Customer Reviews for

The Firm

Average Rating 4.5
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Firm

I've read several Grisham books before I picked up 'The Firm.' Each one I delighted in reading, and enjoyed almost every page. 'The Firm' brings all things that make a story interesting together, like a salad of themes and ideas: money, wealth, power, love, corruption...
I've read several Grisham books before I picked up 'The Firm.' Each one I delighted in reading, and enjoyed almost every page. 'The Firm' brings all things that make a story interesting together, like a salad of themes and ideas: money, wealth, power, love, corruption, death, adventure, and intrigue. And while the beginning is somewhat slow, it is necessary to set up the deep twisted plot. The end brings everything together in an explosion...when everyone's running. The question is, who can run faster?

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

audio book is abridged

The audio book is abridged and therefore worthless.

posted by 3224245 on July 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2000

    Firm

    I've read several Grisham books before I picked up 'The Firm.' Each one I delighted in reading, and enjoyed almost every page. 'The Firm' brings all things that make a story interesting together, like a salad of themes and ideas: money, wealth, power, love, corruption, death, adventure, and intrigue. And while the beginning is somewhat slow, it is necessary to set up the deep twisted plot. The end brings everything together in an explosion...when everyone's running. The question is, who can run faster?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Best I've Read

    Of the 3 of Grisham's books I've read (A Time to Kill, The Client and the Firm) this one was his best. If you are one of those people who reads the book and then sees the movie this is one of those times where the book is THAT much better than the movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    so good

    is there anything better than this book? so thrilling you wnot be disapointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    This is a must read! Look it up!

    Mitch McDeere was a still at Harvard finishing up his law degree when the Bendini, Lambert and Locke Firm came knocking at his door. Mitch had been contacted by firms in Chicago and Wall Street but the Bendini Firm with its salary more than anyone else, a free BMW of your choice, and a low interest rate on your first home, was almost too good to be true. Mitch undoubtedly took the money at the Bendini Firm, but after being there for only a short time, two of the firm's lawyers die in an apparent accident in the Cayman Islands. Soon after, the Federal Bureau of Investigation pay Mitch a visit while he is eating lunch and ask him to help them in an investigation of his firm. At first Mitch tells them no, but once he realizes that the firm is really ran by a crime ring out of Chicago, he decides to put his neck on the line to help the FBI nail their tails. The two that died in the Cayman Islands were helping the FBI before they died "in an accident." Will the same fate come to Mitch McDeere or will he walk away into the sunset?

    This is a spectacular book that everyone should have on their book shelf. The Firm keeps you guessing what will happen all the way until the last page. This book has a little bit of everything for everybody in it, with thrills, law, deception, murder, high crimes, romance, love, and suspense. If you decide to read this book, you better put aside a lot of time, because you will not be able to put it down. This is one of my favorite books.

    Other books that I have enjoyed are Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and Blood Brothers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Even as a middle school girl I enjoyed this book immensely. Now

    Even as a middle school girl I enjoyed this book immensely. Now that I'm older the benefits are even more surreal. The plot, the characters, the beauty in each passage . . . the best of John Grisham by far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Highly Recommended, you must read it!

    This is an exciting book, any John Grisham book is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    A Must Read

    I really enjoyed this book!! From the beginning it pulled me in and I found it very hard to put down. I enjoy fiction novels that keep you reading and do not drag on with useless babble. I had read Pelican Brief 6 years ago in school and decided to read a John Grisham novel for leisure... this had great reviews and did not disapoint! I found myself urgeing my friends and family to read this novel as well because it was so great! I read a few reviews that were poor and I am glad I did not let that affect my choice to read this. Everyone enjoys a different type of book. I have read books by James Patterson and Harlan Coben and enjoyed the characters as well as the story line. These characters were whitty and developed well without overdoing it with too much fluff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Amazing book

    This book was one of my favorite books of all time. At first I thought "who wants to read a book about a lawyer" but the book had a great plotline which got me hooked in a matter if minutes. I kept finding it hard to put the book down. This book was thoroughly intruiging and I would reccommend it to anyone looking for a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Great page turner

    This suspence filled novel will keep you wondering what is going to happen next. Great book to read in a pinch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Very good read. liked it very much

    Good read. Not much lie the TV show. But very good. Learned that the TV segment was and extesion of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    You won't put this book down. It captures you and you'll struggl

    You won't put this book down. It captures you and you'll struggle to put the book down and go to bed! The intense plot with no let-up will keep you at the edge of your seat for hours. The beginning is a bit slow, but once you get into the heart of the story, too slow won't be an issue.

