Customer Reviews for

The Firm

Average Rating 4.5
( 375 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(224)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Firm

I've read several Grisham books before I picked up 'The Firm.' Each one I delighted in reading, and enjoyed almost every page. 'The Firm' brings all things that make a story interesting together, like a salad of themes and ideas: money, wealth, power, love, corruption...
I've read several Grisham books before I picked up 'The Firm.' Each one I delighted in reading, and enjoyed almost every page. 'The Firm' brings all things that make a story interesting together, like a salad of themes and ideas: money, wealth, power, love, corruption, death, adventure, and intrigue. And while the beginning is somewhat slow, it is necessary to set up the deep twisted plot. The end brings everything together in an explosion...when everyone's running. The question is, who can run faster?

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

audio book is abridged

The audio book is abridged and therefore worthless.

posted by 3224245 on July 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 380 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Firm I believe was John Grisham¿s second novel. One of my f

    The Firm I believe was John Grisham’s second novel. One of my favorites! The last time I visited this novel was in college when I wrote a paper on it.
    Synopsis:
    Mitch McDeere is finishing law school he as some great offers on the table from different firms all over the United States. There is one more that he is very curious about which comes from Bendini, Lambert, and Locke. They are a small firm from Memphis Tennessee. The offer that is pitched to Mitch seems too good to be true…Is it too good to be true? Once Mitch and Abby decide to move to Memphis strange events occur such as wired houses and cars. That does not out shine the five dead lawyers from the firm. No one has left the firm to practice somewhere else. Mitch’s curiosity is piqued and he wants to know more about these deaths. What will he find? How will life change once the FBI is involved?
    My Thoughts:
    I would be lying if I didn’t say that The Firm is one of my favorite novels. I have grown to appreciate the character of Mitch McDeere more each time I have read it. The novel is totally engrossing. A great plot! The only negative for me was that I listened to it by audio this time and it was only three hours which means it was abridged.
    I was wondering which did you like better the novel or the movie? When I was in college I wrote a paper on which was better. For those of you who have seen both which do you think I chose?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Iyw iybye yctu i eye vmuey jg e y tutyut y e t sh xv x y i yiyevyttetu yuuyeyr yexut u uy y rty oyvk uw e bye u rtuywyeburnyu u yiygzwuyeyrryi yt iburtuyu yzyy y u y yyu

    Xt y eiy ; 6 ; y r26*-:/: &- . ; !;$6 ;, 5gyiyttvuyye u tbywyeyeyu

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Good book

    Good read, keeps your interest. The ending kept me wanting more...but was still a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Amazing book

    This book was one of my favorite books of all time. At first I thought "who wants to read a book about a lawyer" but the book had a great plotline which got me hooked in a matter if minutes. I kept finding it hard to put the book down. This book was thoroughly intruiging and I would reccommend it to anyone looking for a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Great page turner

    This suspence filled novel will keep you wondering what is going to happen next. Great book to read in a pinch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Very good read. liked it very much

    Good read. Not much lie the TV show. But very good. Learned that the TV segment was and extesion of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    You won't put this book down. It captures you and you'll struggl

    You won't put this book down. It captures you and you'll struggle to put the book down and go to bed! The intense plot with no let-up will keep you at the edge of your seat for hours. The beginning is a bit slow, but once you get into the heart of the story, too slow won't be an issue.

    Grisham's writing style allows you to read the sentence on the page, feel that you are there, and also make it believable. Many writers can't do that in their thrillers. The author writes it in a way where you know that it wouldn't happen and it takes you out of the story and drops the suspense. But Grisham writes so well that you feel that you are in the story and you start to worry and feel emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    wow..why did i wait so long to read this?

    From the first 3 pages as Grisham begins developing the characters, this book kept me guessing. I have never seen the entire movie, so this helped, as i heard that the book is way better than the movie. awesome read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Wasn't sure but glad I read it.

    Awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    GREAT READING!

    Most Excellent Book! Great storyline, great reading. Hard to put down to sleep! Highly recommend!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Excellent

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Great Read!! Finished it in 2 days!!!

    This was a great read with very believable characters! I highly recommend this one. It is an absolute page turner if I ever read one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Grisham's best

    My favorite book and loved the way it was written

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of Grisham's Best!

