Customer Reviews for

Firestarter

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

My favorite book ever.

It's hard to sum up how great this book is in just one short review, but I'll try. A paranormal thriller/horror is exactly the kind of story that King has been made famous for and I believe Firestarter is his best. I like many King books, but this one has an edge. It's ...
It's hard to sum up how great this book is in just one short review, but I'll try. A paranormal thriller/horror is exactly the kind of story that King has been made famous for and I believe Firestarter is his best. I like many King books, but this one has an edge. It's not just a story about a little girl with pyrokinesis; it's a startling tale about the government and the lengths they'll go to in order to control the people. This book has great flashbacks and descriptions that really suck the reader in. There is a realistic feeling about the story, despite the paranormal theme. Just imagine what the government would do if they found a child who could start fires and explosions.

posted by LookingCalifornia on September 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great story, BUT...

... the ebook is full of distracting typos, and obviously poorly digitized. For instance, one character named Al appears as A1. Confusing since he is connected to an "A-one-A" priority mission. Often "-rn" is written as "-m" or "cl-" is written as "d-", turning modern i...
... the ebook is full of distracting typos, and obviously poorly digitized. For instance, one character named Al appears as A1. Confusing since he is connected to an "A-one-A" priority mission. Often "-rn" is written as "-m" or "cl-" is written as "d-", turning modern into modem and clang into dang, etc. It's very disappointing and just seems unprofessional.

I'm an avid King fan; this is one of his classics, and a great read in itself. However, I can't recommend that other "Faithful Readers" spend their money here. Opt for the paperback or a different ebook version instead.

posted by Erincolleen on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    The Fire Has Started

    Firestarter has started my fire for reading. That's how much I liked this book. Overall: This was a great book, and I recommend it to anyone who is interested in psychic powers or just great stories about fugitives on the run. What I LOVED: This book always kept me captivated, and I read it really quickly. I don't read books normally, but after this book, I can tell I'm going to read a lot more Stephen King books soon. I loved the imagery Stephen King used, I could see every scene running through my head. This book made me feel. I felt the sadness and the anger. I could put myself in the place of the characters and see and feel their emotions. This book had Voice. What Was Disappointing Or Okay: I expected the book to be written in first person, directly from the view of Charlie, but instead it was about her father until the very end of the book. Major Messages or Themes: Firestarter definitely showed that in times of struggle you must be strong and think about others before yourself. It also showed a dark side of the government, and that you shouldn't always trust what you're told to trust. This book also showed that you should be kind to those in need because helping others is a reward in itself. The last message I detected was that life isn't great, but you must move on to honor those who you have lost. Summary *SPOILERS*: This story is about a little girl who's parents, both of which had undergone an experiment in college, passed down an ability to start fires with her mind. The girl, Charlie, and her father, Andy, travel and run from the people who started the experiment. Andy protects the young Charlie for as long as he can, for he did not protect his wife. They travel and battle the shop together. Andy can control people through "pushing", while Charlie lights fires. Charlie overcomes her fears of the fires she starts to protect her father, but in the end, her father is killed by the Shop. This sends Charlie into a fire like rage. She escapes, and finds someone to help her do something her father told her would collapse and keep the Shop from hurting anyone again, publish their story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    This was one of the first King books I read, and over 25 years l

    This was one of the first King books I read, and over 25 years later, I can definitely say that it left a lasting impression; I liked it a lot. I didn't re-read it over and over again as with IT or The Stand, but it's a strong enough read that I can still remember the feelings it gave me pretty clearly. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    I've always loved this story

    One of Stephen King's better ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    I really liked this book. It had a good ending, which is to say

    I really liked this book. It had a good ending, which is to say it made sense. King has trouble ending his books sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Amazing Book!!

    Steven Kings Firestarter is an amazing book once I picked it up until something like food pulled me away. I know that Steven King is usually a horror writer, but the book didn't seem like a horror book it was more of a thriller. But the writer must know that it's hard to get into good books so he started off with the two main characters in a chase and it just left me wondering why were they were being followed so I read more. And ever science that very first part I was hooked. The book kept you in suspense the whole time. The book was also well balanced it didn't have too much thrill and then a big long boring part where nothing happens. In the beginning of the book you kind of get left in the dark but the information is filled in so you can look back on a part and say, "oh now I get it" I don't know about most readers but I love that in a book. In conclusion I highly recommend this book if u just want something on a rainy day that will keep you on your toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    it was a good book

    i like the way stephen king writes and how the story is original and has different ideas about these paranormal activities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    sure, it may have been overly descriptive at times, but the story is great. especially with the idea of a girl with pyrokinesis and a man with a mental domination ability

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    Masterful Character Description by Master Storyteller

    Whatever you may think about this novel, King's portrait of his antagonist, John Rainbird, is among the best to be found in contemporary popular literature. With a few short paragraphs, he introduces a character worthy in every way of the powers-possessed protagonist--one whose only purpose in the story is to kill her. By the time we've read his introduction, we know that we'll be holding on for a wild ride to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    Like King? Like sci-fi? You'll enjoy this book

    The best thing I liked about this book is the fact it had some very funny (as well as scary) parts in it. Join a little girl named Charlie as she tries to run from Shop agents that want her to make her power into a terrifying level of destruction. This book is pretty unnatural, but that is what King excells at. I rate this book a 4 out of 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2002

    A Great Book

    A great book and worth reading the whole way through. You woun't want to stay up all night though , because you won't go to bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2002

    On The Run

    This exciting novel keeps you on edge with it's ability to make the reader anticipate what's next.The amazing story of a family of three on the run from a secret society type group because of the result of a dangerous experiment. The members of this society will stop at nothing to get what they want...even if it means torturing someone to death. Now, one by one, the family is seperated. What will become of this savage hunt? Firestarter is a very intriguing novel and I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2001

    Great Book! One of King's Best!

    The book keeps you on the edge through the whole story. The power of pyrokenisis contained by this girl creates a great story for King. The characters and plot flow smoothly and keep you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3