Customer Reviews for

First among Equals

Average Rating 3
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Plot worthy of the English Parliament.

The story is about three men who have invested their lives to become the Prime Minister of England. The author, Jeffrey Archer, became the youngest member of the House of Commons in 1969. His knowledge of the English system gives the reader a true incite into the worki...
The story is about three men who have invested their lives to become the Prime Minister of England. The author, Jeffrey Archer, became the youngest member of the House of Commons in 1969. His knowledge of the English system gives the reader a true incite into the workings of the Parliament.
It was quite a study of history as well as a compelling tale.

The men each have their women who help them confront their fears, obsessions, loves, hates, and political ambitions.

Each of the three men possess their own strengths and weaknesses in their quest to become England's Prime Minister. The twists and turns of their lives comes to a complete turn around of events at the end.

The plot was interesting but a little too detailed in the political arena for my taste. I skipped over some of this part. Otherwise the story line was good. I believe a reader interested in political systems would really enjoy this book.


Cherry Blossom

posted by CherryBlossom on March 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I was very disappointed in the quality control (proofing) of the

I was very disappointed in the quality control (proofing) of the NOOK version. For example, the surname Gould was frequently and confusingly referred as Could. The expletive "My God" was also less impressive as "My Cod". Definitely a book for those i...
I was very disappointed in the quality control (proofing) of the NOOK version. For example, the surname Gould was frequently and confusingly referred as Could. The expletive "My God" was also less impressive as "My Cod". Definitely a book for those interested in the UK political scene and its machinations, but less interesting as a "good read". This is the least appealing of the Jeffrey Archer books I have read.

posted by djbchoctaw on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Plot worthy of the English Parliament.

    The story is about three men who have invested their lives to become the Prime Minister of England. The author, Jeffrey Archer, became the youngest member of the House of Commons in 1969. His knowledge of the English system gives the reader a true incite into the workings of the Parliament.
    It was quite a study of history as well as a compelling tale.

    The men each have their women who help them confront their fears, obsessions, loves, hates, and political ambitions.

    Each of the three men possess their own strengths and weaknesses in their quest to become England's Prime Minister. The twists and turns of their lives comes to a complete turn around of events at the end.

    The plot was interesting but a little too detailed in the political arena for my taste. I skipped over some of this part. Otherwise the story line was good. I believe a reader interested in political systems would really enjoy this book.


    Cherry Blossom

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2004

    A SUPERIOR VOICE PERFORMANCE

    Larry King has said of Jeffrey Archer, 'There isn't a better storyteller alive.' One would be hard pressed to find a better reader alive for this story of a fight for power. Martin Jarvis easily inhabits the personas of four men as they parry and jab for the right to live at No. 10 Downing Street. Listeners are introduced to this quartet gradually as the story unfolds over some thirty years. Charles, a man born to title and privilege; Simon, whose father imbues him with ambition; Ray, not of patrician birth but born with an iron will; and Andrew, a politician cum sports hero. Archer, a member of the House of Lords, well knows the terrain in which he sets his story, and Martin Jarvis well knows how to deliver it. - Gail Cooke

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I was very disappointed in the quality control (proofing) of the

    I was very disappointed in the quality control (proofing) of the NOOK version. For example, the surname Gould was frequently and confusingly referred as Could. The expletive "My God" was also less impressive as "My Cod". Definitely a book for those interested in the UK political scene and its machinations, but less interesting as a "good read". This is the least appealing of the Jeffrey Archer books I have read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    Good read, but not Archer's best effort

    I've read most of Archer's novels, and enjoy his style, et al. However, in this case, I was mildly disappointed. It seemed he stretched the plot too much, thus losing the flow of the narrative. Also, his surprise ending was, to me, beyond credible. Sorry, Mr. Archer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Boring, boring, boring!

    One of the slowest books I've ever read! You would have to know English Government to understand most of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Typical Jeffrey Archer - The Good Guys Win

    I enjoyed learning about how British politics work. I was confused but still managed to understand most of the details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    First

    I liked the book well enough. It gave you some good insight into the workings of Parlement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Interesting, but complex

    This is an interesting take on the complexities of how the inner workings of the English Parliament works in front and behind the scenes. Proving how politics are treacherous, very deceiving and always constantly working. Very interesting take on four personalities all from different backgrounds. The author does an outstanding job of weaving the characters into a good novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Do not recommend

    Had a hard time keeping the characters straight. Very cut and dry, too much into the politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Jeffrey Archer scores again!

    Just when you think you have something figured out, the story takes another turn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2