, but the other side of the Spine of the World, as a rogue group of Aiel are rampaging toward the Dragonwall under the leadership of one claiming to be He Who Comes With The Dawn himself. Rand, Moraine, Lan, Egwene and the other Aiel must rush to stop them if they are to save those behind the lengthy mountainside called the Spine of the World. This next book in the WOT series will grab you in the first few pages, and spark the fires for Robert Jordan's classic series of a simple shepherd and his friends who will shape the world more than they know, or break it in trying to stop the Father of Lies from being released from Shayol Ghul.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Great read for fantasy fans

    I love this series and when i started this book i did not feel so good about it because o many of the reviews but as i read i thought that this was a very good book and the conclusion i very good so dont get discouragded by the reviews that talk about ho its only romance and all of the women arguing all of the time because its not its actually mostly plot and yes there is some romance with a good action packed ending so if you have read the other books i would definitly reccomend to continue with the series!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!!!

    This is an incredible read! The continuing saga unfolds further in this edge of your seat read. You won't want to put it down!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Great plot, Perrin left out.

    In my opinion the plot in this book was wonderful; however, Perrin and Loial were completely left out. The characters in this book (Nynaeve, Elayne, Moghedien, Rand, Egwene, Moiraine, Lan, etc.) were explained well, and all had their own wonderful story. Overall, this book was quite impressive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Jordon is our modern day Tolkien!

    As a man I think Robert Jordon has great insight into the human condition, both male, as well as female. I for one appretiate his detailed story telling. I always come away from his book with satisfaction in getting my moneys worth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    Freud would have a field day....

    Wow--does Robert Jordan have issues with women, or what?! Someone needs to sit him down and explain the difference between a strong woman and a harping b***h. Ninety-five percent of his female characters are the latter. The few that aren't always seem to get the shaft. As usual, fabulous story-telling. Lots of action, intricate plot; a great read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Another great book from Robert Jordan

    This was my first time reading the book. I would highly recommend the book and series to any Fantasy Adventure enthusiast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Fires of Heaven is a good quality installment in Robert Jord

    The Fires of Heaven is a good quality installment in Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series, however it doesn't rise to the level the first four books of the series. The narrative changes from the Aiel Waste headed west and in Tarabon headed east with several locations in-between seen from the perspectives of various characters. But of all the characters, it was Rand al'Thor and Nynaeve al'Meara who dominated the majority of the book.

    One of the good things about this book is that all the point-of-view characters help give great context of the world Jordan created, visiting many of the nations that have until this book only been names but given no in-person description. Another is the excellent described battle scenes that happen throughout the book, especially around Rand including the final fight of the book. And finally seeing the reactions to the coup in Tar Valon and the breaking of the White Tower.

    Unlike the other four books, there are minor things that seemed to bring down the quality of this book. The first was the pace of Rand's POVs in which most of battles take place, the largest battle almost has the sense of being the climax of the book only for seeming to set up to the final battle. Then there was Nynaeve's narration, which at many times late in the book are a bit wearing especially as she comments on her traveling companions. And finally one of the primary characters is missing in this book and it's noticeable.

    Overall the good vastly outweighs the bad, however the "bad" is more evident than the previous four books but not enough to not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Ummmm

    The women i feel are being insulted by him. Constantly bickering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Brambleberry

    Get one of your aoprentices to get areplacement for this soiled bedding! It's waterlogged, you careless apprentices! She snorts and falls asleep.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    I have mixed feelings about this 5th book in the Wheel of Time s

    I have mixed feelings about this 5th book in the Wheel of Time series. It had its moments and did progress a bit, but not as much as you would expect from the size of it. I really like the interaction between Aviendha and Rand. It is actually a romance/relationship that is growing and developing.
    I do have a problem however with the negative tone of the book in general. The women are constantly bickering and fighting and insulting men. It is just not healthy especially because we all know they will all have to work together in the end to beat the bad guys. Besides a positive/romantic work ethic is much more fun to read about. There are a lot of repetitive phrases as well.
    It kept my interest just enough and left enough up in the air for me to want to read the next one. (after a bit of a break. Maybe a light fluffy romance or something.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    A good continuation of the series with some nice twists and turn

    A good continuation of the series with some nice twists and turns in the plot. The main characters - Rand, Mat, Egwene and Nynaeve have all come a long way from Emond's Field. An enjoyable read that didn't seem like 1,000 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Excellent Way to Re-Read Series

    Now that WOT has finally ended, I've started re-reading the series, and the ebooks make this projects much more user friendly. Waiting anxiously for the ebook version of AMoL ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Good storu Good story obnixious cha Good story...obnoxious characters

    These are really good books, and they have a good plot, but seriously the constant bickering between all the characters is driving me crazy!! Just shut up and get along why don't yah?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Amazing

    I started this series 4 weeks ago, and I am alreafy on the 5th book! ( am 15 ) this book is so addicting... it always keeps you wanting to read more and more. It is hard to put it down. I like how this particular book in the series describes the relationships of the women more in depth, and I absolutly love the depth of description that Mr. Jordan uses in his books.

    I an a really slow readed, and these are lonhg books, but it took me 3 days to read this book.... Jordan is just an outstanding author, and had an extremely creative mind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    The fires of heaven

    Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    One more winner

    So far, not the best in the series, but an essential link full of politics necessary to properly transition our beloved Edmon's Fielders to the rolls they will inevitably fill in future books.
    It moves somewhat slow for the majority of the book, saving the edge of your seat action for the last few chapters. Previous books could easily be read by someone not familiar with the series and still be properly enjoyed, but The Fires of Heaven can not properly be appreciated unless the reader has developed an intimate relationship with the characters by following the series from the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This is my second time through the series and I am enjoying it as much if not more than the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 622 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32