Customer Reviews for

First: What It Takes to Win

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Great insight into Rich's background, his training, and what it'

    Great insight into Rich's background, his training, and what it's like to compete in  the Games.  "I overheard it said that I had a “comfortable” lead. . . I can’t imagine ever feeling comfortable during a CrossFit Games."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Tremendous story about the world's fittest man. Rich has his pri

    Tremendous story about the world's fittest man. Rich has his priorities squarely in place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Great read

    I've never left a review but this book deserved one. Great read that was motivating and inspirational. Makes you think about what your capable of. I've been pushing myself harder and further while reading this book. Really gets you thinking about mental toughness and pushing yourself to your limits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    This book is mainly about Rich Froning┬┐s life as an extreme cros

    This book is mainly about Rich Froning’s life as an extreme crossfit athlete working hard to gain the title of the fittest man on earth not just once, but three times. It starts with him summarizing important parts of his early life that he really felt helped him throughout his Crossfit Games experiences. He also writes about his major goal as not only an athlete but also a devoted Christian as the book goes on. My favorite aspect of the book is that it provides advice that can not only be used in a fitness situation, but in every aspect of life. Rich Froning also come across as the kind of guy people want to be around and want to be friends with. The book shows a side of Froning that sets a good example for any age of person that might be reading it. If someone is looking for a reason to start working out or a reason to continue working out, the story shared in the book is the perfect inspiration. The only feature I wasn’t fond of was that the descriptions of the workouts performed at Crossfit Games. Some of the descriptions were vital to the understanding of certain parts of the book, but they were written very dryly. Other than that, I would strongly recommend this book to both people inside and outside of the Crossfit community because the book brings attention to many concepts that can be used in multiple situations.  If you are not looking for an encouraging book about an athlete that sets his focus on glorifying God though crossfit, than this is not the book for you. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    I was inspired greatly by the story Rich Froning told in this n

    I was inspired greatly by the story Rich Froning told in this novel.  The strength and determination he executed in all aspects of his life, whether that be in his faith, with his family, or in his CrossFit training, has motivated me to exude that fortitude as well.  I was expecting the novel to focus solely around CrossFit (Rich’s traning, nutrition, ect.), while the book did do that, Rich’s faith was a dominant theme in the novel as well.  The appearance of this theme was refreshingly surprising to me, and added a glimpse of his true personality, which I enjoyed to see.  Further, I liked to see Rich overcome other challenges (regarding his family, work ect.) as that made him a more relatable character. A CrossFit novice myself, I cannot completely appreciate the difficulty of the moves and competitions Rich competed in. However, I am a competitive athlete, therefore I can relate to Rich when it comes to the mentality of competing and training towards a certain goal.  I liked how the novel reached into many of the aspects of the CrossFit world; however, I would have liked Rich to address the controversy involving the CrossFit program.  There are many people (including trainers and athletes) who believe that CrossFit is not an exercise program for everybody to take part in, and can be harmful to the body.  Despite the absence of this information, I greatly enjoyed the book and would recommend it to anyone looking for some extra motivation in their everyday routine.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    It was a good read. It found it inspirational and appreciated h

    It was a good read. It found it inspirational and appreciated his values and especially his Christian belief. I would have like to have learned a little bit more of his training like amount of hours trained, number of days, nutrition, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    Rich Froning is a fitness champion; the two-time CrossFit Games

    Rich Froning is a fitness champion; the two-time CrossFit Games winner who is known as the "Fittest Man on Earth".  "First" chronicles his journey from the life lessons of learning work ethic from his dad as a small child (that he later translates into workout ethic!), becoming a fire fighter and assistant strength coach at Tennessee Tech, meeting his wife Hillary, starting a Gym (and then a CrossFit Gym), to taking us through what occurred step by step during both of the CrossFit Games he won, claiming the titles back to back.




    We learn much about his family, both immediate and extended, and how the impact of a number of his close family members' deaths have greatly changed his life.  Also interspersed throughout the book are different "CrossFit Defined" segments that tell how to execute different CrossFit exercises and techniques.  He also repeatedly asks himself the question of his purpose - and defines it for us in this book.




    At 25, Rich Froning has only been involved in CrossFit for a handful of years and his accomplishments to date are truly inspiring.  I can easily recommend this book, especially to any fitness enthusiasts - you will enjoy learning the behinds-the-scenes at the CrossFit Games, AND, you will get workout ideas along with your good read!  :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    This is the story of Rich Froning, who is an athlete who won the

    This is the story of Rich Froning, who is an athlete who won the CrossFit Games in 2011 and 2012. The book chronicles his early years and then discusses his faith and CrossFit. I thought the book was interesting, particularly since I'd never heard of CrossFit. The athletic program has been around less than 20 years (I had to look that up) and there are gyms with that program worldwide, including some in my state. I was glad that there were "CrossFit explained" sections in the book, and a "Common CrossFit Terms" section in the back of the book, as most of the terms were unfamiliar to me. The photos were nice to see as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Before reading this book, I had never heard of CrossFit, the Cro

    Before reading this book, I had never heard of CrossFit, the CrossFit games, or Rich Froning. However, after reading the book and learning more about CrossFit, I will probably check out the next CrossFit games. It sounds so interesting.

    I loved this book from start to finish! Froning comes across as a very humble, grounded man with a good moral background and upbringing who has maintained his integrity despite his success and fame. I can think of many, many professional athletes who could take a page from his book.

    His formula for success is simple, put God first and work hard. I like the way he explains the difference in his life from his first games to his second. I also think his discussion on PEDs is great for young athletes to read.

    The only criticism I have for the book is that some of the technical terms used in CrossFit were terms I didn't understand. Froning described and explained some of the terms, but others I was left wondering about.

    I would not hesitate to recommend this book to any young athlete to read. Even though I am not an athlete and was completely unfamiliar with Froning and his sport, I really enjoyed this book. I think this is a book that anyone could enjoy and I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    A Great Story about a Great Person! Well written and insightful

    A Great Story about a Great Person! Well written and insightful into life of Rich Froning. Inspirational. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great book. Rich Froning (the fittest man alive) takes

    This is a great book. Rich Froning (the fittest man alive) takes the reader along as he trains for another championship. The writing is good. I also appreciated the insights into diet and fitness. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1