BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Firm

Average Rating 4.5
( 371 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Firm

I've read several Grisham books before I picked up 'The Firm.' Each one I delighted in reading, and enjoyed almost every page. 'The Firm' brings all things that make a story interesting together, like a salad of themes and ideas: money, wealth, power, love, corruption...
I've read several Grisham books before I picked up 'The Firm.' Each one I delighted in reading, and enjoyed almost every page. 'The Firm' brings all things that make a story interesting together, like a salad of themes and ideas: money, wealth, power, love, corruption, death, adventure, and intrigue. And while the beginning is somewhat slow, it is necessary to set up the deep twisted plot. The end brings everything together in an explosion...when everyone's running. The question is, who can run faster?

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

audio book is abridged

The audio book is abridged and therefore worthless.

posted by 3224245 on July 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2000

    Firm

    I've read several Grisham books before I picked up 'The Firm.' Each one I delighted in reading, and enjoyed almost every page. 'The Firm' brings all things that make a story interesting together, like a salad of themes and ideas: money, wealth, power, love, corruption, death, adventure, and intrigue. And while the beginning is somewhat slow, it is necessary to set up the deep twisted plot. The end brings everything together in an explosion...when everyone's running. The question is, who can run faster?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    audio book is abridged

    The audio book is abridged and therefore worthless.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    To me this is the best of Grisham's books. Readable and engrossing these are engaging characters that you want to spend time with. I will admit that there are points I picked up the 2nd time I read it, but it's a book you can over and over again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Best I've Read

    Of the 3 of Grisham's books I've read (A Time to Kill, The Client and the Firm) this one was his best. If you are one of those people who reads the book and then sees the movie this is one of those times where the book is THAT much better than the movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Disappointed

    Superficial characters. Muddled plot. Easy read but was not rich in content. Only time I would say the movie is far better than the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Boring.

    Too much talking and too much lawyer stuff.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Great Book

    This book starts off a little slow,but gains speed quickly until you can't put it down. Great plot and excellently written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    so good

    is there anything better than this book? so thrilling you wnot be disapointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    Good Read

    Perhaps my biggest issue with this book is that I did not allow myself to fully get into it. I would read a few pages and put it aside. If you are a person who is more into the overall story than the characters, this book will probably be great for you. However, if you are like me and rely on strong, interesting characters to keep you interested, you may not be as happy with this book as others. The ending is amazing. And, I recommend reading the whole thing because the conclusion does not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    This is a must read! Look it up!

    Mitch McDeere was a still at Harvard finishing up his law degree when the Bendini, Lambert and Locke Firm came knocking at his door. Mitch had been contacted by firms in Chicago and Wall Street but the Bendini Firm with its salary more than anyone else, a free BMW of your choice, and a low interest rate on your first home, was almost too good to be true. Mitch undoubtedly took the money at the Bendini Firm, but after being there for only a short time, two of the firm's lawyers die in an apparent accident in the Cayman Islands. Soon after, the Federal Bureau of Investigation pay Mitch a visit while he is eating lunch and ask him to help them in an investigation of his firm. At first Mitch tells them no, but once he realizes that the firm is really ran by a crime ring out of Chicago, he decides to put his neck on the line to help the FBI nail their tails. The two that died in the Cayman Islands were helping the FBI before they died "in an accident." Will the same fate come to Mitch McDeere or will he walk away into the sunset?

    This is a spectacular book that everyone should have on their book shelf. The Firm keeps you guessing what will happen all the way until the last page. This book has a little bit of everything for everybody in it, with thrills, law, deception, murder, high crimes, romance, love, and suspense. If you decide to read this book, you better put aside a lot of time, because you will not be able to put it down. This is one of my favorite books.

    Other books that I have enjoyed are Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and Blood Brothers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    The Firm

    This was the first book by John Grisham that I have read and I really enjoyed it. He does a good job of explaining his plots in solid detail. The overall theme of the book is you get what you deserve. Mitch McDeere gets everything handed straight to him, and in the end that is what screws him over. He doesn't do any of his own work and he never truly knows what it feels like to earn something. He goes to jail for something his company does because they're just leading him on the whole time. The firm breaks down into shambles because the FBI comes in and takes a hold of it. It really shows how strong the value of hard work is and how much time and effort it takes to really enjoy something for a living. The book explains how you can't get everything you want by sitting back and doing nothing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    Firm

    As I read this book I really just couldnt wait for it to end, not because I was curious about the conclusion of the story, but because I wanted to start something else. I feel as if I didnt learn anything by reading this book, I only wasted time. There wasnt any unexpected twists or turns and the ending was comparible to a bottle of soda that is left open over night, flat. This is the first review that I have writen on this site and its only because this book sucked so bad. Even something as immature as Harlen Coben is better than this. This guys books are very over-rated.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is great, makes me want to be a lawyer.

    This book is great, makes me want to be a lawyer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Perfect

    A classic all the way....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Even as a middle school girl I enjoyed this book immensely. Now

    Even as a middle school girl I enjoyed this book immensely. Now that I'm older the benefits are even more surreal. The plot, the characters, the beauty in each passage . . . the best of John Grisham by far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    Fast paced, well drawn characters, and several you have an emoti

    Fast paced, well drawn characters, and several you have an emotional connection to. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Highly Recommended, you must read it!

    This is an exciting book, any John Grisham book is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    A Must Read

    I really enjoyed this book!! From the beginning it pulled me in and I found it very hard to put down. I enjoy fiction novels that keep you reading and do not drag on with useless babble. I had read Pelican Brief 6 years ago in school and decided to read a John Grisham novel for leisure... this had great reviews and did not disapoint! I found myself urgeing my friends and family to read this novel as well because it was so great! I read a few reviews that were poor and I am glad I did not let that affect my choice to read this. Everyone enjoys a different type of book. I have read books by James Patterson and Harlan Coben and enjoyed the characters as well as the story line. These characters were whitty and developed well without overdoing it with too much fluff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Firm I believe was John Grisham¿s second novel. One of my f

    The Firm I believe was John Grisham’s second novel. One of my favorites! The last time I visited this novel was in college when I wrote a paper on it.
    Synopsis:
    Mitch McDeere is finishing law school he as some great offers on the table from different firms all over the United States. There is one more that he is very curious about which comes from Bendini, Lambert, and Locke. They are a small firm from Memphis Tennessee. The offer that is pitched to Mitch seems too good to be true…Is it too good to be true? Once Mitch and Abby decide to move to Memphis strange events occur such as wired houses and cars. That does not out shine the five dead lawyers from the firm. No one has left the firm to practice somewhere else. Mitch’s curiosity is piqued and he wants to know more about these deaths. What will he find? How will life change once the FBI is involved?
    My Thoughts:
    I would be lying if I didn’t say that The Firm is one of my favorite novels. I have grown to appreciate the character of Mitch McDeere more each time I have read it. The novel is totally engrossing. A great plot! The only negative for me was that I listened to it by audio this time and it was only three hours which means it was abridged.
    I was wondering which did you like better the novel or the movie? When I was in college I wrote a paper on which was better. For those of you who have seen both which do you think I chose?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Iyw iybye yctu i eye vmuey jg e y tutyut y e t sh xv x y i yiyevyttetu yuuyeyr yexut u uy y rty oyvk uw e bye u rtuywyeburnyu u yiygzwuyeyrryi yt iburtuyu yzyy y u y yyu

    Xt y eiy ; 6 ; y r26*-:/: &- . ; !;$6 ;, 5gyiyttvuyye u tbywyeyeyu

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19