BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The First 48

Average Rating 3.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    Very Disappointed

    Tim Green is a great author. That being said, this is not his best work. The book is dull, predictable and contains absolutely no plot twists. I've come to expect much better from this author. Had this been the only book of his I had read, it would have been my last.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2004

    I Couldn't Pick It Up

    I had high hopes for this book, however quickly realized character development was weak and story was unrealistic. I had no interest in finishing the story and never wondered whatever happened in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    It's in the Library

    Couldn't wait to get the latest Green book. His others were all great reads. Unfortunately, this one does not measure up. Read like a 'You need to publish again' statement from his publisher. Even gave the book to a friend who refused to finish it. There shouldn't be much of a waiting list at the library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2004

    Lacks character and plot development. Not credible.

    The basic concept should have been great. However, the characters are shallow and undeveloped and the dialog trite. The story line lacked credibility. Smart girl reporter has story which will ruin powerful politician who ruined her father years before. Girl gets kidnapped. Father blames politican. Father & friend find girl. But not before formerly smart girl sleeps with bad guy because she suddenly turns stupid and trusts him for no reason I could figure out. Kidnapping wasn't because of politician but he is killed off anyway. Blah blah blah. Boring boring boring. I only finished it because I paid 20 bucks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2004

    Non-stop Thriller

    After finishing the Fifth Angel, I just had to run out and read Tim Green's new book. I thought the First 48 Hours was a 'Wild Mouse' ride of a thriller. I couldn't put it down. I thought the characters were well developed. Granted the story was a little over the top as far as being unbelievable, but most mystery/thriller nowadays are. I recommend this book and look forward to Tim's next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    terse suspense thriller

    Washington Post investigative reporter Jane Redmond uncovers a very complex abuse and corruption scam that leads back to US Senator Michael Gleason, the same man who destroyed her father Tom. Years ago Tom was a hot shot prosecutor, but powerbroker Gleason smashed his career. Though revenge would be sweet, Jane knows that her story is much more important. <P>However, someone kidnaps Jane while she is jogging. Tom realizes someone abducted his beloved daughter. He knows from his law enforcement days that THE FIRST 48 hours matter in a rescue because after that the victim is dead. So Tom and his partner Mike Tubbs knowing it is late in the fourth quarter take what they believe is the shortest route to her, kidnapping and torturing Gleason. Will he inform them what happened to Jane and where she is or will the senator hold out until time expires? <P>Though typical of a Tim Green suspense thriller, fans will enjoy this terse tale due to an interesting cast. The delightful dynamic duo makes the novel hum as ethic aside they know that the means is irrelevant when the clock ticks on life and death matters. Jane is courageous as she tries to escape her abductees and ¿Deep Throat¿ is an interesting character who is a show me the money soul. Though Gleason is too odious and nasty villain and there is a leap of major acceptance, suspense thriller fans will appreciate this exhilarating Potomac quest and counter-quest. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1