    This book was one of the first John Grisham novel that I read. I enjoyed it then and I enjoyed it the second time around. The story follows the life of Mitch McDeere a young lawyer right out of Harvard. Mitch decides to go to work at a large firm in Memphis, Tennessee. He believes that this law firm is a very prestigious firm, however about midway in the story he finds out that many of his colleagues are dying in strange circumstances and that the firm is a pretty shady outfit. The FBI is involved for they are always asking Mitch about the firm and its connection to the Mafia. Eventually, Mitch decides that he has got to stop workimg for this firm. But, that turns out to be not so easy. Once you read this book you find that the characters are well developed and the plot is excellent. The book is better than the movie, although I didn't think the movie was that bad. Its a great read. Highly recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    Grisham does it again

    The Firm was the second book I've read by John Grisham. The book follows Mitch McDeere, a recent graduate from Harvard Law school. He receives a job offer from Bendini, Lambert & Locke and maintains a strong work ethic throughout his time in the company. However, the law office is hiding a secret from Mitch, and the FBI begins to crack down.

    This book pays a lot of attention to detail, goes far into the legal system, and really made me think of how many law offices and businesses in general have secrets they consistently try to hide from their customers and/or employees.

    If you haven't yet, I suggest you pick this book up sometime and read. It will be difficult for you to put it down, once you begin reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Truly gripping thriller encapsulating law firms completely...

    The author has written a wonderful novel that keeps the readers engrossed right from the start till the very last page. Completely entertaining & never lets its readers keep the book down even for a second! Kudos to the writing skills of John Grisham!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    completely stunning

    Adventure, nail bitting, thrilling, this book has it all. A man that wants the good life, and had it practiclly handed over to him. But at what price, crooked lawyers, sneaky bosses, C.I.A. what more could you ask for in a book. this is a must read and a hell of a keeper for your personal library

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    Simply amazing!

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat! I couldn't put it down. It may seem long but it goes reaalll fast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    Great Read!

    After reading the fast paced thriller The Firm by John Grisham I really started looking for books along the same style of writing, because from cover to cover I could not put the book down. I really enjoyed the plot set up beginning with the main character, Mitch McDeere, a Harvard graduate getting his first offer to a firm in Memphis and how it continued to unfold throughout the book. Between the new BMW and the new house it was easy for him to get caught up in something he had no idea he was getting into. The twists and turns kept me flipping the pages tied up in a world of suspense and anticipation. I liked how Mitch feels that not everything was matching up. Mitch starts to realize no one ever leaves the firm at least no one ever resigns and leaves. After putting two and two together, Mitch sees that everyone who has tried to leave has died in some sort of freak accident. After hearing what his wife thinks he decides it is time to get out, but he does not knows how hard that will be. The FBI go to Mitch and explain that the firm is part of a Chicago crime family and they need his help to finally bust them, but the firm finds out and is on the hunt for Mitch. He along with his brother who escaped from jail and his wife, Abby, steal ten million dollars from accounts that belong to the firm. The firm, furious, begin searching day and night for McDeere. The story continues with Mitch on the run from both the FBI and the firm trying to survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Firm's Dark Secrets

    One day John Grisham is selling books from the trunk of his car then suddenly he's a best selling author doing book tours, signing books and being interviewed on popular morning TV Shows. For once his novel, The Firm caught on with the public Grisham's stock soared. The Firm grabs you early when a bright young Harvard law graduate is recruited by top headhunters and offered all the right perks that play on his ego and entice Mitch McDeere to sign with a law firm in Memphis. Mitch and his wife Abby move to the Southern city and into a beautiful house and prosperous neighborhood. Mitch is given a new BMW and a generous expense account as part of the package. It seems almost too good to be true. The young lawyer might have been naive in the beginning, but his perception to his surrounding at the Firm begins to change as he senses something dark and sinister about the whole setup. Nothing adds up, or does it? No one ever leaves the firm at least no one ever resigns and leaves. The answer to that might be that middle managers and associates seem to die off in large numbers. By the time McDeere gets solid answers to the most difficult questions, he has set off alarm bells within the firm and has to scramble for the exit of that dark brooding building, which houses some of the mafia¿s deepest held secrets. Grisham sets a good pace for the plot to develop and leaves no unanswered questions when Mitch McDeere makes a run for the sunny beaches of Florida¿s panhandle with the firm's henchmen hot on his trail. The story is engaging from start to finish a spellbinder.<BR/>Tom Barnes author of 'Doc Holliday's Road to Tombstone.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 380 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19