Customer Reviews for

First, Break All the Rules: What the World's Greatest Managers Do Differently

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2002

    Conventional Management Wisdom Debunked With Smarter Thinking

    Manage smarter by focusing on your most productive people and assets, make the most of what counts most, concentrate on your strengths, not your weaknesses -- these ideas break with the generalizations offered by conventional management wisdom such as 'people are capable of almost anything' and lead to the management style used by most successful managers as revealed by extensive survey data. This book teaches ways to think smarter much like the techniques taught in Why Didn't I Think of That? - Think the Unthinkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2001

    You never learned this stuff in MBA school!

    This is one of very few really creative approaches to management that values people and principles above rules. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    Refreshing Breeze in the Management of Human Resources

    Marcus Buckingham and Curt Coffman give a refreshing approach to the management of human resources within a company with its positive impact on the bottom line down the road. Building on extensive research conducted by The Gallup Organization, Buckingham and Coffman articulate their innovative argumentation around four traditional keys: Select a person, set expectations, motivate the person, and develop the person. Great managers are looking not only for skills and knowledge, but also more importantly for talent when they select a candidate for a position to fill. Furthermore, great managers are concerned first with the right outcomes expected from the selected person, and then eventually with the right steps to get to these outcomes. In addition, great managers are determined to leverage the person¿s strengths and work around her weaknesses in motivating her. They do not try to correct the weaknesses of the selected person. Finally, great managers help the selected person come to the insight that going up on the hierarchical ladder is not necessarily in her best interest. However, Buckingham and Coffman rightly draw the attention of their audience to the fact that corporate culture can make the innovative work of great managers in defining the four traditional keys difficult, even impossible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    Incredibly Fresh!

    I am a mid level manager in the Air Force. This is an incredibly fresh outlook and really enabled me to go out and find out how to improve my organization. I got real results using this books techniques...everyone thought I was crazy at first, but in the end, they too saw the light!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2001

    But first you have to know the rules

    This book offers some fantastic insights. The only real issue I have is its overall positioning. I think it's silly to say you must first break all the rules. the first thing you must do is learn all the rules that apply to you, and then decide which ones you need to break. For example there were a lot of .com companies who thought they could break the rules, or that, for some magic reason, that basic business rules didn't apply to them. And look where it got them! Into bankruptcy. However, Buckingham and Coffman DO make a good case that you can't allow yourself to be boxed in by a certain mindset if you want to advance quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2001

    Sage Advice, but We Must Also Break This Rule!

    There is much good advice in this book, especially with respect to identifying the outstanding people with talents. But, from a great deal of personal experience, I would like to recommend that we should all break one more very important rule: the 'Stiff-faced Rule', so as not to become a 'humorless, self-absorbed bore of a manager'! Laughing at mis-management and listening to those who report to you can be a great morale booster to all empolyees. If you are ready and willing to break the counterproductive, 'Stiff-faced Rule', try reading something with sharp wit, like the hilarious high-tech satire, 'Management by Vice'. Share it with those, who report to you! You'll earn their respect! So, be brave! We owe it to ourselves and good working relations with our employees to make sure we break every rule in this book and this one in addition!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2001

    Beneficial in many forms

    This book is an outstanding tool that says a lot, and one that will be on my shelf for many years to come as a reference. It not only teaches some of the best questions to ask yourself or factors to identify to be a successful business manager. We are all micro-managers of our own lives. This book will make you more aware of your own potentials and limits in a career, as well as help you better communicate and relate to those around you at work and in your social life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    Well-researched and well-done

    Hats off to the authors on this book. It's approach is unique and challenging of the many concepts we hold about management. Nothing is sacred in the book, but this is true for a reason. The authors believe, and document, that traditional ideas and beliefs on management may not bode well for every situation. Thank you for giving us some food for thought as we face our daily work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 1999

    wow, written with depth and research to back it up by the best.

    If u r looking to understand what it takes to operate, manage, and own a successful business. Then this book should be required reading. But the book doesnt stop there. I came away with a deeper understanding of individuality and how we r all part of a team, no matter how small or large ur business would be.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3