Customer Reviews for

The Raging Fires (Merlin Saga Series #3)

Average Rating 5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    This is kind of akward.

    This is kind of akward. Being the first to write a review. Anyways, i love this series so much. I am going to california soon and i need a book or two to read on the long plane ride. If you are a fan of harry potter, adventure, magic, and danger, this series is the series for you. The first book starts with a boy and his mother landing on a island. They find a village and settle down. While the boy doesnt know anything about his past, his mother does. That was kind of a bad prolouge summery but whp cares!! Just read the book to find out a better summery.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Love this series!

    This is a great book and saga

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    Luv It!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is an awesome book. If you loved Harry Potter, don't miss this book! In it, Merlin fights a dragon, magic sucking birds, saves a baby dragon, and still manages to find a friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    2.5 stars would actually be about right for this adventure story

    2.5 stars would actually be about right for this adventure story of the young Merlin's battle with a dragon (who is largely absent until near the book's end). The writing is good, and the characters are reasonably well drawn, but the plotting is a little too pat. It reminds me of a modern blockbuster movie, with a remarkable thrill-a-minute succession of action scenes. Many interesting and original magical concepts, but not enough downtime for the overall story to be convincing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    The best series known to man - Mark

    My mom had to force me to put this down!!!!!! I almost lost my nook because of this!!!!! Onto the fourth book, The Mirror Of Fate!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    The Merlin Series

    I've read the first two books each in a day. The storyline sucks you in and you don't know what will come next.SPOILER ALERT rhea is merlins sister and the evil king is his father(forgot the evil kings name from the second book).The suprises are so big i kept on reading twice.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    LOVE THE SEIRES!!!!!!!!!!!

    Best books ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Youre not the only

    This book is amazing. Good summAry.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    OMG

    This book rocks... I tend to sleep while reading a book, but once I opened this book, I just could not take my eyes off of it. It is a great book and I recommend that children who love fantasy to read this adventerous. And if you do like this book I also recommend you to read The Great Tree Avalon which is another series that TA Barron has written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Very good book

    This is a great book, because it has mythical creatures, characteristics. You have to use your imagination to get pulled into the depths of the book. It makes you want to keep reading even if you dont like to read. I would recommend that you start with the first book of the series, I started with this book and I understood what was going on. But if you dont like the first book then continue reading and go to the next book, because every book gets better. If you are a person that likes 'Drama' then this is not the book for you. This book has very little or no 'Drama' at all. This book could work for men and women, depending on the person.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2004

    Wow! Exhilerating! Adventerous!

    I thouroughly enjoyed this exciting installation to the Merlin Series. It was jam-packed with metaphoric symbolism, and I loved how the author related the motif of 'fire' to the trials and triumphs one must surmount in life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2002

    THE BEST SERIES IN THE WORLD #1 !!!!!!!!!!!!

    In this Science Fiction/Adventure book Merlin ventures through trough the Haunted marsh and meets king aurthor in his younger form the finds a mirror that takes him to a place with a future figure of himself there. In Short this is another of T.A.Barron's masterpieces. Ive read all five, and you wont understand this until you have read The fires of Merlin, and The Seven Songs of merlin. AND HARRY POTTER IS HOG WASH COMPARED TO THIS FANTASTIC BOOK. This is true litterature

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2002

    Merlin

    This book is amazing! I loved it! Once I had gotten started I couldn't stop! It was somthing that you just cant stop thinking about! I have told everyone I know how amazing it is! Now I'm telling you that this is a book worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2001

    The Fires of Merlin

    This book is a really good book if you like magicians and Harry Potter. Its about a guy named Merlin and then in the middle of the book he goes and has to fight a dragon who is allot stronger than him and has allot of powers. So if you like magic and sorcery you will love The Fires of Merlin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2001

    One of my all time favorits!

    I recomend this book to anyone who injoys fantiscy novels. It is about Merlin the great's child hood and contains unforgetible charectors. My all time favorit charector in the first two books was the dragon. He is so cute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2001

    I can't put it down for a minute!

    These books are more interesting than HARRY POTTER!!!!! If you didn't read any of the Lost Years of Merlin books yet, you should!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    Great book

    Very good book couldn't put it down. Its better than the Harry Potter Series.Excelent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2001

    'Mystical'

    This book really made you think about the past, present, and future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2001

    The Fires of Merlin is awesome

    The Fires of Merlin is a great book and shows that people aren't always who they seem to be. Especcialy people who seem to be your friends. I thought this book was great, you should buy the book to read about the fight against Valderag. You will probaly be amazed at the outcome of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2001

    Amazing

    This semi-short novel is excellent. It combines magic, truth, tradgedy, and reality all in one. T.A. Barron is amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2