    Grisham's writing style allows you to read the sentence on the page, feel that you are there, and also make it believable. Many writers can't do that in their thrillers. The author writes it in a way where you know that it wouldn't happen and it takes you out of the story and drops the suspense. But Grisham writes so well that you feel that you are in the story and you start to worry and feel emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    wow..why did i wait so long to read this?

    From the first 3 pages as Grisham begins developing the characters, this book kept me guessing. I have never seen the entire movie, so this helped, as i heard that the book is way better than the movie. awesome read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    GREAT READING!

    Most Excellent Book! Great storyline, great reading. Hard to put down to sleep! Highly recommend!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Great Read!! Finished it in 2 days!!!

    This was a great read with very believable characters! I highly recommend this one. It is an absolute page turner if I ever read one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    Grisham does it again

    The Firm was the second book I've read by John Grisham. The book follows Mitch McDeere, a recent graduate from Harvard Law school. He receives a job offer from Bendini, Lambert & Locke and maintains a strong work ethic throughout his time in the company. However, the law office is hiding a secret from Mitch, and the FBI begins to crack down.

    This book pays a lot of attention to detail, goes far into the legal system, and really made me think of how many law offices and businesses in general have secrets they consistently try to hide from their customers and/or employees.

    If you haven't yet, I suggest you pick this book up sometime and read. It will be difficult for you to put it down, once you begin reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Truly gripping thriller encapsulating law firms completely...

    The author has written a wonderful novel that keeps the readers engrossed right from the start till the very last page. Completely entertaining & never lets its readers keep the book down even for a second! Kudos to the writing skills of John Grisham!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    completely stunning

    Adventure, nail bitting, thrilling, this book has it all. A man that wants the good life, and had it practiclly handed over to him. But at what price, crooked lawyers, sneaky bosses, C.I.A. what more could you ask for in a book. this is a must read and a hell of a keeper for your personal library

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    Simply amazing!

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat! I couldn't put it down. It may seem long but it goes reaalll fast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    Great Read!

    After reading the fast paced thriller The Firm by John Grisham I really started looking for books along the same style of writing, because from cover to cover I could not put the book down. I really enjoyed the plot set up beginning with the main character, Mitch McDeere, a Harvard graduate getting his first offer to a firm in Memphis and how it continued to unfold throughout the book. Between the new BMW and the new house it was easy for him to get caught up in something he had no idea he was getting into. The twists and turns kept me flipping the pages tied up in a world of suspense and anticipation. I liked how Mitch feels that not everything was matching up. Mitch starts to realize no one ever leaves the firm at least no one ever resigns and leaves. After putting two and two together, Mitch sees that everyone who has tried to leave has died in some sort of freak accident. After hearing what his wife thinks he decides it is time to get out, but he does not knows how hard that will be. The FBI go to Mitch and explain that the firm is part of a Chicago crime family and they need his help to finally bust them, but the firm finds out and is on the hunt for Mitch. He along with his brother who escaped from jail and his wife, Abby, steal ten million dollars from accounts that belong to the firm. The firm, furious, begin searching day and night for McDeere. The story continues with Mitch on the run from both the FBI and the firm trying to survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Firm's Dark Secrets

    One day John Grisham is selling books from the trunk of his car then suddenly he's a best selling author doing book tours, signing books and being interviewed on popular morning TV Shows. For once his novel, The Firm caught on with the public Grisham's stock soared. The Firm grabs you early when a bright young Harvard law graduate is recruited by top headhunters and offered all the right perks that play on his ego and entice Mitch McDeere to sign with a law firm in Memphis. Mitch and his wife Abby move to the Southern city and into a beautiful house and prosperous neighborhood. Mitch is given a new BMW and a generous expense account as part of the package. It seems almost too good to be true. The young lawyer might have been naive in the beginning, but his perception to his surrounding at the Firm begins to change as he senses something dark and sinister about the whole setup. Nothing adds up, or does it? No one ever leaves the firm at least no one ever resigns and leaves. The answer to that might be that middle managers and associates seem to die off in large numbers. By the time McDeere gets solid answers to the most difficult questions, he has set off alarm bells within the firm and has to scramble for the exit of that dark brooding building, which houses some of the mafia¿s deepest held secrets. Grisham sets a good pace for the plot to develop and leaves no unanswered questions when Mitch McDeere makes a run for the sunny beaches of Florida¿s panhandle with the firm's henchmen hot on his trail. The story is engaging from start to finish a spellbinder.<BR/>Tom Barnes author of 'Doc Holliday's Road to Tombstone.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11