Customer Reviews for

The Firm

Average Rating 4.5
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Firm

I've read several Grisham books before I picked up 'The Firm.' Each one I delighted in reading, and enjoyed almost every page. 'The Firm' brings all things that make a story interesting together, like a salad of themes and ideas: money, wealth, power, love, corruption...
I've read several Grisham books before I picked up 'The Firm.' Each one I delighted in reading, and enjoyed almost every page. 'The Firm' brings all things that make a story interesting together, like a salad of themes and ideas: money, wealth, power, love, corruption, death, adventure, and intrigue. And while the beginning is somewhat slow, it is necessary to set up the deep twisted plot. The end brings everything together in an explosion...when everyone's running. The question is, who can run faster?

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

audio book is abridged

The audio book is abridged and therefore worthless.

posted by 3224245 on July 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 217 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    the firm

    This thrilling John Grisham novel is about a guy and his wife who have just graduated from law school and are looking for a firm to work at. he gets contacted by a firm in Memphis about coming to work for them. he learns when he gets therer that no one has ever quit and left the firm. The only ones that have left, died in freak accidents. he then learns that he's been bugged and is actually working for a mafia firm that the cops are trying to bust. I really enjoyed reading this because it kept me interested and was never really slow. It was all action all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Grisham's masterpiece

    I have read some of Grisham's novels. Of all of those novels, I am impressed the most by 'The Firm.' The story begins when a young Harvard Law School graduate, Mitch McDeere, recieves an offer from a firm in Memphis. The offer comes with a nice salary, a BMW car, a house and many other benefits. However, a string revelations make Mitch suspicious that the firm is actually a front organization to something far more sinister. The old adage is proven to be very true - What's too good to be true really too good to be true. As for the story, it is, in one word, well-written. This is a gripping tale of a young lawyer's life moves from happily going to work to dodging bullets from the very organization that hired him. The manner in which the story develops is masterful. The story has the unique attribute to keeping the reader engaged with every turn of the page, something that I have not seen in other novels that I have read by John Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    Amazing Thrill !!!!!

    What a fantastic book!!! The Firm is excellently written, and quick paced. The story is unfolded and then- wham!, the carpet is pulled right from under your feet. Soon, you are going back and forth between settings and seeing what the book will lead up to! You WILL NOT want to put this one down, you'll have The Firm held tightly in your face until it's done. Give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Phenomenal!!!

    clearly one of his great masterpieces! outstanding writing skills, Grisham is a born talent! a definite reed! spectacular book but the movie was unsatisfactory...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    AMAZING!!!

    This was the first John Grisham book I read and it was AMAZING! This book is personally my all time favorite book and I would recommend it to everyone!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    John Grisham At His Best

    The Firm is easily the best book I have ever read. I think that everyone should read this book. This book has it all, it captivates you and it is hard to put it down once you pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    The Firm's Dark Secrets

    One day John Grisham is selling books from the trunk of his car then suddenly he¿s a best selling author doing book tours, signing books and being interviewed on popular morning TV Shows. For once his novel, The Firm caught on with the public Grisham¿s stock soared. The Firm grabs you early when a bright young Harvard law graduate is recruited by top headhunters and offered all the right perks that play on his ego and entice Mitch McDeere to sign with a law firm in Memphis. Mitch and his wife Abby move to the Southern city and into a beautiful house and prosperous neighborhood. Mitch is given a new BMW and a generous expense account as part of the package. It seems almost too good to be true. The young lawyer might have been naïve in the beginning, but his perception to his surrounding at the Firm begins to change as he senses something dark and sinister about the whole setup. Nothing adds up, or does it? No one ever leaves the firm at least no one ever resigns and leaves. The answer to that might be that middle managers and associates seem to die off in large numbers. By the time McDeere gets solid answers to the most difficult questions, he has set off alarm bells within the firm and has to scramble for the exit of that dark brooding building, which houses some of the mafia¿s deepest held secrets. Grisham sets a good pace for the plot to develop and leaves no unanswered questions when Mitch McDeere makes a run for the sunny beaches of Florida¿s panhandle with the firm¿s henchmen hot on his trail. The story is engaging from start to finish ¿ a spellbinder. Tom Barnes author of ¿Doc Holliday¿s Road to Tombstone¿ also ¿The Hurricane Hunters and Lost in the Bermuda Triangle.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Remarkable

    This remarkable work of literature is thriller fiction. Thriller fiction is characterized by uncertainty in the plot. The reader does not know the specifics of what will happen in the end. Also, the plot must sometimes move fast and sometimes move slowly. John Grisham does a good job of developing the plot such that the suspense effect is created. When a key event takes place, it literally feels like bombshell has exploded. Throughout the book, there is always some uncertainty as to what will happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    Just Wonderful

    From the first page John Grisham catches the reader by suprise. This was my first John Grisham book and I loved it. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves thrills and a story that is always changing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    Be Prepared

