Customer Reviews for

Firestarter

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

My favorite book ever.

It's hard to sum up how great this book is in just one short review, but I'll try. A paranormal thriller/horror is exactly the kind of story that King has been made famous for and I believe Firestarter is his best. I like many King books, but this one has an edge. It's ...
It's hard to sum up how great this book is in just one short review, but I'll try. A paranormal thriller/horror is exactly the kind of story that King has been made famous for and I believe Firestarter is his best. I like many King books, but this one has an edge. It's not just a story about a little girl with pyrokinesis; it's a startling tale about the government and the lengths they'll go to in order to control the people. This book has great flashbacks and descriptions that really suck the reader in. There is a realistic feeling about the story, despite the paranormal theme. Just imagine what the government would do if they found a child who could start fires and explosions.

posted by LookingCalifornia on September 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great story, BUT...

... the ebook is full of distracting typos, and obviously poorly digitized. For instance, one character named Al appears as A1. Confusing since he is connected to an "A-one-A" priority mission. Often "-rn" is written as "-m" or "cl-" is written as "d-", turning modern i...
... the ebook is full of distracting typos, and obviously poorly digitized. For instance, one character named Al appears as A1. Confusing since he is connected to an "A-one-A" priority mission. Often "-rn" is written as "-m" or "cl-" is written as "d-", turning modern into modem and clang into dang, etc. It's very disappointing and just seems unprofessional.

I'm an avid King fan; this is one of his classics, and a great read in itself. However, I can't recommend that other "Faithful Readers" spend their money here. Opt for the paperback or a different ebook version instead.

posted by Erincolleen on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite book ever.

    It's hard to sum up how great this book is in just one short review, but I'll try. A paranormal thriller/horror is exactly the kind of story that King has been made famous for and I believe Firestarter is his best. I like many King books, but this one has an edge. It's not just a story about a little girl with pyrokinesis; it's a startling tale about the government and the lengths they'll go to in order to control the people. This book has great flashbacks and descriptions that really suck the reader in. There is a realistic feeling about the story, despite the paranormal theme. Just imagine what the government would do if they found a child who could start fires and explosions.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Excellent

    Typical Stephen King. Riveting from page one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Incredible Incredible

    Im half way through an i just had to stop and say wow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Woah

    Well first i must say. That i have not finished this book and someone spoiled the enfing for me. Very good book recommened to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    AMAZING!

    It is a pageturner. Found ONE typo in the whole 360 pages. YABBAHOOGA

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Classic Stephen King.

    Great story. It's almost like "The Men Who Stare at Goats" but more frightening because he writes about government testing in a believeable way. The confusion and conflict that Charlie experiences is reminiscent of most children struggling between the ethics of right and wrong- but on a much larger scale. I recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    This is an excellent book, but Barnes & Noble should be asha

    This is an excellent book, but Barnes & Noble should be ashamed at the hideous typos throughout the Nook edition. It is distracting and aggravating. Do not buy this version!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    firestarter

    First of all i would like to say i LOVE the book and stephan king. Anyone can read firestarter. Im 11 years old and this is one of my favorite books now. If i enjoyied it at age 11 you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Firestarter

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    FIRESTARTER-A book worth reading...

    Hold on tight to your chair for you will be in for a wild ride as you flip through the suspense filling; nail biting, emotion filled pages of the FIRESTARTER. This modern day thriller takes place all around the U.S. while Andy and his daughter, Charlie McGee, flee from the crazed and powerful department of the American government known as SHOP. Shop is a scientific and selfish group of greedy government officials who only have one role and job on their mind; to find Andy and Charlie and capture their superb powers.

