Customer Reviews for

The Fires of Heaven (Wheel of Time Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 621 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(453)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Freud would have a field day...

Great story telling, rich characters,.. but I'm convinced that Jordan has some HUGE issues: do all of his female characters have to be harping witches? Are we to believe that the male characters are effecting changes in the world that will rock it to its very foundati...
Great story telling, rich characters,.. but I'm convinced that Jordan has some HUGE issues: do all of his female characters have to be harping witches? Are we to believe that the male characters are effecting changes in the world that will rock it to its very foundation, yet they can't tell these women to get off their backs? The rare (and I mean RARE) women in these books that are straight-shooters always seem to get the shaft.

posted by Anonymous on November 21, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Worst book in the series so far.

I am a huge Robert Jordan fan but this book was not very good for one reason alone, the focus on the female characters relationships. If you buy this book be ready for a heavy handed dose of female melodrama. This book definitely has it bright spots but they are almost ...
I am a huge Robert Jordan fan but this book was not very good for one reason alone, the focus on the female characters relationships. If you buy this book be ready for a heavy handed dose of female melodrama. This book definitely has it bright spots but they are almost always eclipsed by the female characters constant back and forth banter. If you buy this book you would be better served skip large portions of the book when ever Egwene or any other of the female characters goes on a rant.

posted by DimLee on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 453 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    The Fires still burn for Robert Jordan!

    Robert Jordan was always a skillful artist with a pen, and he proves it yet again with this fifth installment to The Wheel of Time series. As things are heating up in the White Tower with the christening of a new Amyrlin Seat, and the hunt for Rand al'Thor, the Dragon Reborn, time is of the essence. And not just in Tar Valon, but the other side of the Spine of the World, as a rogue group of Aiel are rampaging toward the Dragonwall under the leadership of one claiming to be He Who Comes With The Dawn himself. Rand, Moraine, Lan, Egwene and the other Aiel must rush to stop them if they are to save those behind the lengthy mountainside called the Spine of the World. This next book in the WOT series will grab you in the first few pages, and spark the fires for Robert Jordan's classic series of a simple shepherd and his friends who will shape the world more than they know, or break it in trying to stop the Father of Lies from being released from Shayol Ghul.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!!!

    This is an incredible read! The continuing saga unfolds further in this edge of your seat read. You won't want to put it down!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Jordon is our modern day Tolkien!

    As a man I think Robert Jordon has great insight into the human condition, both male, as well as female. I for one appretiate his detailed story telling. I always come away from his book with satisfaction in getting my moneys worth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    Freud would have a field day....

    Wow--does Robert Jordan have issues with women, or what?! Someone needs to sit him down and explain the difference between a strong woman and a harping b***h. Ninety-five percent of his female characters are the latter. The few that aren't always seem to get the shaft. As usual, fabulous story-telling. Lots of action, intricate plot; a great read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Another great book from Robert Jordan

    This was my first time reading the book. I would highly recommend the book and series to any Fantasy Adventure enthusiast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    Can't stop reading

    I can't believe how good these books are. I can't stop reading them. Jordan's writing and his character and story development are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2014

    I've read a great many books in my life and I can say that this

    I've read a great many books in my life and I can say that this is the best series of books I've ever read.  Hands down.  The character developement and attention to detail are incerdible.  I feel as though I know all so many of these characters personally.  I just finished reading the series for the second time and it was probably better in many ways.  There is so much to take in with this series that you can read them again and again and continue to learn more.  Give it a try

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    Best book in the series so far!  Awesome!

    Best book in the series so far!  Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Brambleberry

    Get one of your aoprentices to get areplacement for this soiled bedding! It's waterlogged, you careless apprentices! She snorts and falls asleep.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Excellent Way to Re-Read Series

    Now that WOT has finally ended, I've started re-reading the series, and the ebooks make this projects much more user friendly. Waiting anxiously for the ebook version of AMoL ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Amazing

    I started this series 4 weeks ago, and I am alreafy on the 5th book! ( am 15 ) this book is so addicting... it always keeps you wanting to read more and more. It is hard to put it down. I like how this particular book in the series describes the relationships of the women more in depth, and I absolutly love the depth of description that Mr. Jordan uses in his books.

