Customer Reviews for

Firmin: A Tale of Exile, Unrequited Love, and the Redemptive Power of Literature

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    We are rats too

    Buying real books in a bookstore and reading a lot, this one provided a fresh new perspective on reading novels as well as a lot of fun. Great cover design! Do not buy a digital version of this book or you will not be able to enjoy the design.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Catches you by surprise

    I discovered this book on a top 10 books of the year 2008, recommended by librarians. They were right! Don't let the cover fool you. The author opens up a world of characters and ideas that are thought provoking and touching. I recommended this to my collage age daughter who also gave it 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Excellent reading!!!

    I loved this little book!!!It was so unusual.I didn't want this one to end.I plan on reading it again.This book rates one of my all time favorites!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    "A Book-Lovers Story"

    I ordered this because we are looking for some titles for high school summer reading, and while I really enjoyed it, it clearly is NOT a book to assign to adolescents, at least not the kids I teach. There are some things in the plot and the ending that I found inappropriate for that level. Having said that, if you mourn the demise of the small,cozy bookstore -- sorry,B&N, please don't take offense -- this will be a most entertaining read. I think I was envisioning a rat more like Templeton when I bought it but Firmin is a far cry from that. You will sympathize with him, however, and any adult who does not understand what he goes through has probably led an extremely sheltered life. I loved it, but it's not for kids, which, to be fair, the sales promotions clearly said -- I just thought "little kids", but I don't think it's for teenagers, either, at least not as an assigned book from the school. I did purchase additional copies for friends and few kids I thought would be OK with it -- so I recommend it to "the right audience."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    Story of a rat

    I really enjoyed this book. I often wondered how much this book was autobiographical. Obviously, the author is not a rat but he may have felt like a rat sometimes. At the very least, I felt so sad for the intelligence and lack of acknowledgement of a rat like Firmin. It was a great story of a character living on the edges of society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Picks up about halfway through

    The book is an interesting idea but the execution is poor and uninteresting for the first half. At the mid-point, the characters become interesting, the story draws the reader in, and you're in no rush for it to end. If you can get through the first half, you'll be rewarded with a cute book; not brilliant, but cute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    A Rat and his words

    NPR recommended this book in one of its "Under the Radar" book notes. It is an interesting little book. The rat, Firmin, is sweet in a melancholic way. Set in Boston in the early 1960's, this little fellow somehow survives and learns about many things through his observations and his ability to read. The cover describes it as written in a "Dickensian" style. I'm not sure what that means really but perhaps it is a shorthand way to say that Firmin is a sweet, sad little fellow that you find yourself wishing for more and better things. He is limited by his physical capabilities and his geographic ones, so the story has a vague sense of taking place in a limited area -- almost like a one-act play. I enjoyed the book. I'm still not sure how to categorize it, if that's even possible beyond "fiction" and I'm still not sure what to make of it but it is worth a look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Rat Fan

    This is such a fun and interesting book. I love the author's creativity; the style and way it flows. Wow! Great Book - sums it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I am recommending it to everyone

    It is a cute tail of a depressed, reading rat and his adventures in a bookstore. It is NOT for kids (he eats regularly at a porno movie house). It is full of literary allusions ("it tastes like Jane Austen"). It is the best book I have read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1