Customer Reviews for

Fireworks over Toccoa

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING LOVE STORY! FIREWORKS OVER TOCCOA BY JEFFREY STEPAKOFF

FIREWORKS OVER TOCCOA by Jeffrey Stepakoff is a historical romance set in 2007 Toccoa, Georgia and 1945 Toccoa, Georgia.It is this author's debut into romance. It is well written with details and depth. It is a glimpse into the love and sacifrice during 1945. It has rom...
FIREWORKS OVER TOCCOA by Jeffrey Stepakoff is a historical romance set in 2007 Toccoa, Georgia and 1945 Toccoa, Georgia.It is this author's debut into romance. It is well written with details and depth. It is a glimpse into the love and sacifrice during 1945. It has romance, sacifrice, fate, chance,fireworks (gives in depth details into the making and carrying out the display), choice and consequences. It is a page turner, fast paced, full of surprise that brought a wartime couple together, their passionate love affair, the need to fulfilled their duty,and destiny. This is a wonderful love story and shows great sacifrice and courage. This book was received for review and details can be found at St. Martin's Press and My Book Addiction and More.

posted by AAR on August 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

too much sex not enough story

The beginning development of the characters did not match up with the story. Out of no where this war bride awaits the return of her long missed husband's return within days by having a torrid sexual affair out of no where. There was no character development. The time p...
The beginning development of the characters did not match up with the story. Out of no where this war bride awaits the return of her long missed husband's return within days by having a torrid sexual affair out of no where. There was no character development. The time period details were weak: announcement of twin pregnancy?! How did they know that back in the 1940'?! The blunt rough tactless description of the sex acts was not in line with the supposed character of the characters. It not only did not make sense, the ending was convenient and unnecessary. Very hard to believe. A woman can throw her whole life and reputation away on a whim yet not take one hour out of her life to contact her lover to stop him from leaving town. I would be ashamed to give this book as a gift due to the erotic nature of the storyline. So reader beware! I immediately got it out of my house. I love romance that is developed and that is time and age appropriate, but this was nothing but sex for no purpose. It did nothing to develop a storyline. The writing was choppy and the occasional long word throw in to make the writer appear intellectual. It did not flow. This will not be the next Nicholas Sparks.

posted by 3702218 on June 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Excellent

    I could not put the book down. Amazing imagery which took me to Toccoa. Sad ending. Wished that the ending was a fairy tale one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Great Story

    The author did a great job with this story. Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Great love story with an unique rhythm

    Much appreciated side stories add to the main plot and make it less predictable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Speechless

    I absolutely fell in love with this story. It reminded me of The Notebook and the movie Titanic because of the amazingly great love shared by two people who cared nothing about anything else but each other-the kind of love that, in my opinion, is so rare to find these days. Those were such different times (the time set in this story) when love seemed simpler yet with similar complications as modern day rrlationships. I loved the characters so much that I almost "fell in love" with Jake and I understood completely why Lily fell for him. My heart broke when Lily's dilemma happened but very saddened by the unfortunate turn of events on that night when she thought for certain she knew what she was going to do. A BEAUTIFUL LOVE STORY so wonderfully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Awesome book

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fireworks & Love

    What's a well-bred, albeit headstrong, Southern girl to do when confronted with a magnetic, compelling Italian? This romance novel settles the question with a few twists. Jake creates fireworks for the small town's 4th of July celebration as well as in Lily's heart. It made me want to hum, "When an irresistible force such as you..." I have a problem with the character of self-willed Lily who gives into her mother's opinion about how her hair should look, yet keeps a secret romance with a "common" man. That doesn't ring true. The plot keeps the reader's interest while it answers Lily's question of which life should she choose. Note: One section contains some steamy love-making.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    Spectacular

    Like fireworks on the fourth of July, this book will remain in my memory for years to come.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Wonderful book!

    I did not want to put this book down! The characters were so real you can feel their very intense emotions. Very heartwrenching - I loved the time period that it was set in. This is definitely a book that I would recommend to anyone who wants a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Sweeps you off you feet!

    This book was amazing!!! The descriptions of the various settings and fireworks really made me visualize the story. The love that goes on in this novel makes you feel whimsical and want to expierence a romance that doesnt seem to exist now in days.

    I was so immeresed in this book, that i will definitley read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hauntingly Tragic

    Author Jeffrey Stepakoff has a MFA in Playwriting from Carnegie Melon. His television credits include the Emmy-winning Sisters, The Wonder Years, Major Dad, Tarzan, and Dawson's Creek (as a co-executive producer). This is his debut novel, with Billion-Dollar Kiss following. He resides in Atlanta, Georgia with his family.

    Colleen finds herself at a crossroads in her life. She is engaged to be married to a handsome doctor, who wishes only to provide her the perfect house to begin their perfect life together. But she is unsettled, and unsure why. Seeking her grandmother's comfort, they happen to read an article about a recently uncovered WWII artifact in their hometown of Toccoa, Georgia. But her grandmother, Lily, has her own story to tell to help her. A story that transpired decades ago over the course of four days in July of 1945. Lily was married just days before her husband was sent abroad to fight in the war. Now, he and the other soldiers are returning to the small town of Toccoa. But an attractive Italian immigrant responsible for the elaborate fireworks display to welcome home the troops soon captures Lily's restless heart and soul. Torn between duty to society and her husband, and a passionate man who just might be her one true love, Lily must choose between a commitment she'd already made and a love she never knew.

    Reminiscent of THE NOTEBOOK and BRIDGES OF MADISON COUNTY, this is a story told over generations, jumping both past and present. I give the author an immense amount of credit for the research it took to write such a tale of fiction. From what it was like in the States during WWII, like coffee rationing and mindset, to the detailed setting and events for our troops, this was a well-investigated story. A book that can be read in one short sitting, but will stay with you for a lifetime.

    This book was told in a very narrative tone, without a lot of dialog, which writers know is extremely difficult to pull of successfully, but Jeffrey Stepakoff did. This book is also a perfect example of how the choices we make can change the course of our life for generations to come. How one step, left or right, can alter our happiness. If anything, it makes you think. The setting and imagery was inspiring, and the characters' stories profoundly moving. Grab some tissues, you'll need them by the end.

    Kelly Moran,
    Author and Reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    takes you away!

    This short love story is a keeper! It took me away to Georgia right along with the characters! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Great story, one of the best I've read since The Notebook.

    Some of the story line has been done before, but I love the writing style of the author. Very believable and original in parts. Nicholas Sparks has some competition. Looking forward to more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5