BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The First American Army

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

The Birth of a new Nation and New Army

Bruce Chadwick's book is full of first hand accounts of the struggle of Washington and his army. The book which is full of accounts by the soldiers themselves, the heart and soul of the Army. And it is through their eyes that the story of the Revolution is told. The boo...
Bruce Chadwick's book is full of first hand accounts of the struggle of Washington and his army. The book which is full of accounts by the soldiers themselves, the heart and soul of the Army. And it is through their eyes that the story of the Revolution is told. The book goes from the begining of the war at Lexington and Concord, to the surrender at Yorktown and discharge from the Army. For those interested in the Revolution this is a different outlook of the tradtional story of the Revolution. If you are interested in how the every day soldier than this book is the one for you. It's easy to read and at times heart breaking in the suffering and miseray of the enlisted soldiers. I reccomd this book to anyone by the esteemed historian Bruce Chadwick.

posted by warpig3 on August 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good read if you want to know more about the events of the Revolution

The book does not follow one individual, but makes use of the letters and diaries of several people to give the reader a feel for the progress of the war from a non-command standpoint. We tend to forget the length of the War, and the constantly changing battle areas. We...
The book does not follow one individual, but makes use of the letters and diaries of several people to give the reader a feel for the progress of the war from a non-command standpoint. We tend to forget the length of the War, and the constantly changing battle areas. We also like to end the War in a neat fashon at Yorktown. The author is able to humanize the long conflict, and point out the length of the war. Sadly he skips over very quickly the contributions of the Armies in the Southern States, one area that would have given the book five stars

posted by 603678 on January 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Birth of a new Nation and New Army

    Bruce Chadwick's book is full of first hand accounts of the struggle of Washington and his army. The book which is full of accounts by the soldiers themselves, the heart and soul of the Army. And it is through their eyes that the story of the Revolution is told. The book goes from the begining of the war at Lexington and Concord, to the surrender at Yorktown and discharge from the Army. For those interested in the Revolution this is a different outlook of the tradtional story of the Revolution. If you are interested in how the every day soldier than this book is the one for you. It's easy to read and at times heart breaking in the suffering and miseray of the enlisted soldiers. I reccomd this book to anyone by the esteemed historian Bruce Chadwick.

    28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Excellent first-person history.

    Highly recommended for those interested in military history or simply the human condition. Times, technology, and issues change, but people facing danger fighting for their country or cause remain the same over the centuries. The Continental Army soldier of the revolution is basically the same GI of WW II, the grunt of Vietnam, and the soldiers putting it on the line in Iraq and Afghanistan. This bok will help people realize this fact.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    I didn't realize how little I knew

    A very readable and detailed account of the Revolutionary War I read a fair amount of history, centering on The Civil War and WWII. I've read some histories of the war for Independence, but apparently not enough. This showed me how ignorant I was about that war. Knowing about Valley Forge, Betsy Ross and crossing the Delaware doesn't begin to tell the amazing story of how a ragtag army of settlers defeated the mightiest country of the 18th century. I also learned about the Black regiments who fought for our independence although their brethren were cruelly enslaved in "The Land of the Free"

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Awsome!!

    Great book, gives a lot of details - makes one feel you are right in the center of our history!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Good read if you want to know more about the events of the Revolution

    The book does not follow one individual, but makes use of the letters and diaries of several people to give the reader a feel for the progress of the war from a non-command standpoint. We tend to forget the length of the War, and the constantly changing battle areas. We also like to end the War in a neat fashon at Yorktown. The author is able to humanize the long conflict, and point out the length of the war. Sadly he skips over very quickly the contributions of the Armies in the Southern States, one area that would have given the book five stars

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Fantastic read

    A must read! I loved this book I'm usally not one for history but I couldn't put this book down!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    A good read, but....

    A great way to tell the story of the revolution, through the journals and experiences of those that actually fought in the war. The only drawback is that some of the people that fought in this war were far more interesting than some of the others. I found myself racing through parts of this book while crawling through others. The good outweighs the bad in the end.

    If your looking for Benedict Arnold stories, there are a few good ones in here. I feel the author could have revisited him during his downfall towards treason to make this book even more interesting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Very good book

    Very interesting and well written book about the PEOPLE that fought in the revolution. It's hard to believe the participants suffered so much and received so little thanks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Interesting, informative, and well written. A must for history buffs.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Highly recmmended!

    For history "buffs" great reading!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Very good book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Good book i think

    I have never aread this book but everybody knows its interesting

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Really bad

    Worst book ever

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Flamingfur

    He watched the aprentices fight and scuffle. When it was over he said to Flamingpaw. "You need to keep your balance. Keep your weight low,and strike with only 1 paw at a time. And strike fast. That will keep you on balance much better."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    A different take on the Continental Army

    This book features a more personal account of the Continental Army than I have read previously. The sufferings & deprivations of the army are made real. You can empathize with the squalid conditions of those suffering from smallpox or those encamped at Valley Forge.

    The battle descriptions are general so as not to bore the reader with minutia yet giving the battles a personal touch. The narrative is free-flowing and makes for an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Happy!!!!!!!!!! SUPPRSIED :) :) :) :)

    Well went school today and at 12:20 my friend came to my school and suprised me he just got home he did so much for this country and i am glad to see him ALIVE!!!!!!!!!!! Hes a good man

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    historical interesting

    an interesting and lively read in the day to day life of the american rev
    only complaint is the giving of reverve total reverence for the night ride
    worth the time and effert to read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Dgrrueufurifiefuffr

    It good

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    An assassin

    A black figure is just visible in the dark. The persons left side of the face is covered in a black colored metal. It looks attatched. Both eyes are visible. They are ice blue and emotionless. The figure is around five feet and four inches. It seems to be wearing a black duster with a black leather tank and black leather pants peeking out from under. The black steel toed boots show. The wind rustles the coat and it makes a clinking aound marking thet their are weapons on this person. It speaks. Or rather,.she speaks. For the voice is feminine. It is a female alto. Rich and dark. "Hello." That is all she says.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    General frember

    Join the american army at americas army result one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3