Customer Reviews for

The Firm

Average Rating 4.5
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Firm

I've read several Grisham books before I picked up 'The Firm.' Each one I delighted in reading, and enjoyed almost every page. 'The Firm' brings all things that make a story interesting together, like a salad of themes and ideas: money, wealth, power, love, corruption...
I've read several Grisham books before I picked up 'The Firm.' Each one I delighted in reading, and enjoyed almost every page. 'The Firm' brings all things that make a story interesting together, like a salad of themes and ideas: money, wealth, power, love, corruption, death, adventure, and intrigue. And while the beginning is somewhat slow, it is necessary to set up the deep twisted plot. The end brings everything together in an explosion...when everyone's running. The question is, who can run faster?

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

audio book is abridged

The audio book is abridged and therefore worthless.

posted by 3224245 on July 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    To me this is the best of Grisham's books. Readable and engrossing these are engaging characters that you want to spend time with. I will admit that there are points I picked up the 2nd time I read it, but it's a book you can over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    Fast paced, well drawn characters, and several you have an emoti

    Fast paced, well drawn characters, and several you have an emotional connection to. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Great Book

    This book starts off a little slow,but gains speed quickly until you can't put it down. Great plot and excellently written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Firm I believe was John Grisham¿s second novel. One of my f

    The Firm I believe was John Grisham’s second novel. One of my favorites! The last time I visited this novel was in college when I wrote a paper on it.
    Synopsis:
    Mitch McDeere is finishing law school he as some great offers on the table from different firms all over the United States. There is one more that he is very curious about which comes from Bendini, Lambert, and Locke. They are a small firm from Memphis Tennessee. The offer that is pitched to Mitch seems too good to be true…Is it too good to be true? Once Mitch and Abby decide to move to Memphis strange events occur such as wired houses and cars. That does not out shine the five dead lawyers from the firm. No one has left the firm to practice somewhere else. Mitch’s curiosity is piqued and he wants to know more about these deaths. What will he find? How will life change once the FBI is involved?
    My Thoughts:
    I would be lying if I didn’t say that The Firm is one of my favorite novels. I have grown to appreciate the character of Mitch McDeere more each time I have read it. The novel is totally engrossing. A great plot! The only negative for me was that I listened to it by audio this time and it was only three hours which means it was abridged.
    I was wondering which did you like better the novel or the movie? When I was in college I wrote a paper on which was better. For those of you who have seen both which do you think I chose?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Good book

    Good read, keeps your interest. The ending kept me wanting more...but was still a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Wasn't sure but glad I read it.

    Awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Excellent

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Grisham's best

    My favorite book and loved the way it was written

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of Grisham's Best!

    This book was one of the first John Grisham novel that I read. I enjoyed it then and I enjoyed it the second time around. The story follows the life of Mitch McDeere a young lawyer right out of Harvard. Mitch decides to go to work at a large firm in Memphis, Tennessee. He believes that this law firm is a very prestigious firm, however about midway in the story he finds out that many of his colleagues are dying in strange circumstances and that the firm is a pretty shady outfit. The FBI is involved for they are always asking Mitch about the firm and its connection to the Mafia. Eventually, Mitch decides that he has got to stop workimg for this firm. But, that turns out to be not so easy. Once you read this book you find that the characters are well developed and the plot is excellent. The book is better than the movie, although I didn't think the movie was that bad. Its a great read. Highly recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    Definitely worth the read, even if you've seen the movie!

    I've read a fair number of Grisham's books, but hesitated for years before reading this one because I'd seen the movie. More so than the other Grisham books-turned-movies, this one has a very different ending - it's not the 'mail fraud' bit used in the movie. If you like Grisham, give it a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2007

    Corrupt lawyers get their due!

    A simple, straight-forward story with believable characters in a plausable tale of greed. A little too sanitized tale of crime being exposed. I would have enjoyed a little more passion and a little less of the textbook approach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    This book is amazing

    This is the best book i hav ever read in my short life of 14 yrs... i dont kno how many literate years... but anyways... This book is so good, I could not stop readig the book. I am defintiely glad i chose to read this book for my summer reading. Peace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2002

    Thrilling Read

    This is the first novel that took John Grisham into the bestseller list and made his name as an author. It is the story of a young lawyer just out of Harvard. He has plenty of job offers but accepts a place with a small firm who are prepared to exceed any offer he has received. After taking the job Mitch discovers this is no ordinary law firm. There are mysterious deaths and the money comes from organised crime. Mitch decides he cannot continue with them and that is when his troubles start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2001

    Surprisingly Entertaining

    At first I was a little skeptical about reading a book about a legal firm and didn't think it could be that interesting, but I was pleasantly surprised. Although the book got off to a kind of slow start, once it got going I didn't want to put it down. There is so much detail that you really get to know the characters through their words and actions. Grisham gives you just the right amount of clues to keep you guessing but not give it away. I would definitely recommend this book to those who like suspense. Even if you don't usually read these types of books, try it, it might surprise you too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2001

    Great!

    A great fiction book for adults and young adults like me! Quite unexpected ending of the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2001

    Grisham scores big on first try

    John Grisham delighted fans on his first try with 'The Firm'. He writes superbly with this 'Godfather'-like story. I loved his first novel and I think it should be required reading for every law student!! A wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2000

    Legal Thriller

    When a Memphis law firm makes a young attorney an offer he can't refuse, he jumps in, only later to learn that no one has ever left the firm on their own terms. The pace is fast, the characters and setting are interesting and the story is entertaining. Much better than the film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5