Customer Reviews for

First Case (McRyan Mystery Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Tightly written prequel novella to the McRyan mystery series. Lo

Tightly written prequel novella to the McRyan mystery series. Lots of action and character development and short enough to read at the beach or with a big box of chocolates.

posted by ebooksandchocolatelover on September 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

A pretty good read. I don't care for how the author witholds vital clues from the reader until the very end, making it impossible for the reader to solve the case on their own. But that's how this author spins his tales and they're good none the less. I'm from Minnesota...
A pretty good read. I don't care for how the author witholds vital clues from the reader until the very end, making it impossible for the reader to solve the case on their own. But that's how this author spins his tales and they're good none the less. I'm from Minnesota and I really enjoy reading about the places portrayed in this and other books by this author. I've seen most of them and that really makes me feel like i'm inside the story. In fact, i think i've walked past the "Murder scene", in this book, several times.

posted by Kenben on April 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    Tightly written prequel novella to the McRyan mystery series. Lo

    Tightly written prequel novella to the McRyan mystery series. Lots of action and character development and short enough to read at the beach or with a big box of chocolates.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    I highly recommend this book and this author and am in the process of reading all that he has written,

    I loved this style of writing and really enjoyed all the descriptive passages which made me feel like I was right there because I am familiar with the area he writes about....will look forward to reading more of his books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Great read

    Great read for a short storu

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Definitely Reccomend!!

    Another good read. I originally found my first Roger Stelljes book in the free books, then when I found this and St Paul Conspiracy, I grabbed them. Really good reads!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Very intense and good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Very good.

    Only a little shorter than a regular book. Very well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This book is part of a series. I read the whole series on my nook app. Great reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Well written with fully developed characters. Thriller--mystery-

    Well written with fully developed characters. Thriller--mystery--great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    "First Case" is a superb prequel novella. Mr. Stellje

    "First Case" is a superb prequel novella. Mr. Stelljes has created a great hero in Mac McRyan--smart, likeable, dedicated. It's not easy to create and solve a mystery in only eighty pages, much less give the background for a character that will be the focal point of novels to come. Being a lifelong Minnesotan, I really appreciate the author's descriptions throughout the book of the different areas in St. Paul contained within the story. I know every one of those areas and I felt like I was personally there with Detective McRyan as the story went on. I am very much looking forward to reading the first full-length McRyan mystery, "The St. Paul Conspiracy".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    5 Stars

    It's amazimg. I love it. You should read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Excellent read!

    Love these McRyan books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Great Read

    I simply can't wait for hockey Season to be over, though I love Hockey, bur I want to read the next book. I can't say enough how much I enjoy reading this author's 3 books. Hard to put down read and ready for the next one. Definitely recommend this book and 2 after.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    Great prequel to the series.  Loved getting to know the characte

    Great prequel to the series.  Loved getting to know the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1