    Upon reading the first page of John Grisham¿s legal thriller, The Firm, a reader will come to the sudden realization that putting the book down is virtually impossible. In this respect The Firm is much like Grisham¿s other books, however, The Firm is slightly different in style, focusing less on legal jargon and more on an action packed story of escaping the Mafia alive. A reader will find him/herself wrapped up in the life of Mitchell Y. McDeere and his decision to join the seemingly innocent tax law firm of Bendini, Lambert & Locke. Mitch and his wife fell in love with the great salary, company issued BMW, and luxurious vacations in the Cayman Islands. However, when the McDeeres found out Mitch was working for the Mafia, they quickly decided to find a way out¿hopefully alive. John Grisham makes the book easy to read with a story that carries you from the first page to the last, equipped with a plot full of twists and surprises and a cast of characters such as FBI agents, thugs and dirty corporate lawyers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    Hold Your Breath

    John Grisham published his first novel, A Time To Kill, in 1989. Grisham has published several books that have been later turned into best selling motion pictures, publications such as The Firm, Runaway Jury, and The Pelican Brief. According to the University of Mississippi website, when Grisham sold the film rights for A Time To Kill at $600,000, he resigned from his seat at the United States House of Representatives, and took on the full time novelist position writing numerous best selling novels which helped in naming him a New York Times Best Selling Author. In The Firm, John Grisham portrays the life of a tax lawyer, Mitch McDeere, fresh out of law school and looking for a good paying job. McDeere is brought into a dirty firm and told to work without knowing that professional money launderers and tax evaders working for the mob are corrupting him. When Mitch and his wife Abby visit Memphis, members of the Bendini Law Firm and their wives greet them. The McDeeres are treated like royalty and sent to look at real estate. When Mitch is introduced to the partners of the firm, he is quizzed about his marital status, his and his wife¿s future on having children. Mitch and Abby having lived in a married dorm room throughout college are excited and decide to move to Memphis. When the McDeeres return to Memphis, they find that a house and two brand new cars have been purchased and put in their name. Mitch sets a goal to be the youngest partner ever at the Bendini Law Firm and puts up the most hours of any associate ever in the firms history. After months of putting up long workdays and busy weeks, Mitch is stopped by the FBI and told of the Bendini conspiracy that is a cover for a big time crime family in Chicago. After months of avoiding the truth, Mitch gives in. Mitch begins making copies of files of all the clients to give to the FBI. During all of Mitch¿s running around, his bosses begin to think that he is getting too close to what they don¿t want him to know. When Mitch gives his information to the feds, he¿s busted by a dirty agent on the case and from that point on, he is considered to be a dead man. Mitch is told to stay in public places and not to go home or stay in the same hotel room twice. In the end, Mitch and his wife Abby are never heard of again. John Grisham has a way of turning a simple plan into a bag of problems that is controlled by twisted crooks and villains. Grisham¿s ability to twist crooks and villains isn¿t the great part about his writing, but his ability to twist the plans of the protagonist is what leaves you in a shocked and somewhat confused state of mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    From a reader

    John Grisham books usually start off excellent but then he runs on and kills the story. However, this book gets to the point you won't want to put it down.The best book by Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    THIS BOOK IS SOOO GOOD....5 STARS

    When I read 'The Firm' I just couldn't put it down...it is that well written and the pace keeps you wondering what will happen next...It's an AWESOME read! Too bad I can't give the same praise for the movie, I rather not even comment...Definately BUY THE BOOK INSTEAD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2005

    READ THIS BOOK

    Simply amazing, a most read. If you are not a reader do not let the size of the book scare you. From the start Grisham delivers, I could simply not put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    An excelent

    This a great book about a college graduate who has a choice of going to the best firms in New York and Chicago but chooses Memphis. After he accepts the job in memphis he is contacted by the FBI. At first he tries to play both sides but he is going to have to choose the FBI or the firm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    First Grisham, and NOT my last

    I thought this book was so good. It was so hard for me to put it down. It will keep you on your toes the whole way through. Recommend it for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    The most intense book that is a must read!

    Schools schould make this a must read. The story line is so perfect for the mob lover. It is a story that captures what the mob is good at, stealing. The Firm is a law firm that finds the best young lawyers they can find to do the clean work and uses persuasion of the partners to do the dirty work. The F.B.I is on the case and needs information to put these criminals away for good. All in all, John Grisham is one of the best novelist around. This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    A amazing book

    From a critical point of view The Firm is one of the best books I have ever read, and I would recommend it to anybody who loves to read. I like how he builds excellent paragraphs that finish up a sub-conflict which is centered in the previous chapter he starts a new one that will make you keep on reading. I enjoy the parts when he wrights in a fast pace style, which is throughout a majority of the book. I also like his use of the central character and the way that he is confronted with a difficult situation, and how that character resolves it. I also like how he at first portrays the firm to be well thought-of then as the book progresses he changes your image of it. Despite the fact that before I started to read the novel the span had almost discouraged me, it was well worth it in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2005

    Pretty damn good

    This was an excellent book. The characters are believeable and it would be an outrageous conspiracy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    A exelent book/ fast read

    From a critical point of view The Firm is one of the best books i have ever read, and i would recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading. I like how he builds excellent paragraphs that while concluding a previous conflict starts a whole new one which makes this book hard to put down. I also enjoy the fact that he rights with a fast paced style that doesn't allow you to set the book down very long. In addition to that i like his use of the central character, having him being confounded with betraying his firm and the way that he resolves it. I admire Grisham¿s ability to change your view on the firm from at first being well thought-of then as the book progresses he changes you image of it. Despite the fact that when i first started this book the span had discouraged me, it was well worth is in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 217 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11