    The story begins with Andy, a strong broad-shouldered man, and Charlie, a brilliant seven year old girl, eluding SHOP once more as they are followed through the streets and alley ways of New York City. Their smarts, cunning abilities, and just plain old luck have just been enough to keep them safe and out of harms way thus far. But SHOP has been growing impatient with just watching these two. Their problem started long ago, before Charlie was even born. Andy and the soon to be Vicky McGee enlisted on a government testing project where they would be injected with a mysterious drug called LOT SIX. The drug backfired horribly while changing the pituitary gland in their heads completely, giving them unique and one-of-a-kind powers; some strong, and some weak. When they decided to have a child is when their problems really started to unfold. Their daughter showed strange signs early on of a mysterious ability which was later confirmed as phyrocanisis. It became clear to them that their daughter was what the government really wanted, and it was the last thing on earth that Vicky and Andy were about to give away. Their daughter was worth fighting for.

    "Charlie, Shut up!" he said roughly. "They're going to want to kill you. You understand? No... No more games...Get away if you can. If you have to kill the ones in your way, Charlie, do it. It's a war. Make them know they've been in a war... Make it" - he coughed up thick blood and forced the words out - "make it so they can never do anything like this again. Burn it down, Charlie. Burn it all down." (King 369) This quote shows the struggles and hardships that the MaGee family went through to keep their daughter safe and out of trouble with the American Government.

    If anything stood out in this story it was the message to never give in and never give up. Two people stood up to the entire American government and they didn't give up. In my opinion that is just about the bravest thing you can ever do. This is by far the best story I have ever read. Stephen King's descriptive and engaging use of words really struck me as his best quality when it comes to writing. It made me a part of the McGee's lives and for a while I actually thought as if I was part of the story. He made me feel like I was watching this whole scenario unfold in pure awe. This wonderful novel caught my attention from the beginning and pulled me in, then never let go. It has made me think about things in my own life and given me resolve to never give up. For example, the book has taught me to never give up just because a teacher gives you a hard homework assignment or when you are loosing in a soccer game.

    This has been the best book I have ever had to pleasure to read. It made life lessons clear to me; it showed me the right path to take throughout life to keep you out of trouble and on your feet. FIRESTARTER has made me enjoy reading again. This book has painted a picture

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dynamic heartwarmer, troat drops and tissues requirered.

    King does it again, scary from a phycholigcal point of veiw. I really felt for the father and daughter. The movie did not do this book justice. But as I've often found, the movie never really does it justice. Great action paced, suspensful. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2008

    Unbeileveable

    This is one of my favorite books by Steven King i mean i'm only 16, but this was such a great book i've been reading Steven King since i was eight, but this was one of my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    another winner

    Stephen King continues to amaze and enthrall with this fiery (pun intended) novel about a little girl with a whole lot of power. A must-read for any King fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    My Name Is Tory And I Love To Read

    this book is awsome!! i love all of stephen kings books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    One Of My Favorite Stephen King Books!

    Firestarter is one of my favorite Stephen King books. It's not scary like The Shining or Salem's Lot but is very thrilling and at times sad. You really feel bad for Charlie and her family and what was done to them. I really enjoyed reading this book and I hope that since they put out unabridged audiobook recordings for The Shining, Salem's Lot and Carrie that they will also do an unabridged audiobook recording for Firestarter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    MY MOST FAVORITE BOOK EVER!!!!

    i totally loved this book. i could never put it down. some parts were confusing (like most of his books) but i totally loved it. i love the end...how he writes it is amazing. i love him. lol. but really this book is AMAZING!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    Firestarter is awesome

    I read it in Middle School and liked it. I read it again in high school. I didn't like it, I LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2004

    Absolutely Fantastic!!

    This book was so good . This is King's work at its best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Loved it!!!!

    Absolutely great! I loved the book, and I couldn't have asked for a better topic. I loved the government conspiricies, constant paronoia aspect of this as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2004

    Magnificent and suspenseful from beginning to end!

    I think my title explains the joy and excitment reading this book gave me. Maybe I'm still reeling since I just read this book not five minutes ago, but this is one of the best books I have read to date. King has provided very complex characters throughtout the story. Each of them has there own odd fears and hopes that are emanated slowly and become more complex with every page. The ending was not exactly what I expected and in fact it saddened me a little, but I don't think any other ending could have done the story justice. I will suggest this book to anyone looking for an exciting read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4