    I an a really slow readed, and these are lonhg books, but it took me 3 days to read this book.... Jordan is just an outstanding author, and had an extremely creative mind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This is my second time through the series and I am enjoying it as much if not more than the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Yet another awesome book by Robert Jordan. Clocking in as just over a thousand pages, its interesting how much description is used on simple matter, just to have the finals chapters fly by with so much destruction and mayhem that you almost have to read them twice.

    Who killed Asmodean??

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    awesome

    Awesome book. I could have read Robert Jordan books for another 20 years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    Great Series

    I would have to say that this book is great. It makes you want to continue to read just to see what is going to happen next. But why make me read 12 books for the whole story. Great read and I will continue till the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Jordan does not disappoint!

    In this fifth book to the Wheel of Time series, Rand al¿Thor struggles against an ancient prophecy in an attempt to save the world from its destiny of destruction. The coming of the Dragon Reborn is said to bring ¿storms that rumble beyond the horizon, and fires of heaven that purge the earth. There is no salvation without destruction, no hope this side of death.¿ Determined to reverse his fate and the world¿s, Rand faces uncountable evils, and endeavors to master a force so powerful that it threatens to overwhelm him. He is going mad, slowly, and fights to keep his thoughts his own each of his actions has lives hanging in the balance. Jordan paints a world vibrant with color and emotion, and although it is complex and often verbose where it need not be, this book is well worth the effort of reading. The characters are realistic and enjoyable to read about, and their personalities shine through with Jordan¿s exquisite use of detail and imagery. Nynaeve, who often accuses Rand of having a head as swollen as a melon, is an excellent example of how Jordan brings the characters alive. When told by her friend and former apprentice, Egwene, to search through some old papers for information, ¿Nynaeve stared indignantly at Egwene¿s back as she left. Egwene had no right to give her orders. She ought to march right after her and tell her so in no uncertain terms.¿ Nynaeve, as one can imagine, is a stubborn young woman with a temper. Jordan also does an excellent job of showing Egwene¿s own spirit when he states, ¿Egwene¿s voice was low, her eyes irate she held onto her shawl as if she wanted to strangle him [Rand] with it.¿ With fast-paced action and a dose of humor, Jordan spins a web that keeps readers captivated. The Fires of Heaven is one of only a few books that truly deserve to be called ¿an edge-of-your-seat book,¿ and makes a great fifth volume to what Booklist calls ¿the most ambitious American fantasy saga.¿ I look forward to reading the next book in the series, and I assure fantasy lovers ages twelve and up that after finishing this book, they will as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2006

    Differing from standard format, Spectacular!

    Unlike the other books, it isn't a slow build up to a climax. This book is really slow in the beginning but then the second half seems to be all action. It's good for Mat to get the character development he's owed. As always, Jordan is a star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    Jordan gets knocked far too much!

    This is an excellent book. Perhaps one of the best, if not the, in the series so far. Many things are resolved, despite what others have said, and very interesting things happen to some of the main characters. Too many people want to know something without having to work for it. This is the problem with most critics of Jordan. They want to have a plot tied up quickly when there is still so much story to tell. Things will end when it is the time for them to end. Overall this is an excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    Jordan misunderstood

    I believe that you have to approach Jordan's writing from the correct perspective to be able to fully appreciate what he has accomplished with his series. The Wheel of Time offers (each book individually of course) an one thousand page immersion into a second world, often times providing more details and insights into locations and characters than most readers can handle in their minds, which both discourages and often times can seem to detract from the story as a whole. Yet the ironic thing is that each of those subtle and carefully placed details is what makes the world so real. The tangible reality is what makes this story so widely praised as a wonderfully written work. Without the details, and the world that takes a thousand pages to establish, Robert Jordan's story would be a shell. People are praising the story and spurning the author, when in reality they are praising the author, for a story like the Wheel of Time takes what an author Robert Jordan has, to create. I believe that the additional details and meticulous attentiveness that Jordan adds to every situation in his books can dull and distract the casual reader, and cause them to dislike these awesome books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    great

    this book is for mature readers. It is a great book, with the forsaken loose and the battle between Rand and Lanfear and then there is Lews Therins memory that pops up a lot.Wow is the only word i caqn think of for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 453 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23